We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were there in December for our Anniversary. We had a swim out room which we enjoyed. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The food was very good. We had room service our first night and it arrived in a timely fashion. I can't say it was fantastic, but when you arrive late and are hungry, it filled the spot. Our room was clean and was cleaned everyday. We had a problem with lack of towels, but we called and they were there in minutes. I loved the candy they put in the refrig each night. We have been to several other all-inclusive's in the Riviera Maya and so far this is our favorite. I would love to go back again.

Room Tip: I liked the swim out room, but don't feel it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care - JV at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest from Colorado,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are happy you had a great vacation at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon at Valentin Imperial Maya.

We are happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

Email : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,269
    2,364
    677
    215
    150
See reviews for
698
9,111
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Absolutely amazing resort & service despite the Mosquitos but you have to consider the location. I would come back again, would LOVE to take my sons but it's an adult resort. I recommend VIP exclusive & SUITE upgrade! YOLO!

Room Tip: Be prepared for the Mosquitos (skin so soft, baby powder or Mosquitos spray) otherwise amazing resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pretty_lady65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care -JV at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest from Charlotte,

Thank you for having chosen the Valentin Imperial Maya for your recent vacation. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing such a wonderful review.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our resort.

Please feel free to contact us.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards from VIM,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from our second trip to VIM. Our first trip was last July and this one was during the week of July 21. After our first stay we couldn't wait to get back We raved about VIM and how great it was. The resort is still outstanding but not as good as it once was. The biggest disappointment is that they no longer serve Sushi at Don Miquels. In the past the served Sushi there before and after dinner it was a great place to hang out have some drinks and great sushi prepared right before you by the outstanding sushi chef. This made the Valentin a 5 star resort. With this gone it was really missed.
Second The 5 star service is gone. The wait staff did not go above and beyond like they did in the past,
Also the maid service was a hit or miss. We had turn down service only twice during our stay, And maid service only four of the seven days. Very odd. And that was after tipping the maid $20 bucks the first day. The mini bar was only refilled a few days of the stay too. Not sure why as I tipped him too. The best service we got was from Veronica at the golden swim up bar. Veronica is what the VIM is all about. Veronica went above and beyond each day. Greeting us by our names Bringing our drinks to us in the pool. Always had a smile and really seemed happy to see us. The Valentin Imperial Maya should be extremely proud of Veronica.

Oh one more thing we noticed . The top shelf booze is still there but you have to ask for it. Their first choice this time around was the house brand unless you asked. Which meant that all the "fun" drinks, Like the Mudslide, Superman. Hulk, ETC. where made with cheap booze. Not a big deal but defiantly noticed.
Overall the VIM is still a great place at a great value You can't beat their beach and the pools but the changes they made are in the wrong direction.

Tony R -

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Tony from South Amboy, Nueva Jersey

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel team. We take great pride in the commitment of the team members such as Veronica.

Regarding your not so positive comments, we have taken not of those as to share with the correspondent departments; be reassured that all comments are taken into consideration and are used to improve the guest experience, if needed be. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay.

We assure you that your 2° experience is not a typical one at the VIM and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again so that we may accommodate you with the quality service and stay you expect from us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed enjoyed my stay at the Resort. It is truly a beautiful resort and the beach is breathtaking. I found the room to be clean for the most part. One main issue was the shortage of face clothes. The house keeping never had any when needed. They can also improve in spraying for the many insects that can make their way into your room on any given occasion. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. The Room Service was my favorite part because the chicken fajitas were so good. The prices were decent for everything that is included. Overall Great vacation for me.!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was fine until we checked-out and left our bags at the bellhop. When we returned 1 hour later to leave for the airport they could not locate the bags. We were led into a room where it was clear our bags, labeled with our room number, had been moved to a shelf for a different building. We didn’t think to check the contents but noticed when we got home that we’d been pilfered! One bag was run through evidenced by sunglasses and razor removed from their protective cases and all the contents moved around. My Garmin Forerunner and Jaybird Bluebuds X were taken. If you stay here – keep valuable items protected. Our main concern is the response from hotel staff when I called to alert them to the issue. All responses from the Bell staff and Customer Service are that they will do nothing since we did not report it before leaving the hotel. I asked to speak to the hotel manager and was told “he is in a meeting”.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Dan from San Jose, California,

Thank your posting your comment on Trip Advisor and an apology for the situation during the check out at the resort. The Safety and wellbeing of our Guests is our highest priority. The hotel takes all measures to ensure that our guests, and their belongings, are well taken care of, providing a superior vacation experience.

When a report of a theft / missing belongings is received, a detailed investigation is completed by Management and the Security Manager. As a procedure the Hotel needs 24 hours to follow up on the report filled by the guest in order to interview all staff involved. Unfortunately in your situation it was not reported.

After receiving your call on Sunday afternoon, we followed up with our security department and they interviewed the bell boy that took your luggage down to the lobby; he mentioned he never had access to your belongings inside.

Because you did not check the contents of your bag within the resort and because after the investigation, there is no evidence that the bell boy took the personal belongings from your bag. We hope you realize that many people had access to your bag between the Check out in our resort and when you got back home, especially at the airport.

Again an apology from all our staff but we would also like to mention that anyone can freely express their opinions, which can sometime cause prejudice to the image of an established company, more even so when some of those comments can be distorted and thus can make one responsible of an event which is far from being under one's control.

We assure you that your experience is not a typical one at this hotel and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again so that we may accommodate you with the quality service and stay you expect from us.

We are at your service in case additional information is needed: customercare@valentinmaya.com

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jones, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an amazing time! This was my husband and I's first trip to Mexico. The beach was beautiful and very relaxing. The grounds were clean an the food was delicious! We are hoping to go back again.

Our only complaint were the bar on the beach being so busy in the afternoon or evening it was hard to get a drink while enjoying the evening breeze in our lounge chairs.

Room Tip: We had a regular room in Building 4. It was a great central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaylaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear recent VIM Guests from Jones, Oklahoma

Thank you for the very positive way in which you reviewed our hotel. Our staff truly strives to exceed guests' expectations and provide extraordinary service. We are always happy to hear that we have achieved that goal.

The inconvenience that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our Bar management; we will work in this matter to avoid any similar circumstance in the future.

We are very excited to welcome you back in the future, so please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival .

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Thanks again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband & I spent 5 fantastic days at the Valentin over Spring Break - our only regret - we should have stayed longer. This is an adults only all inclusive. We had a golden swim up room. Everything was excptional. Since I am a travel agent - I really researched the various properties - and found the perfect one for us. I wrote to the concierge prior to our arrival - and he met us when we arrived. We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary - and they decorated our r oom/ bed with rose petals and champagne. Everything was delightful.......we never wanted to leave. You can have quiet relaxing time by the golden lazy river pools or lively action and music in the big pool. The grounds are amazing! Loved seeing the wildlife & coti's about the property. The food was outstanding....the only slight bump was my husbands fins at the seafood restaurant. Bar service and beverages were awesome. ( my favorite was the dirty monkey - my husband loved all the different tequila's) the beach was BEAUTIFUL! Do not hesitate to book the Valentin.......we are going back next year and taking friends!

Room Tip: Emerald loosest to beach with guaranteed king rooms and nice jacuzzi ( most are not ov due to dunes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care - JV at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest from, Carolina del norte,

We really want to thank you for the positive impressions you have published about your recent stay at our resort; we are sure this has helped many travelers from Trip advisor community to confirm that our Valentin Imperial Maya Resort is the perfect hotel for their vacation.

Please let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback, our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,764 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,046 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,036 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing