We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unthinkable.”
Review of Catimore Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bondowoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catimore Homestay
Ranked #6 of 7 Bondowoso B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unthinkable.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Tried to book earlier via phone but was told fully booked. And to my surprise my agent (local travel agent) got a room there included in the package i took from him. I guess you need locals/agent to book a room. Anyway the only good thing about the hotel is the location as its the nearest to Mount Ijen. The room was totally run down, old and smelly. The bed was uncomfortable and i think they didn't change the bed sheets from previous guests. The toilet have warn shower but it was soo dirty and dark. They provide 2 slices of bread with jam and egg for breakfast. Free flow of coffee and tea. I had a room facing the dining area. so its kinda noisy. Lucky i was there for 4 hrs as i need to leave for kawah ijen at 1am.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    29
    38
    47
See reviews for
7
52
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for few hours, due to our EARLY call (00.30 am) for Blue Fire at Kawah Ijen. We arrived late evening, had a 50.000IDR set meal (which was tasty) and then straight to bed.
The room was nothing fancy, cleanliness was kind of an issue, the place is totally run down, despite the excellent location inside a coffee plantation.
We were not keen on trying the shower, and the beds were just "reasonable", nothing to be excited about, no blankets, and it was a little bit chilly outside.
Few hours spent here are reasonable only if you are on budget, but Kawah Ijjen is well worth the effort (of staying here).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bondowoso hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This place was sadly lacking in almost every respect. The room was very basic and the hot shower was ..luke warm maybe. The restaurant seating area is directly outside the rooms, so noisy especially when you have a 1 am start There is nowhere else to eat except in the restaurant and that has a set menu (50 000IDR per person, although the food was alright . All the time we were there the internet was not working. This place needs a major refurb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My expectations for this place were already pretty low having read the TA reviews beforehand, so given all of that I felt the room was adequate, there was hot water and the beds appeared clean and were decently comfortable.

However:
- I acquired a set of what looked like bedbug bites after the one night here
- They had a party with extremely loud karaoke going on directly outside the rooms til about 11pm, which when you have to wake up at 12.30am for the hike up the Ijen crater is.. unhelpful, to say the least.
- They refuse to sell any food a la carte at night, so you have to buy their 50,000Rp set meal, useful if you're with someone as it easily feeds two, annoying if there's just the one of you and all you want is a plate of nasi goreng. The receptionist was also rude when informing us of this.
- The bathroom did not look like it'd been cleaned in a while.

They've got a captive audience so you pretty much have to suck it up and deal with it. Luckily Kawah Ijen is worth the few hours that you have to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alynne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Travelling from Surabaya airport to Catimore Homestay took hours, a few stops for lunch, etc.. and finally we arrived at 9.00 pm and its too dark to see the surrounding of this place. The homestay is an old building in a very remote location miles and miles away .... Our room was very basic with 2 single beds, the bathroom - just bearable. Other travellers are complaining of bed bugs and shouting and banging their bed.

Dinner was just okay but breakfast was just 2 slices of cold bread and coffee. We just slept for 3 hours and wake up at 3.30 am for our trip to trek Kawah Ijen.

Catimore Homestay was just bearable, if you are not too fussy to stay for 1 night en route to Kawah Ijen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleMaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a relatively big hotel for it's remote locating. We staid in the old building and had a nice colonial room. The walls though are so ultra thin, light shines through.

Diner was okay, breakfast terrible. The bed is terrible as well, and they only provide a woollen blancet! On request and much pushing later the gave as bed
sheets?!

The parc entrance and guides are a scam! When walking to the crater you don't need a guide, just an hour drive. You can walk up to the mountain on your own (bring good flash lights). At the top of the crater you can descent with one of the mine workers. Those guys have the hardest job on earth and know the crater best, let them bring you down and reward them greatly. They are very willing to help you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120Sebastian1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asse, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Even for the little money you pay, this homestay is not worth while. It's not because you book a basic room, that it should be crappy. The rooms are noisy, dirty and not well maintained. IF you get a room, that is: due to overbooking, about 20 people had to sleep in a villager's bed or in the reception's area on a matress. And they didn't even get their money back. We had a terrible night sleep and breakfast was very poor as well. Avoid this one if you can.

P.S. The organised tours Bromo-Ijen are terrible and definitely a rip-off. DON'T book them. Would you want to enjoy the pretty vulcano views, than organise a tour yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCaroLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondowoso
19.9 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 16 in Banyuwangi
734 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 16 in Banyuwangi
76 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ijen View Hotel & Resort
Ijen View Hotel & Resort
#2 of 7 in Bondowoso
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ijen Resort & Villas
Ijen Resort & Villas
#1 of 48 in Banyuwangi
384 reviews
24.6 mi away
Palm Hotel
Palm Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bondowoso
90 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bondowoso Ijen Bamboo Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catimore Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catimore Homestay

Property: Catimore Homestay
Address: Jl. Jend. A Yani 32 Jl., Bondowoso, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Bondowoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bondowoso
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Catimore Homestay Hotel Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing