We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 Year Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“15 Year Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

WOW, after nearly three months of planning, reading reviews and looking at pictures we finally decided where we were going. We are so incredibly thankful for the trip advisor reviews, photos and honesty that we read because everything was as stated.

For starters: we were looking for a five star resort that would take care of our every need. We were not looking for a resort filled with honeymooning night life. We wanted quality in the property, food, activities, as well as the cleanliness and the staff. We rate all of those things five star. We didn't have a want in the world once we got checked into our room. It was beautiful as described and shown in the Valentin's pictures and those found on TA from guests.

This was our first all inclusive resort and we feel we got every ounce of our money spent out of it. Every staff member we encountered was more than happy to assist us, make us a drink, seat us, wait on us and clean up our room. Everyone was grateful for your being at Valentin and even more thankful when they were tipped. More on that when I write my "tips".

We booked through Cheap Caribbean and do not have but one complaint. When we originally booked we budgeted for a Silver Suite because that's what we could comfortably afford, just a week later I got a bonus and wanted to upgrade to the Emerald Suite, who doesn't think that bathroom and the idea of being ocean front sounds amazing? We were unable to do any of that on the phone for the original difference we were quoted, the difference when I called was over the top. They stated that it would be best to make that upgrade with the resort and when we called them they wanted to wait until we checked in. SO - know what you want and can afford before reserving the room. Or you can't change it until you get to the resort and you're at the mercy of it being available.

That said, we also booked our transportation to the resort with CC via Olympus Tours, they were outstanding and worth every penny. We chose the private car with the champagne etc. Wonderful driver and met our expectations.

We did not book any excursions through CC or Olympus at the time of booking, we wanted to wait until we arrived, talk to people and see what they thought before making the decision. We ended up choosing Tulum Extreme which was booked through Olympus. It was $216 for both of us and included a guided tour of Tulum Mayan Ruins & market shopping, Rappelling & Ziplining in the jungle (we both have some fear of heights and were so excited to have conquered that) Cave snorkeling in the jungle (neat but a tad overrated because the cave was small, again, glad we had the experience) Ate authentic Mexican buffet lunch there, no complaints. Our guide Carlos aka "Yam" or sweet potato as he stated was GREAT! Even stopped and got special prescription lenses goggles for those with glasses to snorkel with. We left resort at 7:30 and returned around 3pm, well worth the experience to us. Safety was not in question at all.
It to me appeared that the cost of the excursions were much cheaper once at the resort through Olympus and not CC. Just an FYI.

Onto resort specific reviews.
Check in:
It was a breeze, with the exception of wanting to upgrade we were met with cool towels, given champagne and offered a seat while they one by one checked people in at a private desk. Very easy, we had upgrade credits so we went from silver to emerald for $175 after our $75 credit. That was worth it to us, will we do it again, maybe not because we know what that rooms like now, we may want a different experience next time. We were in building 13 room 13105 ground floor and it was fine, you can NOT see the ocean because the resort is lush with plants and trees everywhere. However, you can hear it and walk to it via a path between buildings in just a few steps. Emerald suites are all near the beach bar and the restaurant that serves Steak and Seafood, we loved that one. Buffet breakfast & lunch also available there.
ONLY DRAWBACK: It was frustrating to only have internet access while in the lobby, not that we wanted to be online all week but calling home for us was via Face Time and only through their internet in lobby. However, reality check, it's Mexico not USA so I predicted that ;)

Options:
After pondering the Privilege Package for weeks and determining we would add it there we changed our minds. The biggest concern which sounds silly was that they wouldn't have our brand of alcohol, they did on the regular package. After being there and knowing all that's included in the everyday inclusive, there's no real benefit if you don't care about a newspaper delivery every day. We had no problems making reservations as long as we did them in the morning of the day you wanted to eat.

Rooms:
Had read previous concerns about first floor rooms and bugs, as long as they aren't in excess, I'm not concerned. I live in the US and we have bugs too. Saw a couple spiders and teeny tiny ants but nothing that freaked us out.
We were on bottom floor Emerald in 13 and I didn't want that but it turned out just fine, AC worked well and our room was cleaned daily by housekeeping with nightly turn down service. We left $3 per day for her and a dollar or two in the mini bar if we needed it refilled, it's different people who do that.

Food:
Excellent, 7 places to choose from all great. However, we all have individualized tastes so what I may love you may hate. We live in Atlanta, GA and have a surplus of fine dining. What they had was great considering the mass of people they were feeding daily, were they as good or better than we have at home, no. But, for our six days we didn't miss a meal and were more than satisfied every time. The filet's at the resort in French and Steak house are amazing. Lunch buffets by the beach were the best, walk around them all before filling your plates, there's everything from Grilled burgers to fresh fish. TONS OF CHOICES.

Alcohol:
Great selections, I didn't care for the mixers as they all seemed over sweet etc. We drank Mojitos everywhere and they were excellent. The Superman frozen drink and Beer-rita were great too. Didn't care for the electric lemonade, it was fine thought because being that I didn't just pay for it, just order another. Cabernet Sav & Merlot were only reds to choose from, they were good.

Tips & Money/Pesos
We tipped everyone, that's just how we are. If you gave us a ride we tipped a dollar. If you made a drink we tipped a dollar per drink. We generally left a five at breakfast and lunch and ten at dinner. It's very nice so that's why we felt like doing that. We did however break down several hundred dollars prior to going into ones, fives and tens for that purpose. It's hard to always figure the pesos.
Generally speaking you could manage the pesos by thinking 10 to 1, so for every 10 pesos it's ABOUT 1 USD. The exchange changes and was 12.8 while we were there so if it was 500 pesos we would think on the lines of 50 USD and it would be a tad cheaper. The markets that come into the resort several times a week have Everything that the Playa & Cancun markets have, they will bargain with you as well. There are two hat are set up in the resort daily and have decent prices but don't bargain as well.

Size of Resort:
HUGE, yes it was but it was great because we walked off everything we ate or drank. Nothing that concerned us. didn't take more than about 5-7 minutes to go from the beach to the front lobby.

Random tips:
Swap your pool towels daily for new ones at one of two locations by the pool where dive instructions are given.
Make meal reservations in the morning.
Don't pay full price for anything in the markets, everything is the same everywhere and is made in mass quantities. Not any less attractive or wanted but they start high so offer what it's worth to YOU.
Don't let weather reports you read worry you, our trip days said 80% storms every day, it sprinkled only once on the last day.

We loved the resort, the people and the experience. Wouldn't trade it for the world and when and if we choose to go back to the Yucatan Peninsula we will definitely choose that resort.

Room Tip: Building 13 for Emerald or Silver 1 & 2, they are close. Personally, if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation and for such a special occasion as your Anniversary was. Your comments made us so happy and so proud to work in this little piece of Paradise.

Thank you for recommending Valentin Imperial Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,335
    2,388
    678
    217
    151
See reviews for
703
9,182
59
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We would recommend the Valentin Imperial Maya to anyone. The service from the moment you step foot on the property is impecable. The grounds are well kept, the food is great, the drinks are awesome and the staff are outstanding. We were there the week of September 21st with two other couples celebrating our wedding anniversaries and all of us agree that this is the best resort we have been to yet. Planning on going back next year, can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna44440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Donna,

Thank you for having chosen the Valentin Imperial maya for your recent vacation.We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing such a wonderful review.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our resort.

Please feel free to contact us.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards from VIM,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Bring our 18th time to Mexico, this was the best resort we've ever stayed at. From the service to the rooms to the grounds to the pool to the beach, everything was wonderful! All adult, bar service around the pool and at the beach was excellent. The restaurants were wonderful. No need to make reservations first-come ,
excellent room service- turn down service was awesome. Best resort in Mexico!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vcoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Vcoburn,

We cannot thank you enough for adding another great review to our list. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with the trip Advisor community and we are glad to know that we exceeded most of your expectations during your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have visited this beautiful resort twice. We can not say enough great things about this all inclusive resort. The grounds are beautiful. Drinks are delicious and the staff is very accommodating. We can not wait to go back to paradise!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear John O,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya. Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and I appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

We are happy to know that you had chance to enjoy some of our services and facilities and especially that you had a great vacation with us.

Please let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback, our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rico, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The service is what caught our eyes, just outstanding this includes everybody. Everywhere you go the staff will greet you with a smile and ask you if everything is ok or if you need something. We were here for 4 days and it went so fast because of the great time we had, wish we had stayed longer. The food was also excellent especially the buffet for breakfast, but all the places to eat were very good. Alway's something to do at this great place!

Room Tip: building 5 is close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Emilio M,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are happy you had a great vacation at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

As you may know, comments from our guests are important for us because you let us know the exact elements in which we have to work on.


It will be a truly pleasure have you here back in a very near future.

Wishing all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the last week of September for 4 nights in a Silver Jr Suite. I had emailed VIM prior to our arrival to request a room in building #2 on an upper floor and they delivered.

The resort is very nicely landscaped, however the layout is a little bizarre. Its a large resort and does require some walking, but didn't really bother us. The Silver suites are close to the restaurants near the lobby and not far from the pool. The beach area with the huts to lay under is a bit of a walk, but I think that is the case for all the buildings at this resort, Again bizarre lay out.

The Silver suite room was awesome. The jacuzzi was plenty big enough for two, the shower was very nice and the balconies were nice too even though they only overlooked jungle area. The bed was fine, some called it hard, but it was fine. The fridge was stocked everyday, I left a note asking for only Coors Light to be stocked and they accommodated my wish every day.

The service at the restaurants was awesome. Always friendly, very accommodating, and hard working. The bartenders weren't as friendly but they did make good drinks, except for the bartender at the little bar in the Plaza, he made me a Pina Colada and didn't put the coconut ingredient in and then another time forgot to put the sugar ingredient in my wifes Mojito. (And Yes I was tipping him each time) The beach waiters and waitresses were really good. They have a ton of drink orders to take and had to walk a long way to the bar to get them (again bizarre lay out) but they did it all day with a smile and I was rarely ever without a drink on the beach.

Restaurants, our favorite was the French, Filet Mignon and salmon were really good and the french onion soup was awesome, baked alaska was good too. We ate at the Hibachi one night, I found the chef to be more entertaining and engaging than the ones in the US, the food wasn't as high quality but its an all inclusive and that is to be expected. Also ate at the Steak and Seafood place, service was great, food was good, went for Ribeye and Tuna. My wifes favorite was the sushi bar, we sat there for dinner, I ordered off the Ginger menu and she ordered all the sushi she could eat. Breakfast we usually ate at the Mar y Tierra but went to Le Marche once, Le Marche is fancier and has a much better crepe station, but M y T was better for us, more laid back atmosphere and offered all the same things as La Marche. Lunch always went to M y T and it was good, had a different lunch every day.

We would usually go to the sports bar to hang out before dinner, they offer popcorn and a nice relaxed atmosphere, the Plaza has people selling their wares on some nights, they are OVERPRICED!!!!!! was offered 2 maracas for $10 (started at $20), got the same ones at the airport gift shop for $6. The band was very good and fun to dance too. Went to one show, the Fire Show, theres 30 mins of my life that I wont get back, it was amateur hour, one of the entertainers dropped his torch things more than 3 times.

The Beach Bar is nice with the swings and the swim up bars were fun to hang out at after laying on the beach all day. The bars are listed as closing at 5, but the pool bar would stay open til 5:30 sometimes and the beach bar was still serving at 6:30 the night we hung out there.

Ordered room service one night after we got back, the buffalo wings were really good!

The gym must have just gotten new equipment because it was nice and looked brand new.

We had a blast, VIM is a beautiful place and the staff was very friendly and hardworking, and If they offered another Groupon I would certainly buy it again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beantownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest from Boston,

Thank you very much for your review, It is very important for us to know that you had a great stay, our team is one of the most motivated as we love to know that our guests are having wonderful experiences. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the servers your comments have been brought to the F&B manager in order to going to take action where necessary.

Best regards and let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback; our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!!

Truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a great time in mexico, everything was awesome, we want to thank to Anabel at the front desk!!!
Since we got to the reception she checked us in into a nice room, she was very helpful and she take care of us in everything as we needed, unfortunately we could not say good bye to her because we check out early in the morning but thankyou twice anabel!!
we'll come back soon.
The hotel is very nice, the restaurants, the pool and the blue ocean is wonderful!!

Room Tip: we've been in 5118
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patitoaraoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear recent guest,

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya met your expectations!

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. We are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation. We have shared your comments with Anabel.

We are very happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel so do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

Email : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,826 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,502 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,398 reviews
10.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing