We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week south of Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Apex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful week south of Cancun”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved the resort overall. The staff was wonderful. The food was very good. The location and grounds were great.
The staff really made the week very nice and truly loved their jobs.
Our only complaint was the room upkeep and the quality of furnishings. The maid service was below par and we received turn down service only two of the six nights.
All said. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emptynestersnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guests from North Carolina,

We really appreciate you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

We are very happy to know that the efforts and friendliness of our staff made a significant difference to your holiday enjoyment and your comments will be displayed within the hotel for all to see.

On the other hand we are very disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations with our housekeeping department and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have already taken the corrective action with our maid supervisor in order to solve the problem and reduce the opportunity for these mistakes to reoccur.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit at the valentin imperial maya resort.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,184
    2,345
    674
    213
    149
See reviews for
684
9,033
56
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful week at the VIM and had a wonderful time.

We upgraded to the privilege package and was well worth it! The 2 keys advantages that we loved we the reserved cabana beds at the beach or pool and no waiting at the restaurants.
The breakfasts were very good, the lunches were your typical buffet type lunch but the dinners were fantastic, they definitely take pride in giving you a 5 star experience, everything from the service to the presentation of the food.

The ambiance of this hotel was wonderful, it is very obvious that they took alot time to plan this resort and focus on not disrupting the nature surrounding this beautiful resort. This is my 4th time to the Mayan and has been quite impressed at all the resorts that we have stayed at.

The VIM was above these resorts in the following categories
~The overall grounds impeccably kept and this resort is huge!
~Great selection of top shelf liquor and no watering down at this resort!
~The pluses that you got with the privilege package.. AWESOME! (You can always sign up for this if you didn't purchase from your travel provider)
~They have nightly entertainment in 'The Plaza' open air area in the middle of all the restaurants and lobby, you really felt like you were in your own little city

Tips:
If you stay in building 7 or 8 cut through building 3 to get to the main area (restaurants) much quicker :)

As for the towel situation...granted you only got 2 towels BUT look on the bright side, I have been a resorts where towels were aplenty, what happened....the selfish people not only reserved chairs at the beach but they also did this at the pools as well, at least this makes it a little harder for people to hoard

I would recommend this resort with no hesitation at all

I am very impressed that the management at the VIM also read every review (shows their dedication to the overall customer experience) so I am leaving a couple of opportunities

~ Perhaps putting felt pieces on the bottoms of the chairs in the rooms will cut down on the noise heard when sliding the chairs around the room (we were on the top floor and could her this clearly from our neighbours so I can only imagine the noise the people below hear)
~Post a sign by the privilege cabanas advising people how they can obtain one of the beds so they know the process ($$ opportunity for the VIM :) )

Please feel free to write with any questions you may have

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank welltraveled-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest from Ontario,

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your wonderful review for the trip advisor community.

All our employees will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Regarding the towel situation, I confirm you that only 2 towels are given ; it is first to prevent people reserving chairs at the beach but also at the pools as you mentioned above. But also because we are part of the project “MARTI”(Meso American Reef Tourism Initiative) to help and protect the environment, reducing washing and the amount of water and chemicals used in the laundry.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention the noise heard by furniture; we wish to reassure you, that we have the intention of putting felt pieces on the bottoms of all the furniture in the rooms.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding the Privilege information with our chief concierge, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and facilities.

We really appreciate you let us know we are providing a good service. We look forward to serving you in the future for your 2nd visit.

Wishing all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently traveled to Mexico for my 50th birthday. From the moment we arrived we were so impressed. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is better than any other resort I have ever been to. For my birthday I got flowers, a towel made into a cake and a piece of cake delivered to my room. The beach and pool were very relaxing.The entertainment was alot of fun..our favorite was casino night. We will definately be going back.

Room Tip: We liked building 1..it was close to the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mary,

First of all congratulations and thank you very much for staying in the Valentin Imperial Maya for this unforgettable occasion ; we also would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our resort.

We will be glad to welcome you back for your 2nd visit at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL USA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the VIM.

There was a slight problem with our room when we checked. They were apparently full and we had reserved a King but it was not available. Needless to say we were very disappointed and the staff was very apologetic but it was a rough start to our visit. They moved us to a new room the following afternoon. I am happy to report that this is the ONLY problem we had during our visit.

This is a very large resort but even though it was full, we were amazed how un-crowded the place felt. We never had a problem getting a table for breakfast lunch or dinner with the exception of Ginger which needed a reservation. There were plenty of options for seating at the main pool (including two swim up bars) and the sprawling pool behind building (with wait service) 6 was almost empty if you simply wanted peace and quiet. The beach has plenty of tiki huts and the beach bar has a cool setup of swings looking out at the ocean.

The staff is fantastic, extremely courteous, prompt and all spoke English very well. We felt that the food was well above par compared to other all-inclusive restaurants we have visited. All bars were stocked with top shelf alcohol and they were more than happy to accommodate your drink requests.

The room was impeccable, laid out well, great views and very well appointed.

After a rough check in, I can promise you I was more than skeptical about the resort. By that evening, after having a great steak dinner at Tierra and a visit to the pool, we were pleased with our choice and could not have been happier. I would put the VIM on the same level as the Excellence at Play Mujeres which is also a top choice for us. As a whole, I think the VIM offers more dining and pool options and the food is slightly better.

I want to say THANK YOU to the entire staff at VIM for a fantastic vacation!! We will certainly be back again.

Rich and Lori H

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Rich and Mrs. Lori H from Quincy, IL USA

We really want to thank to post your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers from Trip advisor community to confirm that our VIM Resort is the perfect hotel for their Holiday.

We are very happy to know that the efforts and friendliness of our staff made a significant difference to your holiday enjoyment and your comments will be displayed within the hotel for all to see.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding the king size bed with our front desk manager, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon for your 2nd visit at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I along with 6 friends just returned from "VIM" . We stayed at the Emerald room #
11- 203, (feb 8-15-2013). We enjoyed watching the rising sun each morning from the patio.
From our check in until check out everything was excellent. We've been to 20 + all inclusives,
Valentin tops them all, Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear recent VIM guests,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the trip advisor community. We are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

We look forward to serving you in the future for your 2nd visit.

Once again feel free to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My sister and I were so fortunate to find this GEM.We stayed at the VIM Nov 5th-12th 2012 and we have just booked to return March 11th 2013, soooo excited.As sisters,we have traveled to the Mayan Riviera and Cancun area for the last 20 years,We get to enjoy spending time together away from the realities of life.This resort is our FAVORITE of all time.Yes,as others have said,the resort is beautiful,food is amazing,pool and beach area are to die for.But,above all of that,we made some of the most amazing friends amongst the staff.Betty(hostess),Gilberto(server)Luis(manager at Mexican rest)Elizabeth(lounge cocktail server) and the list goes on..Thank you so much for existing.We can't wait to come back"HOME".See you all soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Phil from Vancouver,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

We are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

Your comments will be used as an example on how important it is to our guests when team members demonstrate a little extra effort.

We look forward to your next visit the 11th of March.

Please contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week and will return. The food was great, we ate at all the restaurants and found them all very good, the employees were always smiling and helpful, pools were great (aside from people hoarding the floating mats, god forbid everyone share) and the beach was fantastic - we sat at the far end of the beach, where it was quiet and a server still came by to serve us.
The resort is large in area but I loved the fact that the walking paths were all curvey, each block of buildings were hidden behind trees and vegetation. From the beach to the main entrance of the hotel was a 5 minute walk, no big deal.

Room Tip: We were in building 13 2nd floor beautiful view of the ocean from our balcony as well as the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert155016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Robert from Canada,

Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.
It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to work harder and to offer good service.

We also have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding floating rafts, we have taken your observation up with our staff in order to improve that service and establish a new pool rule” For the consideration of all guests floats not being used should be left in the water ” but as you say so : ” god forbid everyone share “…

We look forward to your 2nd visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
8.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,714 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,133 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing