We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I travel with student groups several times a year to the West Helena/Marvell area. Our last trip was January, I booked our rooms weeks in advance and ask for all the rooms to be placed together, which the staff member promised. Our staff is legally responsible for the students so we need this setup to monitor their comings and going. When we arrived they had our rooms spread all over the different buildings and offered no other solution or apology, and the staff was rude. This past memorial day weekend we reluctantly had to book our stay there again due to no openings anywhere else that could accommodate our size. Although we arrived an hour after check-in we were told that not all of our rooms were not cleaned yet and that we would have to wait at least 45 minutes for them to be. I explained we had to be at a graduation ceremony and didn't have that time to wait. The staff was unapologetic and suggested we use a smoking room to change for the graduation ceremony we were headed to. I checked that room and it reeked! I told them that wasn't going to work and asked if we were going to get a discount for not having the rooms ready when we were told they were going to be and was told no. Luckily we scrambled to contact other places and a bed and breakfast had a last minute cancellation and was able to accommodate us immediately. It wasn't until then that the staff seemed motivated to fix our situation and tried to get us to stay, which we did not. Do not book here!

Room Tip: Book at the local bed and breakfast called the Edwardian instead, they treated us great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
33
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Bed was not very comfortable however, everything else about the stay was fine. The people who work at the desk and who clean the rooms are all very nice and helpful. Breakfast was fine..not great but ok

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BECKIE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Asked for handicapped,the only thing that was handicapped was the marking in the parking space and the room was located downstairs. The ramp, if I had been in my chair, was really not close to the door. Nothing in the room, especially in the restroom was handi-caple. Speaking of the restroom, lots of ants. They did offer to move us but our my grandkids were already asleep and I could not pick them up and carry them anywhere. This is the only large chain hotel in town, we probably will stay out of town next visit. Staff upon arrival appeared very professional and kind, not so much upon departure. If morning staff had not been behind the desk I would not have been able to identify her as being an employee.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a nice stay at this Best Western. It had larger than normal rooms and had refrig, microwave, etc. Furniture much better than expected, and the bed was excellent. Linens were nice and felt and looked rather new. Breakfeast was very good--especially good sausages. The desk agent was exceptional. We were in town on a Blues "pilgrimage" to Helena AR and Clarksdale MS. and caught the King Biscuit Blues Festival. If you are a blues fan so not miss this. See Delate Blues Museum in the old downtown.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building with the office and had a large first floor room with lots of bathroom cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler987Napa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is an old, dated hotel in a small, dirty, delta town with very little in the way of gas stations, restaurants or anything else. The hotel itself was not bad but it was small and plain. Breakfast was the best part of this hotel. My big complaint is that it cost more than my hotel in Chicago, New Orleans, etc.. And I just felt that it was overpriced for what I got. I would not stay here (or in this town) again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western West Helena for 3 nights. We were there visiting family. The room was very nice, in the main building on the upper floor overseeing the swimming pool. The room was extremely clean, 2 beds, table, work table, hair dryer, and television. We had plenty of room between the two of us. Breakfast hours were convenient with a full breakfast which included Eggs, sausages, pancakes (you make them fresh yourself), toast, cereal, milk, apple juice, jelly, pastries, etc. It was awesome because I could load up the foot on a plate and bring it to my daughter like room service! The staff was extremely helpful. It's conveniently located near anything useful in West Helena which is pretty much McDonalds, Sonic, and WalMart. All and all, I'm normally a Sheraton Four Points / Radisson type of guy but this really impressed me for a mid-level budget hotel!

Room Tip: Room 205 Rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed one night here, passing through to Texas. We were on the first floor in the building closest to the street (not the same building as the lobby). The room appears to have been remodeled and were very nice. We had a two queen bed unit, it was very roomy, with a desk, dresser, table, two chairs, microwave and refrigerator. The beds were comfy with plently of pillows and new spreads. The lobby closes at 6pm, after that, you check in through a window but they said there's someone there all night. There was security guard in the parking lot, who said he stayed the night! I don't know if this is customary in the south or this is an area of concern with regard to crime. Either way, we didn't have any issues with safety. Breakfast was decent, bisciets w/ gravy, dairy products, fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, etc. Check-in was fine but we reserved with government rate and I am a qualified employee but didn't have my badge so there was a bit of an issue but we worked through it. Also we thought the rate included tax but at the end was told no, that was an additional 9 bucks and there was no getting it removed. All in all, it was a nice hotel with a decent price and we would definately stay there again. We don't normally choose Best Western but will consider them in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbutterfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Helena
22.9 mi away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
23.9 mi away
Quality Inn Tunica/Robinsonville
23.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tunica Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
23.0 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#12 of 19 in Tunica
175 reviews
6.2 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Property: Best Western Inn
Address: 1053 W Highway 49, West Helena, AR 72390-1835 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > West Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The local Civil War attraction and KIPP are two of the area events that attract guests to the BEST WESTERN Inn. Whether you're in town to visit the Mississippi River or for the famous antique shopping, you're in for a treat at our newly renovated West Helena hotel. Blending southern hospitality with a great value, we're the best place to stay in town. Spacious, well-appointed rooms and an on-site business center make guests feel right at home. The full, complimentary Hot breakfast is the perfect way to start the day. The generous breakfast buffet features piping hot eggs and breakfast meats, a wide selection of breads and pastries, hot and cold cereals, and yogurt. The ideal complement to the most important meal of the day is our famous 100% Arabica coffee and cold juices. Close to the Isle Capri Casino, there's an abundance of local attractions to suit every guest. The Delta Cultural Center, Forte Curtis and Phillip-Thomas House are favorite area hot spots. Our welcoming staff is happy to provide recommendations on the best places in town for sightseeing, shopping and dining. Business travelers especially enjoy the touches of home at the BEST WESTERN Inn. The local Phillips Community College is a big draw for students and educators. We also regularly welcome guests who are employees with Walmart(R), the Arkansas Department of Education, the local railroad company and industrial park companies. Whether in town for business or pleasure, being comfortable in our relaxing newly renovated rooms is something that every traveler deserves. Book your cozy room at BEST WESTERN Inn, where fantastic comfort meets an unbeatable value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Helena
West Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing