We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My wife and I Just got back from Valentin Imperal where we spend our tenth year Anniversary. We thought the food and the many resturants were great. I was plesantly surprized to find out that room services was also all inclusive. We had food and drinks sent to our rooms at all times of the day and night. That reminds me I have to hit the gym lol I ate like a pig. No pun intended (no swine) However the morning walks were refreshing and help with digestion.The grounds were well kept and very romantic. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. There was just one thing that we didnt like which was no fault of Valentin and that was how cold and unfriendly the guess were. People would walk by you with out saying anything which was very rude. Someone suggested that the Europeans were to blame but I saw a few American that were equally as snobbish. Hint!!! be nice smile and say hello and good morning when u go pass people it will make the environment that much happier and pleasant. DUH! your on Vacation.....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,455 - 10,461 of 12,383 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

I am currently sitting in my Golden Swim up room, listening to these crazy Swine flu claims. There has been no Swine Flu here! I guess the positive in this pandemic is that we pretty much have the entire resort to our selves, can't complain about that!! What more could you ask for on your HONEYMOON.

This resort is incredible I don't even know where to begin...

ROOM: Our room is large it has its own jacuzzi, a private shower and toilet, 2 sinks and a king bed with sliding doors onto a balcony which leads you right into a pool. Internet access for $10.00 we had to rent a internet cable. They have wireless in the main and reception area, but we are to lazy to walk there everyday. Two flat screen TV's and a mini den area with a couch. Room service was always fast. Maid servicce never an issue, they also restock your mini bar on a daily basis.

FOOD: Lobster Pot has been our favorite, we have tried all the restaurants, really they are all AMAZING, we have been to many resorts and never have we eaten so well. Not once has my stomach gotten sick either. What ever you want they pretty much will do it for you. You can eat 24 hours a day!

POOL: Pool is very large 2 swim up bars with great drinks and service. We did not spend to much time since we had a swim up room with the bar LITERALLY at the foot of our Balcony. Room 7117 in building 7...I swear this is the way to go its a 5 minute walk to the main area and main pool, but we did not really ever need to go to the main pool it was outside our Balcony. Oh yeah its best to be on the ground floor to this way you can just hop intothe pool anytime! Floaties were never an issue since we had our own personal 2 floaties with the room and chairs. We also had our own personal server :) Talk about Royal treatment!

BEACH/ACTIVITIES: The beach is awsome yes it is windy but I like it that way there is a part that is all sand with no rocks, but there are also parts with rocks but those areas are not ment to swim in. No issues with chairs(keep in mind the resort was pretty much empty). Although it was empty it never felt empty there was lots of people for the nightly activities and shows. There is plenty of activities from pool aerobics, water polo to riffle shooting. You can do a bike tour, play tennis, go dancing late at night or simply enjoy one of the shows they put on at night. The gym is also great! We are active people so we hit up the gym everyday. The spa was great as well, we were given a 100 spa credit.

As you can tell we loved this place, I don't know how someone could differ?? We spent our honeymoon here and it was the best expeperience ever. We could not have asked for better. From champagne and cold towels upon arrival to a bottle of Champagne delivered to our room on our one week anniversary. Staff is sincere and kind. We will be back for sure!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
6  Thank milanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Just returned from the Valentin.First of all the bad press about the flu is not fair to this region of mx. or to the Valentin.No problems at this resort.
Ate at all of the restauants and give all A grades.rooms ans service were excellent..best vacation yet. relax this is the best time to go.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaggyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Annually my girlfriends and I try to take a vacation together and this year with the economy being what it is we decided to do an all-inclusive vacation closer to home versus traveling abroad. We researched many resorts in the Riviera Maya area of Mexico and ultimately chose the Valentin Imperial Maya. The service was amazing from the moment we arrived to the resort. The check in was a little bumpy as it seemed they had only noted two, not three travelers on our reservation, but this was quickly remedied and we were upgraded to a room with a private pool area right off our patio. We stayed in building eight which was a five minute walk from the main pool and dining but a very quiet part of the property. The food was amazing at all the venues we chose to dine (Hacienda, Lobster Pot, Asian) as well as the lunch buffett. The fresh guacomole everyday was a treat! The spa was small but very clean and well worth the money. The property is dark at night and the lighting needs to be addressed for several of the pathways leading away from the main plaza. Also, the walkway for guest is also the main road around the property so it's nothing to see a car or golf carts requiring you to move for them to pass--kind of dangerous. The only other thing that I noticed was that there didn't seem to be a place for a late night snack like the buffets during the day. I really enjoyed the resort so much so that I am thinking of taking my husband back later this year for our anniversary. I would recommend this place to girlfriends or couples looking for a relaxing beach vacation and excellent service. This isn't a party resort; definitely a quieter, more mature crowd which I enjoyed. Though tips aren't required they are much appreciated by the staff and well deserved!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrselj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I stayed at the Valentin for 5 nights through a package booked on Luxury Link. The package gave us a Golden Swim-Out Suite, which was beautiful and spacious. It was also convenient to be able to walk out to the swim-up pool. We requested and were given Building 6, which was convenient to the beach and the restaurants.

Service was excellent. The staff is great. The food is outstanding. We ate at the Lobster Pot, steakhouse, Japanese, and Indonesian restaurants, all of which were great. Room service was also prompt and excellent.

The one downside was the beach. It is beautiful and wide with lots of palapas, chairs, and excellent service. However, as others have noted, it was windy with red flags during our stay. The main pool and the swim-up pool were both very nice.

We booked a private tour through Entertainment Plus to go to Tulum, Chichen Itza, and Ik Kil Cenote, and I would recommend this tour.

I highly recommend the Valentin. It is a beautiful resort with excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank friscocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We arrived in Mexico to be told that we were being sent to the newly constructed Secrets Silver Sands. We were told we had no other options so we had to take it whether we liked it or not. We found out that trips booked with the Valentin Imperial Maya for a few days were all being sent to the Silver Sands because they were over booking for days!

We are guessing that the Valentin may be a nice place to stay but we were not treated very well by the Valentin rep that came to see us at the Silver Sands. We were lucky if they showed up at all when they said they would.

Anyway, my review of our trip to Mexico in April will now be found under Secrets Silver Sands.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skylar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

My husband and I spend 8 days at the Valentin and were extremely satisfied the entire time. From the moment we arrived from the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. The grounds are absolutely amazing! I could walk around barefoot and not get a speck of sand on my feet-they were constantly cleaning, sweeping, maintaining, pruning, etc! But not to the point of intrusion or distraction. We stayed in a swim-up room, which was right up our alley. We just walked out of our patio doors and onto our loungers. It is more quiet in this area, no music, no activities staff, just pure peacefulness. The room itself is very contemporary: king-size foam bed, double sinks, huge tile shower, separate toilet room, huge jacuzzi (which we didn't use because we have one at home), mini-fridge, which they stocked daily, and terry bathrobes. There's an electronic safe too, which was quite large. I brought my own slippers because, like all Caribbean/Mexico resorts, the floors are always tiled (cold!). There was a bidet as well, but we didn't use it. The resort is huge, the pathways are large enough for cars to drive guests and their luggage to their rooms (yup, no golf carts here!). Huge in a good way, though. After dinner every night, we took a stroll around the resort. There's live music pretty much every night as well as shows. Because of the 2 hour time difference, we really didn't stay up late. But if you wanted a drink or if you were hungry late at night, you could find it! The pool temp was perfect, cool and refreshing at first, then you instantly get used to it. The ocean was rough and the red flag was flown every day, so we were not able to swim in it, but we walked the beach and went in the ocean up to our knees every day. It's a decent stretch of beach, big enough for us to walk! The drinks were perfect, not too strong and not to watered down. We usually asked for name brand, but they seemed to use it if we didn't. Breakfast and lunch are buffets and they have tons of selections! Dinners are all al a carte and the portions are "gourmet size." The point is to order a multiple course meal: soup or salad, a few appetizers, an entree, then dessert. The waitstaff are terrific and will bend over backwards to ensure a pleasant meal. Our faves were the Mexican and Italian. Most places you're able to eat outside with the stars above-can't beat that! They hand out beepers if the restaurant is full, this mostly occurs at the 7:30pm time, but grab a drink and people-watch in the courtyard while you wait-what's the rush? The crowd is mostly older folks (50's), but we did see some possible honeymooners. Overall, we did not have one bad experience there and if I could offer one last tip (pun intended!) it would be to bring lots of singles for tipping! The staff works extremely hard and they truly deserve it and appreciate it. We used ~$50USD for tips and could probably have used more.
Other “nice-to-knows”
1. At the main entrance to the beach, there are 2 coolers: one with cold beer and one with cold water bottles.
2. There are little ground rock speakers lining the paths, playing music all day long-nice touch.
3. There are sunbathing iguanas along the rocks, so cool and very photogenic!
4. At the swim-up room pool area, the towel card policy is not enforced. You can grab 4 towels and not worry about it.
5. At the main pool, there are 2 popcorn machines with fresh popcorn every day. Good in between meal snack.
6. One night (Thursday), there was a carnival night, complete with games, cotton candy, balloons, and prizes. There was also outdoor dining and drinks with a mariachi band!
7. In the swim-up pool area, there are central computer rooms where you could hop in and get access to the Internet. We only used this once to check the forecast at home.
8. They’ll make you cappuccinos at breakfast if you’re not into tea or regular coffee-you just have to ask!
9. El Café was a nice hidden treasure to grab an expresso or a cappuccino mid-afternoon. There’s teas, fruit, and cookies too!
10. The restaurants are all non-smoking when you’re indoors, which makes the dinner much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SandN_TripLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
7.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,367 reviews
12 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,925 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,089 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
9,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range: $304 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing