We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a royal residence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PJ Princess Regency
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vypin Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This fine looking hotel with its very attractive gardens (and small swimming pool) has tried to make the most of its situation. This is not a hotel for beach lovers, although the beach is about a 30 minute walk away. The beach is pristine and goes on for miles of the same, but there are no facilities of any kind. Most tourists go to the north of the island for the beaches. The hotel is off the main road, and few tourists venture here, but it was a nice change from the beaches of Goa. The hotel's rather grand appearance, and large reception area complete with big fish tanks, does look good at first, but we were a bit disappointed with the room, firstly because the previous occupant (or maybe staff?) had been smoking in it, and secondly because there was no balcony, which Expedia.com, through whom we'd booked, had promised would be part of the deal. The restaurant was pleasant enough, with views of the garden, and the food was fine, but no alcohol. Which is why we took the ferry to the island to the south where Fort Cochi is located the next day for a meal and some beer. The room itself had a minibar, tea/coffee, a good sized bed, fan and a/c, and a very nice bathroom. The room was rather narrow though, and we had expected better, although the price for 2 nights was 5396 rupees, about 54 pounds, which was very reasonable. One issue the first night was a continual noise from the corridors, with men talking loudly and opening and closing doors, which sets off alarms until the door is fully shut. We never figured out whether this was staff or guests, but I suspect it was staff. Staff seemed to outnumber guests at all times. Anyway, the staff were polite and friendly, and the young man on reception went to some trouble to open up the shop in the absence of the shop manager, so that I could buy a very nice Hawaii-style shirt priced at 350 rupees. Overall, the hotel is a nice one and ok for a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarumanthewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 334 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Such a shame as it could have been perfect:
Let me list a catalogue of problems:
- our room smelt of smoke upon entry
- breakfast is curry only...
- light switches are fiendishly difficult to operate
- front office are feckless. They knew nothing of the ferry times. We were told the last ferry was 2 hours before it actually was. Half the time the desk was unmanned
- we returned after a day of sightseeing to have our room being made up at 4pm in the afternoon
- we received a knock on the door at 10.30pm to sign a bill
- there is only 2 sun lounges at the pool
- the lift is slower than a tortoise. Almost as if a caveman is operating it on a pulley system
- There were 6 fold out beds sitting on the landing of our floor throughout the whole stay. Made the place feel tacky.

As you can see from my other reviews I am generally positive and not picky about hotels. I would avoid this place having stayed in some breathtaking accommodation in India for half the price this hotel is very bad value for money being a long way from fort Cochin ie tuk tuk plus ferry and a walk. Avoid!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JemskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

We sincerely apologize for not having lived up to your service delivery expectations when you stayed at our hotel recently. Please be rest assured that we have brought your comments to the Head of department responsible and also shared with the associates involved.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you. We would be most honoured if we could once again be of service to you on your next visit to Cochin City and allow another opportunity to give you a first-hand experience of the service culture that sets us apart and for which we continue to be known.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Talking about a place to stay for tourists, I personally feel, it should not only be decent, beautiful, nice and safe but also a place, which sets such an impression on your mind that you tend to find that level of comfort and decency everywhere you go for your future trips. And trust me, "PJ Princess" was one such Hotel, i have come across, which provides you all sorts of Comfort and Hospitality and an Interaction with the beautiful nature as well. It had beautiful interiors, an amazing viewfront, a very much helping and co-operating Travel Desk, A nice and comfortable restaurant with awesome food and amazing complimentary breakfast, very decent and co-operative staff members. Though we did miss a bar there, but the other aspects took it all. Talking about the location, you might find it a little tricky but peaceful and quite. I loved the "after dinner stroll" on its garden with my wife in that peaceful and serene environment.

All in all, we had a beautiful and memorable stay in PJ Princess.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navendu_pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Chose this hotel as it looked good and had accessible room, required by my father. The hotel is a little over a hour's drive from the Airport and is not in an area frequented by tourists. Having a car at your disposal will be preferred.

The hotel is well maintained with decent sized rooms. A small artificial pond is maintained by the hotel where they offer boating. A small garden and kids playing area are also available.

Important tourist areas like Chinese Fishing Nets, Old Kochi area and old Churches are easily accessible through ferry. The ferry jetty is about 10 mins from the hotel. The food at the restaurant was good and you don't have much options near the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit_Attry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

First time i write my personal review from the room of the hotel. But it`s really impossibile to stay nere. 1st : hotel is far from everywhere and they nave no transfer service. Last Terry from cochin is at ten PM and once in vypeen there is nothing to do to spend time. 2st : if you have a look at glasses or cups in restaurant you will understand how they are not able to clean things.
3st and most important : noises from the whole hotel will come strongly in your room. (alarms from doors,voices,ringtone from the desk and more And more) even if you are at third floor!!!
So that`s all!!! If you want to ruin tour Holliday come nere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iltrono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

We sincerely apologize for not having lived up to your service delivery expectations when you stayed at our hotel recently. Please be rest assured that we have brought your comments to the Head of department responsible and also shared with the associates involved.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

The doors are fitted with electronic sensors. As such if it is not closed properly the beeper will give the indication, which we understand was irritating you. Had the door been closed properly you could have avoided this. This is for your own security purpose.

As regards the unclean cutlery, we checked up with the service and kitchen staff. They insist that all the cutlery were clean. We have a hot water sterilization system through with all the cutlery is passed through and wiped clean.

Then again, the location of the hotel. It is about 7 KM away from the city, which we think is not a big distance to go to the city centre. If you had contacted our front desk they would have arranged you necessary transportation. Many guests prefer our hotel for this reason – far away from the pollution.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I spent two separate nights here as I transited in Cochin. It's a nice clean place, with very kind staff and lovely garden. It's a bit hidden from the busy city which I liked a lot about it! The restaurant at the hotel is absolutely delicious, their lunch and dinner buffets are fairly priced and have some great traditional Kerala dishes. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank mohasop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel in December 2013.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The morning buffet was really good.
The hotel covered all our basic requirements and made our stay a very pleasant one.
Totally worth the money you pay them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazi_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prakashjames, Owner at PJ Princess Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at PJ Princess Regency and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve our guests better.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the PJ Princess Regency.
With warm regards from the most sought after Luxury-Business-Leisure Hotel in the City of Kochi, in God’s Own Country, Kerala !

Owner,
PJ Princess Regency
+91 484 275 3056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vypin Island
3.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
3.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
874 reviews
2.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
439 reviews
11.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#12 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PJ Princess Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ Princess Regency

Address: 19/187, AVT Road | Puduvyppu, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 682508, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vypin Island
Price Range: $35 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PJ Princess Regency 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant Island of Vypeen, Kochi, this 30 room property is a Luxury - Business - Leisure Hotel. All rooms are clean, spacious, with TV, Wi-Fi and running hot water. We also provide tours in Kerala. Serene & calm without any noise pollution. Swimming pool & boating facility as well as outdoor and indoor games. Multi cuisine restaurant and complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PJ Princess Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing