We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the stay”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

enjoyed the stay--rooms were clean and quiet and breakfast was very well prepared. There was quite a nice variety to choose from and the attendant was right on top of keeping the area clean and food replenished.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have waited until I have processed my opinion regarding a stay we had that this location.

Mid April we stayed at the Best Western Inn in Helena. With no reservation we called on route to confirm availability about 30 mins away and were greeted politely.

Upon arrival at around 6:00pm the tone changed. There was a couple checking in in ahead of us who were treated very politely " yes sir you room is right up the stairs. Madam If you go quickly the restaurant down the way will accommodate you...' Once it was our turn to be served. We seemed to be looked down on for what reason we could not tell.

We had stayed at 8 Best Westerns during this road trip and this is the only one who questioned our Canadian drivers license as being valid. We were asked to produce a second piece of ID. I showed my BW rewards card and my CAA card these were not adequate. I had to show my passport. That seemed to satisfy. We were given the last room on the back side. Very small. (barely walk around the bed) It had a musty smell like no one had been in it for a while. Bathroom was clean. We slept and got up with the Utility workers moving their trucks at about 6:45am
Breakfast was good. Good conversation of the utility workers. Check out staff was polite (different Staff from the night Before).

If there had been another hotel within 30mins on our route we would have moved on.

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin. Canadians beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I just spent several minutes describing how helpful the staff was at this hotel but that there is little they can do to improve the experience at a run-down hotel like this one. Broken lamp. Stained, worn carpet. Priced too high for such low quality. But due to the horrible economics in the area, it's one of the few options available. If you have to stay in Helena-West Helena, I understand from locals that this is better than some of the other options. Ugh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank NandTBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever lodged in. Dirty water, dirty microwave, stains in the carpet, and tub. You have to chase down housekeepers for linens and towels. I felt sooo uncomfortable laying in this bed. I'd rather have slept in an RV.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teetee10999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I travel with student groups several times a year to the West Helena/Marvell area. Our last trip was January, I booked our rooms weeks in advance and ask for all the rooms to be placed together, which the staff member promised. Our staff is legally responsible for the students so we need this setup to monitor their comings and going. When we arrived they had our rooms spread all over the different buildings and offered no other solution or apology, and the staff was rude. This past memorial day weekend we reluctantly had to book our stay there again due to no openings anywhere else that could accommodate our size. Although we arrived an hour after check-in we were told that not all of our rooms were not cleaned yet and that we would have to wait at least 45 minutes for them to be. I explained we had to be at a graduation ceremony and didn't have that time to wait. The staff was unapologetic and suggested we use a smoking room to change for the graduation ceremony we were headed to. I checked that room and it reeked! I told them that wasn't going to work and asked if we were going to get a discount for not having the rooms ready when we were told they were going to be and was told no. Luckily we scrambled to contact other places and a bed and breakfast had a last minute cancellation and was able to accommodate us immediately. It wasn't until then that the staff seemed motivated to fix our situation and tried to get us to stay, which we did not. Do not book here!

Room Tip: Book at the local bed and breakfast called the Edwardian instead, they treated us great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Bed was not very comfortable however, everything else about the stay was fine. The people who work at the desk and who clean the rooms are all very nice and helpful. Breakfast was fine..not great but ok

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BECKIE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Helena
22.9 mi away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
6.2 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
4.7 mi away
Edwardian Inn
Edwardian Inn
#1 of 3 in Helena
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Address: 1053 W Highway 49, West Helena, AR 72390-1835 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > West Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Helena
Price Range: $81 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The local Civil War attraction and KIPP are two of the area events that attract guests to the BEST WESTERN Inn. Whether you're in town to visit the Mississippi River or for the famous antique shopping, you're in for a treat at our newly renovated West Helena hotel. Blending southern hospitality with a great value, we're the best place to stay in town. Spacious, well-appointed rooms and an on-site business center make guests feel right at home. The full, complimentary Hot breakfast is the perfect way to start the day. The generous breakfast buffet features piping hot eggs and breakfast meats, a wide selection of breads and pastries, hot and cold cereals, and yogurt. The ideal complement to the most important meal of the day is our famous 100% Arabica coffee and cold juices. Close to the Isle Capri Casino, there's an abundance of local attractions to suit every guest. The Delta Cultural Center, Forte Curtis and Phillip-Thomas House are favorite area hot spots. Our welcoming staff is happy to provide recommendations on the best places in town for sightseeing, shopping and dining. Business travelers especially enjoy the touches of home at the BEST WESTERN Inn. The local Phillips Community College is a big draw for students and educators. We also regularly welcome guests who are employees with Walmart(R), the Arkansas Department of Education, the local railroad company and industrial park companies. Whether in town for business or pleasure, being comfortable in our relaxing newly renovated rooms is something that every traveler deserves. Book your cozy room at BEST WESTERN Inn, where fantastic comfort meets an unbeatable value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Helena
West Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing