We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington After Dark”

Historic Washington State Park
Attraction details
Norman
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Washington After Dark”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the most interesting tour of Old Washington I have done, and I have done several. beginning with dinner at William's Tavern and ending at the Pioneer Cemetery, tourists are transported to the 19th century and regaled with tales of unexplained happenings within the town of Washington. Civil War era lanterns light the way as the group walks about the streets and buildings hoping for a glimpse of a lost soul trapped between this world and the afterlife.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Glimpse into the Past”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I went with my son on a field trip on Civil War day. All of the staff (Disney would call them "cast members") were top-notch. The players all dress, speak and act as if we had stepped back into the 1860s. There's an excellent firearms museum, a printing museum, a courthouse and childhood games from the period. Since it was Civil War day, there were "surgeons" describing battlefield medicine, artillery re-enactors, soldiers who "drilled" the students on the parade grounds, and numerous other activities. If you are a history buff, you'll enjoy spending a half-day here. It's only eight miles from Interstate 30, so it's easy to get to.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Me and my friends went in third grade and i bought a hurmonica from there and it still works like a charm!! :D It was great cause we got to learn about the history..

Helpful?
Thank Dena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdown
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Old Washington Group Tour”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Awesome staff and facilities! We were a group of about 20 and the staff had our day planned and mapped out and everyone was very efficient and knowledgeable!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ronda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“neet place”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

this is a small state park but it is a nice half day adventure. at the right time of year there are a number of activities taking place plus the last time i was there you could move and look at your own pace.

Helpful?
Thank walterjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Washington State Park also viewed

 

Been to Historic Washington State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing