We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway at very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salisbury
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway at very good price”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Tamarind Tree hotel is a wonderful place. We can recommend this hotel and the owners and staff to everybody. In Dominica it is difficzlt to stay in hotels because most ob the basics services are missing. tamarind are on eof the few one with good service and restaurant. The owners -Annette and Stefan - are even after 13 years of operation very helpful to all guests. They support to get arounfd on this exciting island which is unique in the world.

Salisbury and the whole island is one of the last parisises in the world. We really support the tamarind people because they do eco-hoteling at it best. They offer torus and services you will not get somerwhere else in the area. The hotel is strategically very good situated between the bigger places of Portmouth and Roseau.

There are not many places and hotels like this anymore in the world

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colihaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Staff is friendly, but the room & bath room is dirty. Hopefully will keep it clean!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

A warm and personal attention is guaranteed in this family run middle class hotel on top of a cliff. The view from the big terrace in front of the rooms to the the caribbean sea and Salisbury is magnificent. Two beaches nearby, a hidden valley to explore, watch the birds and take a refreshing swim in the river just across the street. If you look for a very quiet hotel with a friendly team who arranges all sort of excursions and activities for you, if you like watching hummingbirds while enjoying breakfast with homemade jellys of local fruits, this is the place to stay. One point is to say: you have to love dogs since the family owns three (clean) dogs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia_6203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

If you go to Dominica you go to find the waterfalls and it's physically demanding. The rooms are not a problem if you get air conditioning and it's worth the extra money. We only stayed in our room to sleep and had no problem after all the hiking, etc. We rented a 4X4 and needed it. Driving is challenging but my partner did great; we laughed at how the locals must be able to see around curves and through mountains. Snorkeling at Scotts Head was great. The people everywhere on the Island were very happy to help in any way. I couldn't believe with the money exchange($1 US was 2.7 of theirs) more people didn't tip. The servers at the restaurants would go out of their way to please. There is a rum company across the street from the hotel. The Island has beer stands on the side of the road all around; another reason sleep came easy. We stayed a week and it wasn't enough time to do everything the Island has to offer. We also put over 300 miles on the rental car since the Island is large and we went back to the hotel each night. The hotel was in a great location but if we go back I think we will stay somewhere close to each place we are going. We wouldn't drive at night over there. I was glad the hotel had free breakfast each morning. We had a great time and it was the best birthday present ever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The beds are hard little cots and the room was too hot. The ceiling fan just did not cut it. You can't sleep outside due to the bugs.

Management and owners are nice enough and it was great having a snack bar on the property. But none of that matters if you can't sleep.

This hotel is definetly geared towards Europeans.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed for one week and the island itself is very rustic but we grew to love the Tamarind Tree hotel with the excellent views and peaceful surroundings. You must have transportation to stay here and we enjoyed that it was half way between Portsmouth and Roseau but too far to travel to either for dinner. We ate at the hotel every night to avoid the roads which are filled with potholes and to avoid the crazy drivers. We snorkeled and hiked the island and the hotel restaurant was good but we did not do the meal plan. We did not have an adapter for a German switch but we managed to charge blackberries etc. at the office. The owners were pleasant and we were the only English only guests but we felt right at home. The snorkeling on the island was good and our scuba diving was excellent. I would rank the hotel higher than the island but I was glad for the A/C as it was the dead of summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Tamarind Tree Hotel for 10 days in October 2008, it was our third stay at this beautifull island.

The hotel is situated on a cliff (Oh! What sunsets!!) at the west coast between the capital Roseau in the south and Portsmouth in the north, about a half an hour drive away form Roseau. It's perfect for starting hikes or trips to the UNESCO heritage site (Morne Trois Pritons) or the other points of interest.

The facilities are basic and very clean, the owners lately improved the Hotel so there are "Superior Rooms" now which have air condition. The "Standard rooms" have no air condition, only fans.

The Swiss-German management (Anette and Stefan) is helpfull and they tried everything to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. It may be important for other tourists that there is English, French and German spoken!

We arrived together with the new German chef Tobias so we were the first hotel guest to taste his creations. The quality was very good, the food fresh and tasty - we missed a little bit the typical Creole domestic cuisine, but I'm sure he will learn to cook "Dominican stlye" very fast as he is ambitious and a good chef de cuisine.

As advised in a review below we rented a car at Courtesy Car Rentals in Roseau and we were highly pleased about the service. We had a small accident with our car and the owner at Courtesy regulated the issue without any problems and absolutely fair.

Some hints for travellers who try to visit Dominica from Europe, US or other international locations:

Since Dominica doens't have an international airport you have to travel from one of the surrounding islands which have an international airport (Martinique, Guadeloupe, St. Lucia, Barbados, etc.).

Connection flights from this islands to Dominica are offered by LIAT, but be carefull! This airline and their schedule is absolutely undependable! They often change departure times and even departure airports at will and often without prior notice - they even cancel flights randomly and you get informed about the cancelation just when you're at the check-in counter.

So if you have an international connection flight waiting for you at one of the mentioned islands it's absolutley crucial that you plan one extra day for your outward trip and another extra day for your return trip there.

Therefor I would recommend travelling by ferry boat (L'Express des Iles). Besides it is cheaper than a flight with LIAT it is much more dependable. But you have to make your reservation early enough because the ferry is crowded sometimes.

The ferry boat itself is at the dry dock two times a year from mid June to mid July and from mid September to mid October - then there is no other possibility to reach Dominica but with LIAT. Unfortunately we had to travel with LIAT and we hat a lot of troubles with them.

So sometimes it is really difficult to reach Dominica, but it is worth all the efforts! Hiking, Scuba diving, mountain biking, taking a shower under the water falls, whale watching ... Dominica is a top spot for nature lovers.

If you like clubs with all inclusive atmosphere, animation programms and laying at the beach all day long you'll probably be disappointed from Dominica.

Thanks again to the crew form the Tamarind Tree Hotel for 10 days full of unforgettable experiences.

Robert & Conny from Munich, Germany.

  • Liked — The food, the view over the Carribean Sea, the friendly staff.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury
9.9 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
865 reviews
8.4 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
10.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
10.8 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Address: E.O. Leblanc Highway, Salisbury, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Joseph Parish > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant is located in the middle of Dominica's west coast on top of a 100 foot cliff, offering a beautiful view over the Caribbean Sea, the Bay of Salisbury and Morne Diablotin. The Tamarind Tree Hotel is a pleasing middle class hotel, situated in between the beaches of Macoucherie and Salisbury. All rooms have a bathroom with shower, hot and cold water, ceiling fan, refrigerator and porch with ocean view. Facilities at your disposal: Restaurant, Bar, Swimming-Pool. Two family suites are available. Activities: Diving - Hiking - Sighteeing - Excursions - Whale Watching - Game Fishing - Sailing. At the Tamarind Tree Restaurant we offer tasty snacks throughout the day, and in the evening fine creole and international cuisine. Fall in love with the enchanting sunsets while sipping an exotic cocktail, enjoy an excellent dinner in a pleasant atmosphere or have a good time at the bar by tasting our homemade fruit rums! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing