We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not satisfied!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Lovely complex however service is below standard.... Catered for more Americans and based on tips! Basic room and served drinks in plastic glasses. Not what I expect for a five star resort... Pool area lovely and appealing to all..... Shame about the overall service and room standard

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank kirsty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Kirsty ,

On behalf of Valentin Imperial Maya, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this.

We have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding the Tips , your observations you have been brought to the attention of department ‘managers in order to confirm to all our staff that tipping is at our guest’s discretion and in no way our staff will ever ask for gratuity for their services.

We also have considered each and every comment mentioned regarding plastic glasses and we would like to confirm that as many hotels in this area , our resort is using plastic glasses at the beach and around the pool for a question of safety .Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

We thank you for your understanding and hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate you how wonderful a stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya can truly be .

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

5,117 - 5,123 of 12,256 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Well, after reading all the great reviews I was ready to see it for myself. If you have any hesitations about this place don't worry and book it. I have been to a lot of all inclusive places around the world and now I found my new favorite place. We received first class service everyday at the resort, The food is def. the best we had anywhere else. The French Rest. was our favorite but everyone of the places were great. The grounds are beautiful and they have people working around the clock making sure it is kept up and top notch. The beach was beautiful and the beach bar was a lot of fun. The Bartenders love the people and will serve you anything you want. If you want the top shelf liquor just ask for it. Well, that's it, we will def. be back, love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Steve32904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Steve from West Melbourne, Florida

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a such detailed review and we are definitely also grateful for choosing the Valentin for your vacations. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our food , most of our services and facilities and the friendliness of our staff.

Thank you for recommending our property and for considering our resort on a return visit to Mexico, please feel free to contact us. So we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After just two nights of being there, they stole my wife's iPad right out of our room. Room service had been calling to see if we wanted room service and we kept saying no, so we assumed no one would be in our room when we went down for dinner. When we came back, the bed was made with petals all over it and a cupcake for my wife's birthday. We had left the iPad on the bed, which was now made and the iPad was nowhere to be found. I called the front desk, and they sent 3 security guys in. They tore the room apart looking for the iPad, flipping over mattresses, going through everything in our suitcases, and under furniture. After doing so, they huddled together to talk and then told us that the maid had reported our room door was left open, so someone must have come in and taken it. I know our door was not left open and told them they were being shady but they said there was nothing they could do. What's the point of having security when they're as crooked as the theiving resort staff? That ruined the rest of our trip and we couldn't wait to go back home. This trip was our honeymoon and that iPad was an early birthday gift for my wife. I'm so disappointed in the way things turned out for us after reading all the great reviews for this place. Please don't give them your business. I wish we would never come here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank The_dish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guests from Evanston,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay at VIM.

We regret your dissatisfaction. As we mentioned while you were still at the hotel , you did unfortunetly not take full advantage of the complimentary safety deposit box in the room and according to our security procedures, there was a fully investigation followed with no employees resulted involved.

Rest assured that we have continued working in strengthen the controls to make our guests feel confident and relaxed in our premises.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just got back from a week at the Valentin Imperial Maya. The staff was great, the restaurant selection was very good, and the food was very good.

Special thanks to the Privilege Club staff Gerardo and Edgar for their awesome service. Other staff that did outstanding jobs: German (beach bar), Miguel (pool), Jorge (entertainment), and Asuncion (sushi guy).

The only improvement I would suggest is a better beer selection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear recent VIM Guests from Michigan,

Thank you for your positive comments published on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that the efforts and friendliness of our staff made a significant difference to your holiday enjoyment and your comments will be displayed within the hotel for all to see.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding our Beer selection with our B&F manager, in order to improve our beer choices in the future.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Wishing you all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just returned from eight days at VIM. We have been to the area 30 or so times staying at family resorts, then the last six years adult only resorts.
VIM is a nice resort, but we will not return. In saying this, we are not "mad" nor are we disputing times that others have enjoyed. It was simply not the quality of other resorts we have stayed at in the same price range nor did we feel sad to leave.
Resort overall: beautiful vegetation; however, it is not one where you can lie by the pool and see the ocean. Also, we had quite the rain, so the area held quite a bit of water which increased bugs tremendously--more on that later. It is very tropical around the pool though.
Check in: a 2....Not good. Waiting 40 minutes is not acceptable. Guests are excited and ready to proceed with their vacations. The champagne was nice, but just sitting and waiting is not okay.
Room: We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite. We are seldom in our room so we usually do not care greatly about the room. In saying that, this is more of a 3 star room. The arrangement is nice, good shower and tub, but the 'bedspread' was a 1-- Very dirty and snagged. A duvet cover would help a lot along with clean sheets and pillow cases. Add to this to five hangers, old tv, dirty balcony, and the sound issues--carts driving all night, the elevator is so loud--banging and screeching each time to wake you up. Needs repair. The guest noise is not the resort's fault. Yes...soap, wash clothes, and other items mentioned are unpredictable. Became kinda funny what would be done. We had no safe problems as mentioned and always felt our items were respected.
Food--I give this resort a four to five in this category. Most all inclusives do not offer the filet mignon, salmon, etc. quality we found here. Also, our service in the restaurants was outstanding--We ate at all but indonesian. Wine was never "pushed on us" as reported by others and house wine was nice. We do dress up, BUT I actually think that it should be relaxed a bit for men. Men would look nicer in business shorts and nice sandals than in jeans and old tennis shoes. Also, it should all be relaxed when the lobby is flooded and everyone is working on mopping the floor. Difficult to walk in nice shoes on wet tile. Saw plenty fall.
Room Service was outstanding. They have mastered GREAT service.. a five.
Bar Service--I hate to say this simply because it was so inconsistent... When I give it a 3, not all service was poor and some were a 1. We just had several rude bartenders who were doing us a favor by getting us a drink. We seldom got what we asked for whether it was beer, specific gin, or wine. Again, we started laughing and saying: What doyou think HE wants us to have? I also misunderstood that this resort offered light beer. They only offer Coors Light. We were sent some Tecate Light to our room after we asked about it and certainly appreciated it; however, I do not believe a resort of this caliber should only offer one light beer. Also, the beach bar ran out of
beer one day and three hours later did not have any. ????? While discussing the beach bar: They are staying open past five now. I had read some complaints on TA about this.
Entertainment was....okay. Not Great shows, not Great team, not Great music--in fact no music by the pool if weather is not good although there are speakers under the bar area.??? Kinda felt like church on those days. I like current music, but I was a bit surprised at some of the songs played by the pool. Look up Wild for the Night lyrics and the entertainments taff (not all) dancing and singing to it. Uncomfortable. Live music at night was better than most resorts though.
Beach--4... Normal beautiful beach. Rocky to right and limits walking and swimming is only reason it is not five. Good lifeguard and great Privilege staff who will help everyone--not just privilege. Nice guys period.
Internet sketchy but not so important when on vacation for us. For others it was huge issue.
Schedules were frustrating. I understand "Mexico time" but when something opens 40 minutes late, that is not okay whether it is a pool bar (asked for a coke light at 10:35 and told not yet) or a restaurant. Also, service should not only improve when management walks in. We were in Sports Bar and had walked up and gotten drinks the entire time which was no big deal. We had asked if they were having popcorntonigh t and got a rude "maybe" but when two 'managers" I assume walked in, things changed. Even the 2 entertainment staff quit eating and playing pool and were talking to guests! The 'managers' were there to change out bar stools and during that 20 minutes we got the best service EVER.
Again, we are not upset-- If we were mad, we would have talked to a manager while there. Jose (Joseal) will do anything for anyone and wants to provide the best customer experience if given the chance. So in no way am I saying "Don't Go." It just did not compare to The Royal, Live Aqua, and others we enjoyed more and found the employees to be much happier and willing to go the extra mile. Rooms much better, felt more "beachy", etc.
Lastly, remember you are in the jungle. We are always over prepared for this but with Deet, personal bug spray and spraying the room, we still got bit badly. Husband was at ER when we returned and still not in good shape. 11 bites, 5 very 'infected' and flesh is blistering and draining but being treated. Cannot see ankle bones. We got help from the lifeguard/medic right before leaving but caught plane to get home for treatment. Just take all you think you may need.
IF you have a trip scheduled, you will have a good time. Do not let us ruin your plans. We just like to share Our perspective and do so with the hopes that the resort will always improved and employees will offer better customer service where needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jjjday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear recent VIM Guests,

The VIM would like to thank you for spending some of your time commenting in trip advisor about your recent vacation with us.

At Valentin,we are all working hard to give our customers the best possible holiday.

We do apologise if your stay with us didn’t reach all your expectations. Your comments will encourage us to keep working hard to improve both our product and the quality of our service day by day.

We will pass all your comments to the Hotel manager & our staff which will be investigating your observations regarding the staff an d service attitude.

Please be sure that we will do our utmost to ensure all details are improved.

We hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

First time at VIM....... We booked Privledged. The staff of the entire VIM was top notch... Super Friendly.... Let me tell you, Edgar, Alexander, Alejandro., Ramone, and the little sweet hostess at Mar in AM. We love you and can't wait to see you again..... We slept in a Golden Suite and it was perfect.... BTW... Room service food is excellent....we also went on an excursion thru the resort at the barracuda... We had a great time on the turtle snorkeling and cave tour.... Thank you for our new friends Todd and Cantina from NC who taught us "u got mail"... Lol

Room Tip: Building 7 Great..... The pool cabanas the best... Service Great!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Brandi from Choctaw, Oklahoma ,

We really want to thank you for the positives comments you have published on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

We are pleased that you loved it here; We will share your positive comments with our staff (especially with Edgar, Alexander, Alejandro.and Ramon); it encourages them to continue working hard.

We are happy that you had a beautiful vacations and more so that you'll be back to stay with us again.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you don’t want to read the full review, here are key points to note:
1. There is no such thing as a pool or ocean view room. The gardens and foliage is too overgrown and high to be able to see anything. Only buildings 6, 7 & 8 all have lazy river pool views, which are the nicest.
2. Suntan lotion at the hotel is $45 USD each. Bring your own and bring extra.
3. Maid service comes twice a day – afternoon and evening turn down service.
4. Ocean beach is gorgeous. Beautiful white sand towards one end of the hotel. The other end is rocky by the ocean front rooms.
5. Dinner service is slow in a la carts. Takes 90 min for a complete meal with appetizer, main course and dessert.
6. Reserve Hibachi or tapiyani tables at 9am with the concierge. First come first served.
7. No need to reserve beach chairs at pool. Didn’t start getting busy until 11am to noon. There were always chairs available in the sun. Need to reserve chairs in shade.
8. Taxi to Playa Del Carmen is $30 USD each way. Take the Collectivo or local transit bus round trip for around $10 USD for two people.
9. Silver prices are 2 to 3x more than in Canada and USA. Be careful because a lot of it is silver plated even though it is stamped 925. Plus in Canada and USA most silver is Rhodium plated so it will not tarnish.
10. If you want good service, you will need to tip. $2 seemed to be the average tip.
11. There is no need to exchange your money. USD accepted everywhere. Most items have both USD Price and Pesos price.
12. Remember that you are in Mexico, a different country. Their interpretation of Canadian or USD foods are a bit different.
13. The resort was 95% full and didn't feel like it. It is quite large.

We had the Golden room, building #6, 3rd floor. Our room faced the lazy pool. We could also see the ocean through a break through the buildings. We could hear the ocean too. The best views are buildings 6, 7 & 8. All other rooms face thick foliage and garden. Even the pool side and beach front face foliage. It is so thick and high that you cannot see past it. Only the last two rooms in the last building on the top floor have beach front views. Therefore, there is really no such thing as a pool or beach view.

We had the golden room in building #6 with king size bed on 3rd floor. The room was very spacious and nice. The only thing that may bother some people is that both the shower and bidet/toilet had glass doors. We had to hang a towel on the handle of the toilet door in order to provide some privacy. King size beds are on 2nd and 3rd floors of buildings 6, 7 & 8. The room was extremely clean and very nice. It looked like it had been freshly painted.

The main pool does not start to get busy until 11am. We were there at 9am and it was empty. There were only about 4 others couples around the pool. There was only one day where all the beach chairs around the pool were taken but most were empty from people who had left their towels on them. On all other days, there were plenty of chairs in the sun. If you want chairs in the shade, you will have to reserve one before 11am.

The main pool became extremely warm, almost hot in the afternoon. It felt hotter than my tea!


The lazy river pool is much cleaner! There was a nasty film on the main pool whereas the lazy river pool was crystal clear all the time. The day that we left, there must have been a problem with the main pool filter because it was cloudy and you couldn't see the bottom. We avoided the main pool that day. We didn't want to get sick.

The lazy river isn't much of a lazy river. But it is a very nice pool and much less people. It does have it's own bar by building #7. It seemed like the only people who knew about the lazy river pool were those in buildings 6, 7 and 8. You have to go through one of the buildings to get there, whereas the main pool is very accessible from all directions.

The beach palpas were taken up quickly. We went to find one at 9:30am, and had to walk to the very end. If you want a palpa with chairs on the beach, you will need to go before 9am to get one closer to the bar.

Maid service comes twice a day, which was a big positive. Once during the afternoon and once during evening. The evening service will provide fresh towels and clean up the dirty ones, which was very nice. The evening maid will provide a little card that says what the weather will be tomorrow and a sheet on all the activities and goings on at the hotel for tomorrow. This is handy because you can plan where you want to eat and what you want to do during the day.

Service is provided once a day. You get bottled water, Coke, Coke Light (Same as Diet Coke), Sprite, Coors Light, soda water, orange juice and apple juice. You also get coffee for coffee maker and 2 small bags of Sabritas or Lay’s plain chips. We told the guy that we didn’t want any beer and they kept our fridge stocked with lots of pop instead.

Everyone we met was saying the same thing about the a la carte dinners. The key is to find the right dish in each restaurant, though the Mexican and Japanese were the favorites. Not everyone liked everything in each restaurant. We liked the Onion soup and Filet Mignon (Excellent and very tender - the best thing in whole resort) in the French, the mushroom risotto in the Italian, the beef kabob and chicken fajitas at Mexican and the Hibachi Tables at the Japanese. Note that service is VERY SLOW at the a la carte restaurants. If you order an appetizer, you will be there for 90 minutes. A lot of people were skipping the appetizer and desert and just ordering the main course.

You need to reserve the Hibachi table (tapiyani tables) the same day for the Japanese restaurant. You do this by seeing the concierge. There are concierges located in several of the buildings. The line up starts at 9am. It is first come first served. The hibachi tables start at 6pm and go every 20 minutes. We had a 7:40pm reservation and didn’t get seated until 8:10pm. Whereas when we had a 6:45 reservation, we were seated on time.

There is plenty of food and choices. The buffet near the beach has a slightly smaller selection than the one by all the restaurants closer to the lobby.

For breakfast there was made to order omelets and crepes, plenty of breads/pastries, waffles and all the toppings you can think of, bacon, scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with Mexican sausage, lots of fresh fruit, hot chocolate, oatmeal, sliced cheeses, sliced meats, yoghurt, V8 juice, orange juice, cactus juice, pineapple juice etc. There was something for everyone and even had a selection of gluten free breads.

For lunch there was make your own salads with assorted veggies, fresh fruits, hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, French fries, pasta bar, desserts, pastries, ice cream etc. Again, there was something for everyone.

Suntan lotion in the store at the hotel was $45 USD a bottle. Yes, that’s $45 USD. In Playa Del Carmen, it was $20 to $22 a bottle. Bring plenty of suntan lotion. If you accidentally leave it behind by the pool, they will throw it out.

Silver is very expensive in Cancun/Mayan Riviera. You will pay at least 2 to 3 times as much as it costs in Canada or USA. I can find non-tarnishing earrings coated with Rhodium for much less. Plus you are not guaranteed that it is actually silver. Some items are only silver plated and the silver has worn off.

I bought a ring off Ebay with blue fire opal inlay and tanzanite. The stones are lab created and the ring is sterling silver. I paid $35 USD for it and it included free shipping. In Playa Del Carmen, they wanted $150 USD for the exact same ring. They claimed it was real tanzanite and blue fire opal and said they would provide a certificate of authenticity. The certificate is not worth the paper it is written on. What are you going to do once you get home and find out it’s fake? Buy a ticket back to complain? You have no recourse like you do in Canada and the USA such as courts and Better Business Bureau etc. Be cautious buying any silver or any type of stone or gem. I was told by someone that many of the vendors buy their items from China and that it is silver plated.

There was a buffet dinner and show twice while we were there where men could wear shorts and dress casual for dinner. They had Mexican night and Caribbean night. At the a la carts, men must wear long pants and a collared shirt for dinner.

The beach was fabulous – nice white sand and soft. The beach was pretty much clear of seaweed. When there were lots of waves, there was some small pieces of seaweed floating in the water. The ocean/sea water temperature must have been about 85’F or so. It was a nice temperature. We had yellow and red flag days. The waves were fun to play in. Note that if you don’t want to lose your sunglasses, don’t take them into the ocean. We spent quite a bit of time looking for people’s lost sunglasses in the water. Ladies – do not wear tube type bathing suit tops. You will lose your top and spend all your time fixing your top so that you don’t expose yourself. Plus you will be pulling your bottoms from out from the crack of your butt! If you don’t want to get pounded by the waves, go out just beyond where they are crashing. You still get the waves but don’t get pounded. One minute the water will be by your hips and the next minute it will be over your head.

Tipping is not required in the resort. However, if you want service, you need to tip. We didn’t tip the waiters at breakfast and lunch and they never came around with coffee unless we chased them down. It also seemed like all the staff were expecting tips. They would kind of hang around for a few seconds after they attended to you, expecting you to tip them. I did notice that people who tipped around the pool got better service than those who didn’t. The only time they asked us if we wanted anything was when we first got there, and then in the early morning when it wasn’t busy and they had nothing to do.

If you take a taxi to Playa Del Carmen, it will cost you $30 USD one way or $60 for round trip. There is a shopping tour that the hotel provides. It goes twice a day and costs $18/person. What they don’t tell you is that there is a local bus called the Collectivo similar to our public transit system. You get it from the main road/highway. Take a golf cart out to the front gate by the main road. Cross the road to get the Collectivo to Playa Del Carmen. It takes about 20-30 min to get there. It only cost us $10 USD round trip for 2 people. We saved $50 USD by doing this. All you do is stand on the side by the road and it will pick you up. There are no bus stops. It’s wherever you want let off or on. The bus will go into Playa Del Carmen to their bus depot. You walk straight down the street about 4 blocks and you will hit 5th avenue, which is the main drag. The local bus is very safe. We have taken it many times. It is government run.

In the theater and out front by the water fountains, there are nightly shows such as Vegas show, Michael Jackson show, Fire show, Circus show etc. They are okay, nothing great, but something to watch.

There is also either a house band or singers in the square near the restaurants towards the lobby each night. A few nights a week, they have vendors that come in to sell their stuff. The most interesting vendor is a guy that takes $5 pesos and carves things into the gold centre part of the coin. He was asking $25 USD each but we bargained and got 3 for $45 USD.

There is no need to exchange your USD into Pesos. USD Is accepted everywhere. Items have both a USD and a Pesos price. We also used Canadian money. The going exchange rate was 13.5 pesos per USD and 12 pesos for Canadian dollar.

The sun is extremely hot. We found there were two colors; burnt and white. Those who were already tanned when they came down, got darker. However, those who were white when then arrived burnt and turned red. Make sure you apply suntan lotion often. Also, if you use the floating mats at the pool, be sure to reapply lotion. The mats will remove any lotion that you have on pressure point areas. I burnt something bad on my chest, shoulders and back.

There is a lot of walking to get anywhere. If you don’t like walking, this is not the resort for you. There are golf carts that can take you around the resort if you want, but they are not regularly scheduled. You have to flag one down or call for one.

The resort was 95% full when we were there. The resort did not feel full. It is very large. I would say 90% of the people were Americans, 2% were Canadian, 3% were European and the remaining were from Mexico or Spanish speaking countries.

My husband is an avid coffee drinker who loves Tim Horton's and he could not find a good coffee in the entire resort. Also, the cappuccino's were hit and miss. Mostly a miss. The resort needs to drastically improve it's coffee and train it's staff how to make a cappuccino.

This resort serves premium booze, not just the cheap stuff. You can get Johnny Walker, Jack Daniels, Crown Royal etc. I was surprised at the selection.

The resort is located 20 minutes from the Airport. We were the second to be dropped off (1st drop off was Dreams), so it only took 30 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport. The hotel grounds are impeccably groomed and beautiful. Very clean and well kept. We were the only Canadians on our plane to go to the resort. Most Canadians were going to Princess resorts.

Yes and no. This was our 8th trip to the Mayan. There are so many resorts now that we are going to try another hotel such as Excellence Riviera or perhaps Secrets (other Adult Only) on our next trip.

Room Tip: Building 6, 7 or 8 has the best view. All other buildings have garden views even if they are ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Blackbelt_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Blackbelt_girl,

Thank you very much for your full review including your observations. As you may know, comments from our guests are important for us because you let us know the exact elements in which we have to work on.

Looking forward to serve you again in the near future!

Truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
7.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,270 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,627 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,029 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,280 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range: $314 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing