We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“View the room BEFORE paying!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 West Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 West Memphis
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in West Memphis
Batavia, Iowa, United States
1 review
“View the room BEFORE paying!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We made reservations for 2 nights at this location. (I always stay at Motel 6). Traveling my husband and I, our son, and our dog. .After we paid at check-in we went to our room. When we unlocked the door we couldn't get the door open because the handle was so loose (broken which didn't make me feel safe at all). When my husband finally got it open we walked in with our bags and stuff. The 2 beds were squeezed into the tiniest hotel room I have ever seen. One bed pushed against a wall, the other pushed up against the AC unit which makes it hard for me to see how they cleaned the room and linens properly.

The bathroom had 2 big stains on the floor (disgusting), a dead bug in the shower, mold in the grout, the sink was nasty, and there was what appeared to be a pubic hair on a folded wash cloth.

The AC unit had dust hanging off of it (touching the bed... yuck)... the controls you have to touch were sticky and gross and inside where the air comes out you could see dust among other things... people have to breathe that in. Super unhealthy.

Yes I took pictures!!!! When they started being butts about it, I decided I needed to take some pictures to verify my claims with corporate office.

I was in shock to learn we would be charged $2.99/24 hours for internet. EVERY other hotel in the same area (Econo Lodge, Knights Inn etc) all offer FREE WiFi... hell even MCDONALDS has FREE wifi!

When I called the front desk to complain he told me unless I wanted a 2nd floor room (which because of medically reasons I could not which would be why I specifically said downstairs when I made my reservation) I would have to take a single bed. Problem with that is my 12 year old would sleep on the floor and after that room I can only imagine how unsanitary their carpet is! He was extremely rude when I told him this room was unacceptable... finally we talked to the manager and she refunded our money (took 3 days but that is okay). $100 for 2 days isn't that great of a deal for this type of room and service.

The people "hanging" around made me a bit nervous and my husband was worried about my son and I walking the dog!!!! It was bad! My parents who were also headed in to stay at the same hotel cancelled their reservations and moved to the hotel we stayed at.


We immediately went to another hotel and enjoyed our 3 day stay. Think twice and make sure you check the rooms first!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    10
    3
    14
See reviews for
16
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Interstate 40 is just across the service road, and it is loud. No wall, no trees, right at the same level, and very noisy pavement.
Our room was fine and we slept well.
Motel is difficult to get to.
Coming from Memphis, don't miss your turn, or you'll go four miles to get back. Even if you do make the turn you go up over I-40 and have no obvious way to reach the motel. We turned down a road and were greeted with a sign telling us that we had entered a private apartment complex. We went back and drove through the Waffle House parking lot to reach the service road.
Eat before you arrive, you don't want to get here more than once from Memphis. No problems if coming from the West, exit I-40 onto the service road and it will bring you right to the motel.
There are five motels side by side on this service road, they all have the same access problems.

Room Tip: get a room in the back, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The receptionist was very nice. The room adequate. Easy access to highway. Room very reasonable. Not bad for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Good location & cheap especially considering how close it is to Memphis. We stayed here as it got late and we were driving to Memphis. Would stay here again if driving through late. There are no direction to Memphis though - we got lost and ended up in a dodgy area!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Needed a room for the night without paying $100 and stopped at this Motel 6. The room was dingy and needed a complete overhaul. The brightly lit area off the interstate was a plus. The best part of this stay was the $40 price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudnett2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Memphis hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Excellent value for a comfortable bed for the night but rooms are basic. Ask for a room away from the interstate. Lots of food options very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here on 07/11/11 and 07/12/11. The rooms are decent for the price. I have a problem with Management and the staff allowing people that live in the apartment complex behind the motel to use the pool. If you are a day-time sleeper( im a nurse 7p to7a), dont get a room by the pool. I understand that people will use the pool, but I thought just regular guests. I seen a woman soliciting herself to some Mexican guests. There were some young adults hanging in the parking lot last night about 2:00am. I had to phone the local police to get them to move along. I guess you cant expect people to be considerate of others. It is about 95 degrees today and I havent used the pool due to the unscheduled pool party with individuals that live in the community. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: right off interstate so.... kinda loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roguetraveler235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn West Memphis
Knights Inn West Memphis
#1 of 18 in West Memphis
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Memphis
Days Inn West Memphis
#6 of 18 in West Memphis
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homegate Inn & Suites
Homegate Inn & Suites
#3 of 18 in West Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Hampshire Inn
New Hampshire Inn
#7 of 18 in West Memphis
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 18 in West Memphis
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada West Memphis
Ramada West Memphis
#5 of 18 in West Memphis
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 West Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 West Memphis

Property: Motel 6 West Memphis
Address: 2501 S Service Rd, West Memphis, AR 72301-3000
Location: United States > Arkansas > West Memphis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in West Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 West Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 West Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six West Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing