We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at the resort from 5/3 to 5/9/13. We went thru Vacationista.com to book the trip, getting a great price on a Jr. Suite and included a $100 spa credit. Went with Cancun Shuttle to the resort from the airport. Recommended over the resort's offer of transportation (less than half price). No issues during the quick and easy check-in, offered a half price upgrade on an ocean view room, which we declined. Room was very nice and spacious with the two person jacuzzi tub (which took forever to fill due to low water pressure), fully stocked fridge and the usual animal type towel art on the bed. TV has some "surprises" on three channels, be prepared! Very clean room and stayed that way throughout the week.
The property is very large and spread out. Lots of walking, which we found enjoyable, since the grounds are immaculate.
The food was excellent. We we able to visit the French, Mexican, Italian and the Lobster Pot twice, We also had a great Mexican buffet at the theater one night. Every restaurant was incredible, food and service were excellent at each. The French (L'Alsace) was our favorite. Baked Alaska flamed at tableside was first rate. Breakfasts and lunches were all really good as the buffets had just about anything you would want. Service was great also. Restaurants were as good as any I have been to in the states.
Both pools are huge and very clean. The party pool was a lot of fun and had the music and games going all day. The quiet pool (behind building 7) is more of a lazy river type and we spent little time there as it felt like a library both days we went. If you want to nap at poolside, head to this one.
The beach was very spacious and had lots of spots to lay out, shaded and unshaded. Sugary white sand and extremely clean. We didn't take in any of the water sport activities at the beach, but it looked like they had a great selection of things to do in the water.
Entertainment was good. Saw four shows, the Mayan Fire Show at the beach, Elvis, Michael Jackson (both at the theater) and a Mexican show. Although I am not a big Elvis fan, it was a great show, as "Elvis" was really a dead ringer for the King. Mexican show was my favorite, very good musicians and audience participation.
The bars were all very good at making drinks and having a good amount of liquor in them. I was not impressed with the bar at the outdoor plaza. Mojitos were terrible there, along with a few other drinks, great at all others. The best bar, in my opinion, was the bar closest to the area where the golf carts pick up to shuttle to rooms. Not sure of the name, but you can get online there and there are comfortable chairs and sofas nearby. We didn't get to the cigar or sports bar, although we were able to enjoy a cigar in most areas. All the Pool bars and poolside service was awesome. Same for the beach bar.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Some of the hardest working people I have seen at a resort. Really enjoyed speaking with some of the staff. They really seem to enjoy working there and it shows with the level of service.

The resort has only one thing that stood out as a negative:

The Gym. Very, very small based on the size of the property. A couple of weight machines, a rack of free weights, some bikes, two treadmills and two ellipticals. Place was packed every day I went. Need an expansion to to make it a five star fitness center, equal to the resort.

Overall, the resort is a great value. We enjoyed every minute.
This was our third trip to Cancun/Rivera Maya and it was the best. We have a new favorite place in Mexico.

Room Tip: We were in Bldg 1 closest to the main buildings. Excellent spot, pretty quiet and room 106 backed up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madhungarian_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear recent VIM guests from north Carolina

Thank you very much for your review, It is very important for us to know that you had a great stay, our team is one of the most motivated as we love to know that our guests are having wonderful experiences. Thank you also for appreciated the efforts and job of the staff, we will pass all your inspiring comments to them.

We also have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding the gym. We make you aware that the information you have provided has been forwarded with our executive team and we would like to confirm that we already planned upgrade the gym this summer.

We will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,405
    2,418
    683
    219
    153
See reviews for
718
9,259
61
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the VIM from April 17-24th and enjoyed it immensely. We stayed in building 2 which was centrally located near the pool and the main buildings (lobby, plaza, most of the restaurants/bars). Our room was large and clean, and perfect for couples. We awoke most days between 7 and 8, ventured down to the pool or beach to get shaded chairs, and then walked over to Le Marche for breakfast. The breakfasts were spectacular, definitely our favorite meal of each day. The first few days we sat around the pool in the covered beach chairs near where the action was. By the end of the trip, we had migrated to the quieter side of the pool to simply relax. Point is, the pool is large enough so you can party if you want, or if you want some r&r you can get that as well at the other side.

We especially enjoyed the beach and the hut-covered beach chairs there. There are servers to get you drinks and they walk by often. The sand and water are perfection, just make sure to wear your sandals on the pathways between the beach and pool area because the sand is extremely hot.

The lunches were all themed at either Mar y Tierra or Le Marche, with many lunch staples available all the time. We usually lunched at the restaurant on the beach to take advantage of the breeze/view.

Dinners were generally pretty good. Our favorite spots for dinner were Mar y Tierra and L'Olivo, the Italian place. We tried every restaurant while we were there and were pleased with the service and food, save for the French restaurant (food was plain as was the decor). Others we spoke to loved the French restaurant so it could just be us.

After dinner consists of partying and dancing in the plaza or playing pool etc. in the sports bar. We shut it down by 11 most nights although a few of the nights we stayed out late. It was just right.

My recommendations: Bring sunscreen, and lots of it. I got torched and I had 30 on the whole time. Also, bring 1 dollar bills to tip. I brought $100 in ones and it wasn't enough. We had to get change, which I heard can be tough although it wasn't for us.

Also, do the snorkeling trip. It was easy, cheap, and a good time. It's right there at the dive shop near the pool. Plus it got us off the resort for a few hours.

Overall I would highly recommend the VIM. The staff is unfailingly nice and accommodating. I would return to the VIM at some point in the future, but I usually like to mix up my vacations to different places. So perhaps years down the line we will return and I'm sure we will enjoy it just as much as we did this past time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Stephen from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

In the name of all the Valentin Imperial Maya, we want express our gratitude for contribute with this amazing review.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed so much the time spent at our hotel. Thanks for appreciated the efforts and job of the staff, we will pass all your inspiring comments to them.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My significant other and I just returned from Valentin from a 5 day stay. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff (EVERY ONE OF THEM) made us feel like royalty...We never met an employee that didn't have a smile on their face and greeted you like they personally knew you...That is one aspect that made this resort stand out from others we have been to. At check in, they show you all the room types and offer you an upgrade to a better type room if you want to change. We upgrade from jr. deluxe building one, to a Golden suite, building 7....the Goldens are at the "lazy river pool" which is much much quieter and laid back than the main pool....but you can use either...The upgrade was offered at 1/2 price, so we took it..I don't know if there is a bad room at the resort...They all had their advantages and were all not a bad walk anywhere...and if you don't want to walk, pick up the phone and dial 0 and they will come pick you up and take you where you want to go...in a golf cart....simple as that!

About the food....We didn't have anything that wasn't above amazing!! I would say that the food was the best at any resort that I have ever been to, and we go 6 times a year...If you want hamburgers and pizza....this is not the place for you....I am talking 5 star dining....any several restaurants to choose from...no reservations required, but there is a dress code at each...

Being adult only is the reason we chose this resort...but there were some adults that I question their adultness. But as long as they don't bother us, let them have their fun...

We like going to different places, but this would be a resort that I would consider visiting again...It is BEAUTIFUL!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great...I would stay at any of them and have fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cdforsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear recent VIM guests from Gadsden, Alabama

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya met your expectations !

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. We are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

Thank you for recommending Valentin Imperial Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Warm regards from VIM,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This resort hotel was wonderful. Booked through Apple Vacations. All inclusive (meals, drinks, airfare, and resort) meant we worried about nothing. All the staff were extremely pleasant and eager to help. There are several restaurants within the resort that serve meals through out the day so finding something to eat is no problem and room service is available 24 hrs a day. The rooms are beautiful and cleaned everyday.The grounds, buildings, beach, and pools are gorgeous (and swim up bars are real nice too). The resort hosts activites through out the day, has people on staff that can arrange an outing for you and taxi service to local towns for shopping and site seeing. This was truly the best vacation I've had and I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Building 5 is at the pool, very close to the main plaza and closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Cynthia from Rushville, Illinois

Thank you very much for your gracious comments. We are glad that you liked our grounds, rooms, beach, pools and our host activities.

We are very happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel so please let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback, our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Valentin for 6 nights and loved it. The staff was superb with their hospitality. We would like to thank Marysol and Erbye at the breakfast buffet, they made our mornings exceptional. The housekepping was the best we have encountered on our stays at other places. The beach at the resort was our favorite place. Soft white sand, beautiful turqoise water that had just the right amount of waves. We did not have a problem with a lack of chairs. The only thing that dissapointed us a little was some of the restaraunt food but the service was always good so we couldn't hold it against them. You must get the crem brule at the L'alace, we had it 3 times it was so good. It is difficult to find your way around at first cause the resort is quite large, but the grounds are so beautiful we enjoyed just walking around in circles for a while. We also recommend the Mayan show and the Fire show on the beach. The performers were dedicated to their craft and really amazed us. We would definitely return to the Valentin and hope to in the future.

Room Tip: We thought our building #2 was quite convient to everything and didnt have a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Jason from Ellicott City, Maryland

Thank you for having chosen the Valentin Imperial Maya for your recent vacation. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing such a wonderful review.

We took also good note of your observations regarding our restaurants with our F&B manager in order to take the appropriate measures in the future.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our resort.

Please feel free to contact us before your next arrival..

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards from VIM,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at VIM. We paid for an upgrade to an Imperial Suite which included the Privledge Package. It was well worth it for us. We loved our beach and pool palapas and we enjoyed having lobster several times. Our room was beautiful and it was exactly what we needed. I highly recommend the resort!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtisandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Curtis & Christine from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are happy you had a great vacation at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited this incredible resort from May 1st-8th. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and it was truly the most memorable vacation we have ever had. This amazing place exceeded our expectations in every way. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The overall feel of the resort is very tranquil. We found ourselves very relaxed right from the start.
We found the food to be very good. The quality of food was very impressive. The a la carte restaurants were a nice touch for the dinner experience. We ate at the French restaurant – amazing filet mignon and our waiter Angel was fantastic. We also ate at the Indonesian/Thai which was very good. Our favorite was Ginger - the Japanese restaurant. We loved it so much we ate there two nights!
The pool was huge and very nice. The beach is huge and absolutely gorgeous.
The staff is the icing on the cake at this place. The level of customer service was absolutely outstanding everywhere we went. Guest satisfaction is definitely a priority here.
We like to experience different resorts in the Playa Del Carmen area but this place made both of us change our mind - we would revisit this paradise in a heartbeat…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Jodi from Minneapolis,

Thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation and for such a special occasion as your Anniversary was. Your comments made us so happy and so proud to work in this little piece of Paradise.

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya met your expectations and hope to be able to host you many more times in the future.

Please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit at : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,883 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,209 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,508 reviews
10.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing