We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Another Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and i checked in on 26 may and checked out 02 june. This was our 1st visit and found this resort comparable to the Excellence Riviera Maya.The staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable, and the food is excellent. Rooms/grounds are very clean. Loved the music in the outdoor walkways, especially that it was local music not north american.

The tropical storm that hit on the 1st of June was disappointing but we had experienced Sandy in Cuba on the day of our wedding (Oct 2012) so this storm didn't seem that bad to us but certainly understand how awful it would be to individuals that don't travel frequently and why they would be terribly upset by the storm. It was apparent to us that the resort/staff took immediate action in order of priority to address the issues at hand. I'm not sure that they could have done any better.

All in all we had a good time, met some nice people and would definately recommned this resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Springdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear guest from Ottawa,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are happy you had a great vacation.

We would like to thank you also for confirming to the TA community how HARD THE EMPLOYEES had worked to get EVERYTHING up and running again during and after the storm on June 2nd.

Please let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback, our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,188 - 6,194 of 12,269 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I looked at several Adult Only resorts before booking the Valentin Imperial for my wife and I. Finally decided on the Valentin Imperial Maya, I am so glad we did!!

Here's a straight forward honest Review. We absolutely loved the resort and the people we met. Great Trip with no kids, we were able to recharge and relax. Will definitely come back for another vacation.

Also, Had the pleasure of releasing baby sea turtles back into the ocean 1 night (talk to the concierge to be notified when the babies hatch) they have a huge enclosure with thousands of sea turtle eggs they keep safe until they hatch then they release them at night back into the ocean to help more sea turtles make it to adulthood. Super Amazing Experience!!

Pros

1) Staff is great, everywhere you go the staff is friendly and helpful. We didn't have any attitude problems or huge delays in service for the entire week we were there. Even when we had a small issue the staff got it resolved quickly.

2) Food is Excellent. You don't need reservations at the restaurants (Except the Tepanyaki grill at the Japanese, but you can still sit in the regular restaurant and Sushi Bar without reservations). Tamansari (Indonesian Thai) & Ginger (Japanese) were our favorites. The Sushi bar at the Ginger was Really Really good. The other places were good, we didn't eat at the French or Mexican Restaurant. We ordered room service in the morning for Breakfast, they will bring you a good selection of food within about 30 minutes of ordering.

3) Activities were good. There was plenty to do at the resort, or you could find a quiet spot if you just wanted to relax. Lot's of space for either of those. We stayed on the beach a lot and played beach volleyball and swam in the ocean.

4) Overall the resort was not a big party place (some of the other resorts can get crazy) and my wife and I really enjoyed how peaceful it was throughout the resort. You could find some people that were a little crazier, but there are plenty of other places that were very chill.

5) Lots of Variety in the resort. multiple bars that have a completely different atmosphere. We checked out the sports bar, Piano Bar, and the Beach bars. All different but same great service. They also mix up the entertainment quite a bit and have different options at the same time in multiple spots, so you can find what suits you.

6) Beach was good. Big area and lot's of seating, so we never had a problem getting a Cabana and it never seemed too busy. Spent most of our time there.

7) Our room was Clean and comfortable, no problems sleeping in the King size bed.

Cons

1) Sometimes the solicitors on the beach got annoying. Constantly going back and forth selling their goods. Not super pushy, just constant.

2) Several nasty adult channels on the TV, was a little surprised when I was flipping through channels. Resort should turn them on for people who request it, not just put it on everyone's TV. I'm not a prude, just don't care for it.

That's about it, We had an incredible time of relaxation, got to meet some new people and eat some great food. I would Highly recommend the resort!!

Room Tip: If you absolutely want the King size bed, choose one of the room selections that only offers Kings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Eddie S,

We would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya.Reviews like yours, are the motivation to keep in the good job; we will pass all your inspiring comments to the staff .We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort.

Your feedback regarding the TV channels and the solicitors on the beach will be considered with our manager in order to ameliorate that service in the future.

Do not hesitate to let us know as soon as you are ready to return.

customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards from the VIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great and quite place!!
Everything was PERFECT: clean and spacious room, big pool with delicious drinks,everybody was smiling and polite, blue sea just beside our room, no animation at the pool on the side we were (peace, no music).
And what about the food: EXCELLENT. The buffet was great for breakfast and lunch. We tried 5 of the six "a la carte" restaurants and every meal we ate was a fabulous. Not a place to begin a diet!
We will surely go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Julie B,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

We appreciate your comments as they encourage us to do the utmost to improve our service. We wish to have the opportunity to host you and again in a near future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went for our honeymoon. The experience was out of this world ( we did not want to leave ) ! The hotel, the food, the service and the beach were absolutely perfect! If your looking for a oasis , Valentine Imperial Maya is the place too go :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear recent honeymooners ,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon at our Valentin Imperial Maya. We would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay .

Thank you once again; we hope to have the opportunity in hosting you again for a 2nd and 1st anniversary visit in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Receive our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just got back from our 3rd visit to the Valentin. This is our 14th year visiting the Riviera Maya and we go 2 x per year. We have stayed at several great resorts, Excellence, Secrets etc. But this is our favorite. We love the resort, the food and the staff. Close enough to the airport as well. The pools are huge and clean. The staff is excellent. Go visit Gilberto at the land and sea restaurant by the beach for breakfast and lunch. I have never been taken care of so well at an all inclusive.
The only slight negatives I can say is the rooms while impeccably clean, could use a little refresh. Our lampshade was rust spotted and the bed linens (spread and pillows) should get a new makeover. Nothing horrible but needed in the near future. I love my AC full strength. I did not find anywhere in the resort that I could find that kind of relief. The room was definitely bearable but I would love it 10 degrees cooler... No problems big enough for me to give a score lower than a 5.
I am booking a trip back in january. Can't wait..

Room Tip: Building 5 is our favorite. Basic suite in a great location if you like the ocean as well as the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tomkere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

We took good note of your observations from the room with the appropriate department in order to take the corrective measures and avoid situations, such as you described, in the future.

Please let us know as soon as possible when you will be back, so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It had been 2 years since our last trip at this resort. We could'nt wait to see how much the plants and flowers had grown. That is a good start, once you get past the secure gate to notice the beauty of the grounds. Employees' take a lot of pride in their job and it shows. Make sure to look on the rock piles, for the pretty iguanas, they are part of the welcoming committee, they make great pictures. Your are greeted by the bellmen, with a glass of champagne and clean cold cloth to cool and refresh youself. Meet couples from DC, NY, FL & LA and even Melbourne Australia, was their first time, and they said would not be their last. Rooms always spacious and clean, food and service great, activities galore, entertainment always fun, pools and beach access are easy to find and bartenders want to please you. If you have a special request, dial 0 for the concierge, or ask for Anna who is one of the supervisors' at the front desk. If Claudia still has her clipboard and asking how your stay could be any better, let her know. Don't forget, this resort is ECO- FRIENDLY.Even if you do not speak much spanish, smile, use a little sign language and the staff will do what they can to make you happy. Enjoy your stay, it will the easiest part of your trip.

Room Tip: Oceanfront or Pool view, both are great to relax and plan your day of activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seanicroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sean,

We are grateful for your positive review published on Trip Advisor, It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and we are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your stay two years ago at Valentin Imperial Maya.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our resort on your 2nd time.

Please feel free to contact us.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place! Great location, beautiful beach and was excellent for swimming or just frolicking in the water, we even saw some fish as we were playing in the ocean. food was alright (I'm from Southern California! Mexican food doesn't get any better than that) great place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MELLYMELL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Melly Mell,

Thank you for having chosen the Valentin Imperial Maya for your recent vacation. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing such a wonderful review.

We hope to see you again very soon at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Receive our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
7.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,282 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,659 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,044 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,305 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range: $320 - $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing