We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues with plumbing made our stay less than pleasant”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in West Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Overall service was good but was disappointed to learn that the odor we encountered each evening when we returned to our hotel floor and room was a recurring problem. My 17 yr old daughter and I stayed in room #413, which is handicap accessible. Neither of us required handicap access but were okay with the room until we realized the sewer like odor we kept smelling was actually coming from the drain in the middle of our bathroom floor. We put a trashcan and towel over it the first night so that we could sleep and the odor got somewhat better but was back the next day. The hallway on the 4th floor had the same odor each evening when we returned to our hotel. We had rented several rooms as we were with a wedding party and everyone who went up to the 4th floor commented on the sewer-like smell. When we advised the lady at the front desk, she said they had experienced the issue before and that it was indeed the sewer and that she would call maintenance. On our last night, the odor was so bad that we actually moved to my sister's room as we were leaving early the next day. They did offer to move us to a new room that day and ultimately deducted $20 off the bill but we had been there 6 nights and each day had encountered the terrible smell. If management is aware there is a problem, why can't they fix it so that it doesn't happen again? It was really a nasty odor. The location of the pool is also not great as there was a strong chlorine smell and the pool is right near the elevators which means you have to endure the chlorine smell every time you go up or down the elevator. Other than the odor issues, the rooms were pretty clean and the housekeeping staff was super friendly and helpful. The location is what I liked best - great if you are visiting downtown Memphis and the airport is only 15 minutes away. What I liked least was the smelly part and our AC unit squeaked a little which made it difficult to sleep at times. It's probably the newest hotel in West Memphis and likely the best you can do but management should strongly consider correcting the plumbing problem so guests do not encounter the "bathroom" smell. It was a real negative and likely will ensure we don't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stay at this hotel for business a few times each year. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. Super clean, updated rooms. Nice pool. Kid-friendly. Great Breakfast! We LOVE this place!!!! I can't say enough good things about it! Thanks for another wonderful stay!!! We can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DansuersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Please accept my review as a comparison of hotels ONLY in West Memphis AR. I beleive this is the most outstanding hotel in the small town. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast area was clean and kept well stocked during breakfast. One of the most outstanding featues of the hotel in the Beautyrest mattress which we had in our room. It was GREAT! The staff is courteous and accomodating. The outside grounds around the hotel are well kept and clean. In the bath there were very thick towells and plenty of them. The flat screen TV worked exceptionally well and lighting in the room was excellant. The internet connection was easy and very fast. Elevators worked like a charm.All top of all of this the price for the room was very good.This has bene the best stay for us in the Memphis area in many years.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I have stayed here several times, and even though I needed to be in Forrest City Ark, it was worth the drive. I normally stay 1 to 2 weeks, and the room, service, value and cleanliness are always perfect. If I have any problems, no matter how slight, the staff have always gone above and beyond to fix it. I would not stay at any other place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

After driving over 12 hours, we stopped into Comfort Suites at 8 pm with no reservation. The check-in staff was very nice and friendly and offered us a good rate. The hotel is new, which is good in most aspects, but it still had that new carpet and paint smell. There were fresh cookies for guests. The wireless signal was strong and the connection was easy to set up. Our suite and the bathroom were spacious. The bed was soft and comfortable, though hot at night. It was my fault. I should have adjusted the thermostat differently. The hotel was quiet at night and we slept soundly.
The free hot breakfast buffet was the icing on the cake. It included grits, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, yogurt, cereal, and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thea_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

After the great reviews I expected more. We arrived in the middle of a heat wave. Although our room was cool (we never figured out exactly how the temp. controls worked), the halls and the elevators had NO cooling and were extremely warm. The lighting in the bathroom was quite dim; we left the door open to get light from the entry chandelier. ( they put money into an entry light and left the bathroom dark?! Some crazy planning!). The bathroom vanity had practically no surround
at all - nowhere to put dop kits or
cosmetic cases.
The breakfast was fine, but most hotels have that part figured. This place gets a no in my book.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarNune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed 1 night in the Comfort suites on our way to the midwest .This was our second time staying at this hotel. The staff was very accomodating and gave us great service. The rooms were large, very clean and had comfortable beds. It comes with a buffet hot breakfast. They definitely make customer service and a clean facility a priority. I would definitely recommend this hotel when going through this area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Memphis
0.9 mi away
Knights Inn West Memphis
Knights Inn West Memphis
#1 of 19 in West Memphis
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homegate Inn & Suites
Homegate Inn & Suites
#3 of 19 in West Memphis
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada West Memphis
Ramada West Memphis
#4 of 19 in West Memphis
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn West Memphis
Days Inn West Memphis
#5 of 19 in West Memphis
620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 19 in West Memphis
57 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 4 in Marion
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 850 Stephens Blvd, West Memphis, AR 72301-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > West Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in West Memphis
Price Range: $100 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing