We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will find three B's at Sunset on the River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset-on-The-River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Kingsclear B&B and Inns
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will find three B's at Sunset on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Upon reviewing Sunset on the River, one needs to include another "B". Sunset on the River would be classified as a B-B & B, meaning Beautiful Bedroom, Beautiful Breakfast and Beautiful Hosts. When you drive into the driveway you first notice the beautiful home, surrounding property and magnificent backdrop of the Saint John River. We were cheerfully greeted at the front door by Tom and later by Judy in the foyer. You can tell upon entering the home that it is immaculately cared for with lots of attention to detail and family values. We were shown to a beautiful corner room ( Mactaquac Room ) that was over sized for what one would think of in bedrooms.There was also a full bath that included a Jacuzzi tub for one to enjoy. The bed was dressed with quality bedding and you were given a choice of full down pillows or foam, which was a nice added touch. With a nice breeze off the river, we had a wonderful and very relaxed sleep. In the morning we were again greeted by our very friendly hosts and served a splendid breakfast starting with a large glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, followed by a fresh and enjoyable fruit parfait topped with fresh yogurt, which was followed by a lovely omelet made with all fresh ingredients and two lovely maple sausages, and amble cups of coffee. When we did not touch the lovely fresh muffins....only because we were so full...Judy was quick to wrap them so we could take them along with us. The bonus for us was the enjoyable conversations we had with Tom & Judy on this day as we were lucky to be their only guests.
Unfortunately for us we had only the one night to spend at the Sunset on the River B-B & B, but we can assure you that as the Sunsets on the River we shall return, the very next time we are in this area.
The added photos are with a cellphone camera so picture quality is poor...sorry for that. Rooms were far nicer than my photos.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms at Sunset on the River would be a great choice, all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealSnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We did have some trouble finding this place since it is outside Fredricton. If you look at the picture on tripadvisor, it would help you to locate it. The hosts were very welcoming. Pleasant room with a river view and a jaccuzi (which we didn't use). Breakfast was fabulous! A good fruit yogurt combination and lemon/mushroom eggs benedict (which I even liked though eggs benedict are not my favorite). It is very convenient to King's Landing settlement if you're visiting there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Tom and Judy are exceptional hosts, and generously share their beautiful home. We had a memorable three days and have never felt so relaxed and welcome. Judy prepares the most wonderful breakfasts with great ingredients.
The accommodation was luxurious with fabulous views of the river and the beautiful garden, and amazing sunsets!
The best B&B we have stayed in and we would recommend that you make a detour to visit and meet Tom and Judy. We hope to visit again next time we travel to New Brunswick.
London UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Third trip to this amazing B&B. Hosts , Tom and Judy are so accomodating, friendly and make you feel right at home.Rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, immaculate, with a view of the river.I recommend the Macdequac room, very large, with a nice jacuzzi. If you enjoy serenity, you will love it here, very relaxing and beds are cozy. Breakfast...what an experience....truly gourmet (ex; gran mariner french toast, hot fresh muffins, yogurt with fresh berries, eggs beni with dill and lemon sauce......etc...etc...) so delicious........not to mention the beautiful table setting, classical music and river view. What more could you ask for. Thank you Tom and Judy for a great stay, we will be back soon........People, check the reviews.......try it you will love it guaranteed........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgiovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Of all the B&B's that we have stayed in this in our opinion is the Gold standard of the business. Tom and Judy Spink are your hosts, their home is right on the St. John river, with a beautiful view. Their home has been built and laid out with B&B in mind. The rooms all have a river view and are of the highest quality throughout. Their breakfast's are excellent, fresh fruit and baking, cooked just like Mom would.
If you can't feel at home the moment you walk in the door by their welcoming demeanor and engaging personality, then I might suggest you are better off in a hotel.
We have stayed there now twice and both times it has felt like we are in our own home.
I recommend this B&B without reservation to anyone who is in need of some pampering, and a great value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnarly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We drove from Montreal up to Nova Scotia and back down to Montreal to fly back to the UK during October, staying at 4.5 and 5 * B&Bs on the way. We rated Tom and Judy's house and hospitality top of our list by the end of our stay.

We stayed in the Mactaquac room which was superb and extremely comfortable with fantastic views over the lake. We were greeted with warm homemade ginger cake and the following morning an all homemade breakfast of warm scone, egg bake, and the most delicious warm stewed apple. Tom and Judy are excellent hosts and it was a true pleasure to stay in their lovely home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickandDeb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Only three rooms make this B&B a fabulous place to stay. Intimate, cozy, with fantastic breakfasts! We met the hosts (Judy & Tom) on our very first visit to Canada in 2008. They made us feel so welcome that we've stayed there 6 more times in the past few years. In fact, we hold the record of "most bookings" at Sunset on the River. We'll be returning for another visit in September 2011.

We've stayed in all 3 rooms which are exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Our favorite is the Mactaquac -- very spacious with fabulous views of the St. John River, which can also be enjoyed from the large deck overlooking the river.

Lots to do and see in NB. Make Sunset on the River your base from which to travel -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emzgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsclear
10.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton
10.3 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 20 in Fredericton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
8.2 mi away
Prospect Inn
Prospect Inn
#12 of 20 in Fredericton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset-on-The-River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset-on-The-River Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunset-on-The-River Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4475 Route 102 | Upper Kingsclear, Kingsclear, New Brunswick E3E 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Kingsclear
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsclear
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing