We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great peaceful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place with wonderful people! Josie and Jim were the perfect hosts of they're beautiful inn. My wife and I only stayed for one night during our Nova Scotia trip and we wish it was longer. From amazing views, wonderful breakfast and comfortable spacious lodging to the friendly family animals, this was a perfect place to unwind and relax! We especially loved the alpacas! Can't wait to get back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jstnalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

On our travels to Cape Breton we stayed in this lovely bed & breakfast. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean. We had a lovely evening and were entertained by our hosts with music and great chat. We enjoyed meeting the other guests. The whole atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. A homey atmosphere. A little more pricey than was quoted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stumbled upon this fantastic Bed and Breakfast by pure luck and could not have been happier that we did. Josie and Jim have created a lovely, clean, comfortable place to stay on a beautiful piece of property with much to offer. We arrived late at night and were delighted by the cleanliness and size of our "room" (which was more of an apartment with private entrance, bathroom, microwave, refrigerator, multiple beds, futon, and even a crib for guests with young children!) so we were surprised in the morning by the beauty of the sprawling grass that spread down to a private beach (where we searched for, and found fossils!). We explored a bit before enjoying a delicious and filling fresh cooked breakfast with Josie and Jim who we enjoyed great conversation with as well. As animal lovers, our stay was made THAT much better not only by the company of three beautiful and friendly dogs (that use only the common areas, not the guest rooms), but most importantly the adorable Alpacas that roamed the property. Spending time with these amazing animals was a top highlight of our week+ long trip and it was tough for us to part with them. We'll be back for sure one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rouden Daach is a comfy, eco-based home in a spectacular setting. Josie and Jim are caring and good hosts. However, while it may not pose a problem for some, the lack of ensuite washrooms and actual controlable heat made life truly uncomfortable for us. The B and B advertises the washrooms as "private". Perhaps, they interpret that as meaning "not shared with the owners of the house". Bottom line is that the 2 bedrooms in the main house share a (very nice) washroom. Only the family suite (in a seperate building) has its own washroom. For numerous reasons, a shared washroom is a pain and a HUGE surprise when all of the listings (including B and B Canada) list them as private.

The house is heated with an excellent airtight fireplace. We were there at the end of August and experienced some wild and wooly Northumberland Straight weather i.e. it was a tad chilly. Cheap-to-install baseboard heaters with a thermostat could have kept us toasty warm. Instead, as we arrived, our hosts were engaging in a gentle "discussion" as to whether the fireplace should be lit. We hoped it would but asking would have been, frankly, uncomfortable. In short, the experience was more like bunking in with your cool buddies on their "eco-farm" as opposed to a simply comfy, warm, easy-to-deal with B and B.

Breakfast was very good. Josie and Jim have 3 wonderful dogs. While the dogs do not spend time in the guest rooms and are perfectly behaved, gentle animals, their hair and dander, etc. is omnipresent and can pose a problem for allergy sufferers as was our case.

The washroom, previously mentioned, was reasonably clean upon our arrival, save for the toilet bowl, unfortunately. It could have used a quick clean-up.

The most annoying part - the surprise involving the shared washrooms.

Room Tip: The family suite is the only room with its own washroom. Quite likely, it has its own heating arrang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serendipity6650, Owner at Red Roof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We try our best to make your stay at our home as comfortable as possible, but we can only address an issue if we are aware of it.
We were under the impression, that you enjoyed your stay, sitting by the fire , drinking our complementary wine, and singing along with the guitar....
sorry that you felt otherwise..
sincerely
Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

OK, if you are very formal, this might not be for you. But if you like casual settings, definitely book this B&B, you'll love it! Surroundings and the house are beautiful, but most of all the atmosphere, that sets this place apart. You would feel very homey, like you came to visit your relatives. The breakfast was also very yummy, adding to that feeling. Thank you Josephine and Jim! I hope we will return one day to spend more time at your welcoming house. Our daughter still talks about your dogs :-)

Room Tip: If you desire more privacy, ask for the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ok62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thank you for everything Josie&Jim.
We did enjoy our two nights stay. We've had learnt a lot from the two hosts about energy saving etc. Bedroom is clean and tidy, breakfast was sufficient and delicious. Josie is very friendly, charming lady and knowledgeable. Moreover, my girlfriend really loves their ALPACAS
For sure we will return next year.
David&Niki.

Room Tip: WIFI wasn't functional that well in our room... but it wasn't a big deal as we were exhauste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidYuan0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It will be hard to fully express the absolute delight you will experience when you meet your charming hosts Josie & Jim, you see your new, well-appointed and very comfortable room, and your breath is taken away as you enjoy the ocean vista behind this lovely 4-year old house and property. As a pet-friendly accommodation, we could not have been more pleased. Our 14-month dog rates this B&B her #1 place on our recent tour of Nova Scotia. We'll definitely be back and for more nights - one was definitely NOT enough!!

Room Tip: With a pet, the room over the garage is ideal as you have easy access to a fully fenced in back yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McArras Brook
13.0 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
186 reviews
11.6 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
567 reviews
17.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Blue Tin Roof Bed & Breakfast
Blue Tin Roof Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Livingstone Cove
107 reviews
20.9 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
12.8 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Bed and Breakfast

Address: RR1, 6650 Hwy 245, McArras Brook, Nova Scotia B0K 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > McArras Brook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McArras Brook
Price Range: $96 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing