We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/22
eDreams
ZenHotels.com$93
Agoda.com
Trip.com$96
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
115
284
162
39
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
284
162
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews java banana jeep tour high season gallery bromo sunrise hour flies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 619 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent hotel with great views. The rooms are very spacious with a nice big balcony. Staff very helpful and the views from the restaurant balcony are also very good. Food was also very good at the resort. Stayed here for only 1 night but would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Although the staff was friendly, our room was situated above the water pump which made noises all day and night. All the staff knew this was a problem and kept telling us they would fix it - but it was not fixable. We were grateful we were only there two nights as it was impossible to get any sleep. At check-out, they offered a 15% discount, which I didn't feel was adequate for the inconvenience. Also, the room was not clean and the walkways were not swept. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Their rooms were totally overpriced. They did say they would move us but they wanted to charge us another $70. for a different room.

Room tip: Some rooms looked better but the price was very high.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The only reason I booked Java Banana was for the quality of bathroom (from the pictures). The architecture is good, the room is comfortable, but the service is below average. They discouraged us from eating lunch at the restaurant, because it wouldn't open until 1 pm (in the high season!). We had dinner, which was just average, as was the breakfast. The art gallery was interesting, but I couldn't tell whether the cafe was open or closed. I might go back, but only because the other places seem more run down. They take advantage of the fact, and prices are through the roof.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-do-love-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Java Banana is located in between beautiful landscape and traditional villages, where you can experience the traditional Java. The position is good to experience Mount Bromo and meet friendly locals.

Concerning the accommodation, there are different points to consider: The hotel is indeed nice and the garden is beautiful.
But: The price is way to high, not only for Java/Indonesia, but also for what Java Banana offers!
We stayed for one day and one night, these are the experiences: Café and gallery were closed (without any reason), WiFi did not work, food in the restaurant & breakfast were expensive and not good at all, bathrooms are extremely small, there is no heater in the room (nights are quite cold up there).

The staff was actually friendly, but there did not really care.

As we wanted to proceed next day to Ijen, we asked the reception for an advise. They offered help and what we got was more than disappointing: They organized transfer to Ijen and accommodation there, both were a nightmare! The car was nothing else than a scrap heap, we had to stop several times to change broken wheels, the driver did not speak a word (in no language), the whole drive was dangerous to life (concerning the car).
The staff predicted accommodation at Ijen as good and solid hotel, but it was not. Just horrible, don't ask....!

It was very disappointing that they sold us transfer and hotel at Ijen for a high price (in cash), predicting and promising a good quality!

So, this is our advise: As the night will be very short (you need to get up quite early to explore Bromo's most beautiful side), you can easily stay in a cheaper place, you won't miss anything if you don't stay in Java Banana Hotel.

Have a nice trip, enjoy yourself!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KonMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We choose Java Banana based upon Trip Advisor. It may not be on the crater rim but that is no great loss as it is within 15 minutes. Java Banana has superb rooms and their restaurant for breakfast and dinner was great including prices. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff were great and event he sellers outside on the road from whom we bought beanies and scarfs from were great to chat to. Most importantly all aspects of the Bromo Volcanoe tour and connections were on time.

Room tip: Choose a room on the second floor as the in and out levels are easier
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeadlyddPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews