We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bang For The Buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Bang For The Buck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Third trip to the Riviera Maya, 1st time at the Valentin. My wife and I stayed from August 1st - 11th. What can we say we loved it and for the price you can double your vacation time sacrificing only a little compared to Iberostar Grand and Secrets Maroma. What sets this place apart from the rest is the impeccable service and lush grounds. Top shelf drinks and decent food available 24 hours a day. Just be sure to ask for top shelf. When in doubt press zero on the phone, ask and you shall receive. We are beach people and that's what we paid for. The sand was white and soft and the water was turquoise. The surf was calm for the most part which my wife enjoyed but I like BIGGER waves to play in. There are plenty of palapas on the beach. Only major complaint was the lack of Ventilation in the personal bathroom and all the public restrooms. Stick a fan in there please will ya! We spent absolutely no time in the pool because there is an ocean really close people! Plus the pool was warm, full of people drinking all day that never seemed to get out if you catch my drift and the ocean breeze doesn't quite permeate the surrounding lush vegetation. The pool was the largest I've seen and there was a quite and rowdy side. The lunch buffets could have a little better food but dinners were great! The resort is large but trust me long walks help when you are full of food and alcohol. Plus there are golf carts that will wisk you around. If you figure out how to turn one on and take it for a joy ride kudos to you. ;)

Tips for the room:

If your beach people like us stay in building 5. It's very close to the main pool/beach/bar/buffet area.
Leave a couple ones for the maid

Tips for the Beach:

Take your towels out by 9am to save yourself a good spot on the beach
Bring plenty of sunscreen, it's expensive in Mexico
Bring large bubba mugs. It will keep your drinks cold and save you trips to the bar and time waiting for more drinks.
Don't feed the angel fish in the water as there are larger barracuda and amberjacks hunting them. Very cool to watch!
Watch where your walking in the morning because the iguanas are out sunbathing.
Miguel and Elmer at the beach bar were awesome! Abelardo and Lizabeth on the beach went above and beyond!
Get your cigars from the 2 vendors on the beach.
Raul and Omar were great at the mar y tiera for breakfast/lunch!
Be sure to tip a few dollars here and there, they work really hard and really appreciate it!

Excursions:

Be sure to book any excursions with Sergio and Manuel at the dive shop, Barracuda, by the pool!
They offer better prices and a more personal experience rather than being herded on a huge buss with lots of people through one of the agencies in the front lobby.

We went swimming with whale sharks and it was the coolest thing I've ever done in my life!

If your lucky you may be able to help out with the sea turtle eggs at night, at no charge on the beach through the Valentin.

Food:

Be sure to sit at the sushi bar and order from the sushi chefs at ginger.
Order the Cochinita pibil at the Mexican restaurant. Best pork ever!
Ask the chef to grill up some fresh seafood at lunch get some tortillas, guac, pico and slasa and enjoy.
The French and Italian were the best.
Teresa at the Itailian restaurant was great!

Night time:

Fellas bring some pants
Bring lots of bug spray as the Mosquitos are ruthless and make sure you spray everywhere as they bite through thin clothes!
Take a midday nape to have some energy at night!

All in all great stay for the price. Again you will only gain a little for A LOT more money at the pricier resorts!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank Ahmad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ahmad,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services, it is thanks to communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to target areas of concern and take necessary measures.

We are glad that you liked our Beach, food, rooms, drinks, pools and the amiability of our staff(with a special mention for Miguel,Elmer,Abelardo,Lizbeth).

Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with a special attention and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

Email : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards from the VIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,092
    2,329
    669
    211
    149
See reviews for
672
8,953
56
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and the staff is so sweet! We went parasailing, held a monkey and fed angel fish. Really beautiful beach and property. Some of the food is gross. I thought the room service hot dog was gross until I tried the hamburger. The omlet bar is great and so is the food by the pool. Make sure to tip the staff even though its all inclusive, they deserve it. Drink a superman for me!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollydolly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Holly,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy you had a great vacation at VIM.

We hope that despite of this situation they afford us the opportunity to serve them again at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Warm regards from the VIM,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay! The food was fabulous. The service was great. The shows were entertaining. The hotel grounds were gorgeous and well maintained. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and also well maintained. I would consider myself as having very high standards having been in the service industry before myself. And was blown away by the value and services provided such as included 24/7 room sevice, included stocked mini bar, and finer liquor. The extras were superb, as in the banner on our door wishing us "Happy Anniversary", bottle of champagne in the room, and a free upgrade because the room catagory we had purchsed only had 2 double beds a available. Would definitely reccomend and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkmartiniolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear VIM guest from Michigan,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at the Valentin Imperial Maya. We are pleased to know that you had a very good aniversarry in our resort.

Every guest is special to us, this is why we try to establish an authentic relationship with our guests and find out about their preferences.

Thank you again, and hopefully see you again here at Valentin Imperial Maya.
Please do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon to Mexico. We stayed at the Valentin Imperial Maya, and this resort exceeded our expectations. I have traveled all over, and the Valentin is one of the nicest resorts I have ever been to. The food was great, the drinks were great, and the service was excellent. We especially loved German, the bartender at the swim up pool bar! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was gorgeous and very well kept! We got to release baby sea turtles one night, because there is a sea turtle habitat right by the resort! This was an amazing experience! The rooms were very cleaned and our room had a gorgeous view! We had such an amazing time, and we talked to many other couples who also said this resort was one of the best resorts they had been to! I would highly recommend the Valentin to anyone! My husband and I hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building Number 3, and we thought this building was a great location. Close to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BaSele10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear recent honeymooners,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon at our Valentin Imperial Maya. We know that our staff (especially German) will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya maybe to celebrate your first anniversary?

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently got back from our honeymoon and the resort was amazing. There were many options for meals and drinks. The food overall was good, we did go back to the same resturants a few nights because we loved the food. Our room were very nice, we had upgraded to the Emerald Suites which had a full size jacuzzi and was close to the beach and pool. The pool area is beautiful and has two big swin up bars and is a very large pool area and doesn't get crowded at all. All the staff were very friendly. We were a little upset because we had signed up as we were told to release the sea turtles but were never called. We then found out the day before we left that anyone could just to the beach at the set time and they did that every night. Also the beer isn't served cold (which we beileve was just their culture) and they don't give you wash towels everyday (will need to ask for them). Overall the grounds are amazing and the walk to and from your room to the resturants isn't bad, and they have carts driving around that will stop and take you to where you need to go. It was a hassle to use the internet as there is only wi-fi in the lobby. They do offer a cord to use in the room if you bring your computer, but we only had our iPad so we had to make special trips to use the internet. There are so many more positive things about the resort the small incoviences are nothing. We are already looking at going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Lindsey A,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community; it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our resort , our staff and some of our services and facilities.

The observations that you mentioned regarding the cold beer have been brought to the attention of the management in order to improve it for you and for future guests.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for the 2nd time to spoil you and make you feel at home again.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came to the VIM to celebrate my 60th birthday and we were not disappointed! Our last two stays, we paid to stay in the Emerald Suites and were placed in Buildings 13 and 14 on the second floor with a view of the ocean. We LOVED these rooms! This time we just took the deluxe junior suite and saved about $500. We were placed in Building 5, which is right close to Buildings 13 and 14 and right beside the breakfast/lunch outdoor restaurant. We spend the day out on the beach down at the end of the property by Building 9 and so it was a walk - but with all the good food and drinks - you need to walk a LOT to keep off the pounds! The difference in the nicer rooms was that you only have one sink in the bathroom - having two sinks in the Emerald Suites was nice! Also, there is only a glass door in the bathroom leading in to the bathroom stall with the commode so if you want privacy - book a nicer room! The jacuzzi is not as large or as nice either.
We didn't get any turn down service 4 of the 7 nights that we were there. The maid cleaned in the morning the first day, but the other days, it was later in the afternoon before our room was cleaned. The weather was beautiful even with a few days of sprinkles - they were usually at night. We saw where several sea turtles came in an and laid their eggs - that was awesome! The Grey Goose vodka poured freely this time - none of the bars ran out of it like the last two stays!
Overall, we LOVE this resort and hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Always choose the highest floor if you don't want folks coming in in th middle of the night - sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Palmtreelady08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear repeat guest from Carolina del Sur,

We are grateful for your positive review published on Trip Advisor and your loyalty for the Valentin Imperial Maya, we are honored to know that your enthusiasm for our Hotel and service has not changed.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for the 4th time to spoil you and make you feel at home again.

Please contact us prior to your next visit so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

email : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlion, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

we have stayed at several locations in mexico and in Dominican republic always all exclusive and valentin by far was the best location, food, service and amenities. we couldn't believe the service and overall quality of the hotel. we stayed the week of 8/4 to 8/10 the weather was great a few showers.

the hotel is awesome it is spread out a bit and built into the mangrove forest, which we think gave it a much more private feel, the grounds are kept immaculate including the pools and beach, they actually rake and sift the sand each morning and the water was great for swimming I was in the water more this year than all our trips combined. we did notice that there were no floats provided luckily we had brought our own as suggested. swimway spring floats papasan style were awesome
we had a deluxe junior which was huge and had a huge balcony (building 3) it was cleaned every day and anything we needed including a clock for me was provided. it was our 14th ann. which I didn't mention on the reservation but they still set us up with champagne, cake and a beautiful towel animal display.

the food was great the breakfast buffet was always fresh and had a large variety, lunch buffet was varied enough you didn't get tired of it and was so much better than any other A.I. we have ever been at. the evening meals we had were Indonesian twice (wife loved the pad thai) French, steak house, tapen yaki one night (awesome show and food) and Italian. the Italian was our least favorite but I would go back and order something different. we tried many different items that we would never had otherwise, even got the wife to try squid which she liked!

the bars were plentiful and always had happy tenders that would make anything you asked even if you had to explain it. the top shelf booze is there and yes you do have to ask for it but don't you do the same thing at the local bar? J.D. and ginger ale , grey goose martini etc... they even had infused tequilas my favorite was the anise which I am trying to duplicate with Jack Daniels.

the entertainment was good though it was very loud for the small area that they had it in in fact so loud we left early several nights. this would be the one downside to the trip hopefully they will lower the volume level a few notches by our next trip. the shows and buffets set up on the Caribbean night and the Mexican night were great.

Room Tip: building 3 is centrally located and not to far of a walk to anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phrank-ritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear recent guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, it is thanks to our guests' contribution, suggestions and comments that have the opportunity to target areas of concern and take necessary measures.

Thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation and for such a special occasion as your Anniversary was.

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya met most of your expectations and hope to be able to host you many more times in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
8.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,643 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
11.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,009 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing