We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch - Excellent Service - 5 Star Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I visited the Valentin Imperial Maya from July 12 - July 19. This was our 6th trip to all-inclusives in Mexico and our first to the V.I.M. We traveled with another couple and this was their 3rd trip to all-inclusives in Mexico. We were looking for a resort that was adult only due to our experiences at the other resorts with children. This resort is "beautiful" and the best we have vacationed at.
The beach is beautiful, very wide with plenty of beach lounger chairs for everyone. The Caribbean is aqua blue with 2 to 4 foot waves and very little sea weed. The pool is large with 2 pool swim up bars, one on the quiet, relaxed adult side the other on the "spring break/party side". We spent most of our time at the pool on the "spring break side" and met people from all over the United States. Lounger chairs at the pool were very scarce after 2:00 pm and pool rafts were always in use. Bring your own raft if you want to float in the pool in the after 2:00 pm. The bartenders work very hard at both pool bars and take some $1's and tip them, they earn it. If you don't want to go to a restaurant for lunch, at the pool between 11:30 and 2:30 there is a grill set up serving chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken wings and other foods depending on the day. The "Go" team had various activities going on at the pool on the "spring break" side during the mid afternoon.
We stayed in bulidling #1 and had a silver junior suite on the 3rd floor. Building #1 is located near the pool and lobby/restaurants and a short walk to the beach. We liked the location because of the closeness to everything. The room was large with a king size bed and very clean. We had towel animals with each evening's turn down service that was a very nice touch. The refrigerator was always stalked with beer, coke products, water and fruit juice.
We went to dinner everynight between 6:00 and 6:30 and never had to wait to be seated. We ate at all of the restaurants and the food and service was excellent. My wife has food allergies to mushrooms, shellfish and sea food and did not have a problem at any of the restaurants finding food on the menu that would not cause an allergic reaction. The managers of the restaurants went above and beyond with there service to accommadate her allergy issues. We ate breakfast at Le Marche each morning and the manager Alexjandro was very helpful and accommodating. Executive Chef Angel was also very hepful and accommodating during our stay. One evening we ate at the Japanese restaurant and made reservations for a table show, the meal and the show was excellent. All of our meals were the best we had, compared to the other resorts we had stayed at in Mexico and the service we top notch.
The bartenders at the bars were very effecient and work very hard and always thank you when yot tipped them. All of the bars have premimum alcohol but you must ask for it if you want it in you drink. Visit the piano bar and say "hola" to Antonio, he makes the best mojioto in Mexico.
Overall the Valentin Imperial Maya is a 5 star resort and we will be returning in the near future because of how we were treated - "top notch."

Room Tip: We stayed in bulidling #1 and had a silver junior suite on the 3rd floor. Building #1 is located ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear John K,

We are grateful for your positive review published on Trip Advisor, It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and we are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Reviews like yours, are the motivation to keep in the good job; we will pass all your inspiring comments to the staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,750 - 4,756 of 12,086 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our first trip to Mexico and we LOVED the VIM .The resort was great ,beach was well kept ,entertainment was very good, food was excellent and the staff were amazing. they really impressed us .We would definitely go back there

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fleetwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Fleetwood1,

We would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

The VIM staff will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Thank you once again; we hope to have the opportunity in hosting you again for a 2nd visit in the near future.

Receive our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This is probably the best all inclusive resort my family has ever frequented. The atmosphere is so relaxing with the landscaping and music playing. Large resort so you don't run into many people in the main areas apart from the pool and beach. The beach is nice and beach volleyball was very fun! The rooms are as pictured. There are multiple bars, my favorite was the one right by the beach entrance there was always a cool breeze, beautiful view and great music. The main beach entrance had a red flag the whole time we were there (no swimming) but if you keep walking down the beach there are multiple areas to swim and they didn't have the red flag. The breakfast buffet was very good with omelette and crepe stations. French and Italian restaurants were delicious, fine dining style. We went twice to each and every dish was one I would order again. Most restaurants don't require reservations but be prepared to wait at least 30 min if you show up past 7:00pm. The live music in Plaza Espana every night was always nice to listen to (except for the Elvis guy). I had a 50 min Swedish massage at the Spa which was professionally done and quite nice. Overall this was a wonderful resort that I would definitely stay at again, unlike other all inclusive places.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank yelz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear yelz05,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy you had a great vacation at VIM.

Please let us know when you will be back for your 2nd visit so we can make your next arrival more especial and enjoyable.

We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Receive our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have been going to Mexico, twice a year for the past 16 years. We have been to all-inclusives,from 4 to 5 star resorts. Riu palaces, Dreams,Secrets, El Dorado resorts, and Royal suites Palladium.It was our first time to the Valentin.This is not a 5 star resort. The check in process was too long. I believe it is a ploy to talk to you about upgrading,do the privilege perks and spend more money.Ridiculous. Our room was nice and spacious but when you leave for the day the air-condtioning shuts off. You come back to get ready for dinner, you are melting, waiting for your room to cool down. We are beach people and the beach at the north end is where you can swim. There are not enough beach chairs and palapas to accommodate everyone. We saw so many people trekking up and down the beach to look for chairs and palapas. The beach service was TERRIBLE ! There were 2-3 people to serve over 100 palapas ! Unbelievable !! We have stayed at resorts where there were 45 palapas and they had 6-8 beach servers to serve food and drinks. Not here ! There is not a beach bar or rest rooms on the north beach. You have to walk to the pool restroom and go to the beach bar, where the PRIVILEGE guests are. The sand is not the white, soft powder sand we are used to. It can get pretty hot and rough especially when you have to walk back and forth to the restroom and get a drink. Valentin needs to take a page from the Royal Suites Palladium, and have a beach bar with restrooms at the end of the north beach. They also need more servers. The restaurants were good. We especially enjoyed the French and Italian.We are all about the beach and until we know they have made changes we will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
8  Thank MoMexico4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guests from Keller, Texas

We are concerned to learn that your VIM experience did not fully meet your expectations. Kindly allow us to address your issues with all involved in order to prevent that such shortcomings as mentioned by you will not reoccur in the future .

Continuous improvements are always our main focus and we would still hope that eventually you will give us another opportunity to prove our true standards of service.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I booked this trip with Kathy at Beach Bum Vacations, and we would definitely recommend that others consider their services. We were initially considering a different resort, however Kathy recommended that we look into Valentin, and we have NO regrets! Upon arrival, we were greeted with cold towels and champagne, which really set the tone for the week. On our second day, Valentin hosted our wedding on the beach, and it was incredible, not to mention stress-free. Ana, the wedding coordinator, is on top of her game; everything went off without a hitch. The restaurants...all I can say is "Wow"! The massive breakfast & lunch buffets were top notch. In addition to the lunch buffets, we thoroughly enjoyed the French, Mexican, Steak/Seafood, Indonesian and Hibachi restaurants. These themed restaurants put many of our local options in Northwest Arkansas to shame - not only the food, but the level of service as well. Speaking of the service, everywhere we turned it seemed like there was someone there to ensure that we had an enjoyable time. From the waitstaff in the restaurants to the concierge up front to the bartenders to the cleaning staff, all very friendly and hospitable. I really could go on and on about this resort. The property is incredible and their entire staff are truly professionals. I could definitely see this resort on our list of places to visit again in the future! A+

Room Tip: Hibachi reservations start at 9 and they go quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Andrew D,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon/Wedding at our Valentin Imperial Maya. We know that our staff especially Ana will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya maybe to celebrate your first anniversary?

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Receive our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are a well-traveled couple in our mid-60s and have experienced over a dozen all-inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean and Mexico. Approximately half that number has been at adults-only resorts. This is the first repeat visit. We were there from 2-8 July 2014.
We arrived at the resort before noon. We knew about the 3 PM “room ready rule” which comes along with the territory. I did find it interesting that when I went up at 3:00 to get our room there were stacks of room check-in sheets with keys ready. That told me that ours and others were ready, maybe at 12:45, 1:30 or 2:10. I think a very nice touch for the front desk would be an electronic “status board” similar to the airport standby lists that show standby status, or at a pick up window that it shows the status of your order. Or how about those “restaurant buzzers” that let you know your table is ready? Any of those ideas would silence most negatives about the check-in frustration often voiced on TA. Use of these convenient electronic tools would be negated of course, if they continue to wait until 3:00 and then put everyone up which really wouldn’t change anything from the way business is done now. If properly used, it could alleviate a 3PM “free for all”. The 3PM “room ready rule” won’t stop us from visiting VIM again.

About 4 days before our arrival we sent an e-mail asking for ground floor and king bed. Both requests were accommodated. We were placed in building 5 in a corner room right across the “road” from Mar y Tierra Restaurant. We did have 2 minor maintenance items I wanted taken care of; neither was cleanliness related. A single phone call to the desk had those taken care of within an hour. I know they were caused by previous guests. Building 5 is convenient to the restaurant, steps from the quiet end of the giant pool, and close to the beach. It is a bit of walk from the other restaurants, shops, and lobby if you go by the road, but if one strolls by the giant pool, and by the gym, the distance is cut in half. Of course, the “golf carts” are always ready to take you anywhere within the resort if you need it.

Evening dress code was no problem. We knew about it. I brought 2 pair of long pants, some collared shirts, and slip on shoes. My wife brought capris and slacks. End of story.

The staff at Mar y Tierra was simply outstanding. After one morning breakfast there, Ricardo, the waiter, already had us “down pat”, with tea at the table, hot sauce, and my V8 juice. We were delighted to take breakfast there every day. The breakfast selection was amazing, and I availed myself of some of the Mexican dishes every morning. Guadalupe and Leslie at breakfast and lunch were wonderful as "front ladies" for Mar y Tierra.

We ate lunch every day, except one, at the poolside grill. We had taco, hamburger/hot dog, and chicken/rib lunches. I found that very convenient. My wife found the sauce for the tacos extremely spicy. So be wary of it if you don’t have “hot” taste buds. Besides the two outdoor evening buffet offerings, we had dinner at the Italian, Mexican, Japanese, and at the Mar y Tierra restaurants. We think the VIM food is really quite good for a resort. We ate the salads and drank wine offered with meals. I had no problems.

Every staff person we interfaced with was friendly. Language was never an issue; they all had some English, and I have some Spanish. My wife doesn’t speak or understand nearly as much Spanish as I do, and she was able to converse just fine. Even asking for stuff from our room attendant, Lourdes, was no problem. She was a gem.

Special mention of other exceptional people:
Felipe, waiter at the Japanese Restaurant who spoke such excellent English. We had a most wonderful time talking about his 14 years in the US.

Uriel and Russel, waiters at the Italian Restaurant were most helpful and attentive.

Adrianna at the pool who somehow remembered us.

Even though we didn’t go on any tours, Juan Carlos with Best Time Tours offered many suggestions and arranged transportation back to the airport.

We asked for no evening turn-down service, and that was honored, except for one evening. We tipped as we saw fit, but certainly didn’t feel pressured to tip.

FYI: At the giant pool on the side closest to building 5, there are two lines of poolside palm trees. Lounges by those keep you shaded on and off for most of the day. We were able to get those daily without playing the towel game. By being out there most mornings around 9:30, we had our pick.

We are not ones for taking in shows and staying up late. We saw Michael Jackson and thought it was okay, but we’re both not big fans. The show at the Mexican buffet was similar to some of what we saw at Xcaret Park our last visit here. It was nicely done. The buffet itself was great.

The only negative to our trip happened at departure. We were picked up at our room 50 minutes before departure to the airport. Our bags were dropped off the trolley in the drop off area 5 minutes later. We were assured they would be moved by the bell staff to where we picked up the transportation. The bell hop marked what time our transportation was on tape attached to the bag. I kept checking, and the baggage wasn’t moving. I said something to the person in charge with no luck. At the end of it all, our bags didn’t move until the transport was already there. The driver was kept waiting because of that. I also saw that happen to one other person who had to run to the bag drop-off area and bring his luggage back himself. I felt like we left VIM on a slightly negative note which shouldn’t have happened. So be sure to allow plenty of time before transportation to the airport arrives. Checkout itself was easy. (Ask the concierge about the Valentin Rewards Program. It’s free and costs you nothing. You earn points for each day of stay.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ehamblin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear RetiredNavy30,

We are grateful for your positive review published on Trip Advisor, It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and we are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service.

We find your bell boys experiences to be inexcusable and we can assure you this is not how our guests are usually greeted. We reviewed your comments with my Bell boys Staff immediately to avoid the manner in which this was conducted in the future.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean and tried many different brands including the large chain ones like sandals. This by far was one of our favs!!! Food was fabulous. Every restaurant was great except the steakhouse...it was so-so. We were there with two other couples. Just be aware if more than 2 for dinner it may take a while to get a table...but they will give you a pager and you can head to the bar for a cocktail so we didn't mind most nights. We loved the Mexican and the Indonesian restaurant. Italian was ok but nice atmosphere. Dinners tend to be a bit long if you order several courses, but they keep the drinks flowing. The waiter Carlos was fabulous!!! We missed most of the shows except a glimpse of the fire show because we tended to maximize our daytime and pool bar; therefore, we rarely ate before eight. However the entertainment staff was great. They also ran the daytime activities. Do the bike tour. It was fun, informative, and you learned about behind the scenes stuff!! It was not too long. Yoga was good and the grounds are so large you can jog for exercise too. The rooms were great, spacious, and clean. It had a little musty spell, but prob because it was so humid it took forever for the bathing suits to dry in the room. The pools were beautiful. The party pool had a spring break feel some days, other days it was calmer. The quiet pool was beautiful if you wanted a guaranteed quiet day. Bar service at pool could be slow if it was packed, but the bartenders were working hard. Beach was top notch!!! Just avoid the area where you are not suppose to swim because the coral will get in your skin and hurt!!! The spa was great!!! Try the fish spa, it was awesome!!!! The only complaint I have is that I left a new shirt in the room. Customer service was very prompt getting back to me and very polite, but they could not find my shirt. My mistake leaving it though.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LydiaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear LydiaVirginia,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community; many travelers would definitely make the decision to come when reading your review.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
8.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,952 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,045 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,338 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range: $282 - $1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing