We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Valentin Imperial Maya which, I booked with Jennifer at Tripguy.com. I would highly recommend them for your travel needs. Jennifer was so helpful and took care of everything. She also quickly and thoroughly answered my numerous questions. I was a little concerned about trying a new resort since we are creatures of habit and loved the resort that we visited previously. I didn't want a "party" atmosphere as we just needed to relax. We are mid-40's. Most people there were probably in our age bracket although there were a few younger and a few older. There was no reason for concern-- the resort was absolutely gorgeous and just like any of the pictures that I had seen. The grounds and buildings are extremely well-kept, there are people working constantly to keep it that way. We requested a Golden Jr. Suite on the top floor and were given just that. We were in building 6 (6302) and had a slight view of the sea. We overlooked the lazy river and a smaller pool. It was very quiet and a great location. We were only about a five minute walk from the beach. If you want a beach front room, book an Emerald Suite in buildings 9-13 but make sure you request second floor if you want to see the water. The first floor looks out into the trees. Our room was gorgeous and very spacious and the air conditioning worked extremely well. Some other reviewers said that their rooms were hot but ours was actually too cold sometimes.
The food was great. We're not talking gourmet but as far as an AI goes, I thought it was very good. We tried all of the specialty restaurants except steak and seafood and enjoyed them all. My husband's favorite was the tiramisu at the Italian restaurant. The fried poblano peppers the Mexican restaurant were gigantic! Luis took very good care of us there. We really enjoyed the buffet for breakfast and sometimes lunch.
We had a couples massage at the spa. Very nice. A little pricey but well worth it -- it's vacation, right? The spa is probably not as glamorous as some that I've been to but it was nice and clean and the staff were great.
We scheduled parasailing through the Lomas agent at the resort. If we had to do it again, we'd just go with one of the guys at the beach. We were told that we would have a longer ride than what they do at the beach but we didn't. We got about 10 - 15 min. We watched the ones at the beach and they were up at least twice that.
The beach was beautiful. We did not have any trouble getting a palapa any time of the day - of course, this did seem to be the low season and the resort had a very low occupancy (just the way we like it!). We took our snorkel gear but the one day we tried to go out, the water was really rough so we didn't try again. You could get a snorkel or diving tour through the folks at the resort. There are rocks at the shoreline so you can't just walk into the water anywhere without shoes. There is a swimming area where they've added sand and you can walk in without any trouble (or shoes). The beach service was spotty. Some days there was a server and some days not. No big deal, a walk to the bar wasn't very long. It was a good place to get a little shade and sit on a swing for a few minutes. The drinks were okay. We're not big mixed drink people so what we had was fine. Beer was Dos Equis -- no Corona. Wines were so-so. The white was better than the red. If you wanted better wine in the restaurants, you could pay extra and order a bottle from the wine list. Of course we had mimosa with breakfast every day. I'm happy anywhere that I can have sparkling wine for breakfast!
We spent a couple of hours at the activities pool on our last day. It was fun but we prefer the beach. We did use the pool outside our building several times because it was convenient. It was not crowded at all. I wish I would have taken a float with me for the river. I think they provide them at busier times of the year. It would have been nice to float down to the other end for a drink from the bar. There was a bar closer to us but it was closed. One of the pool bars at the activities pool was also closed. I'm guessing this was because of the lower occupancy.
We tried to see some of the shows but dinner usually overlapped for us. We did catch the Mayan show which was good. We saw a little bit of the Michael Jackson show which was very good. I wish we could have stayed for all of it. The bands in the plaza were okay but not the best. We didn't go to the Sports Bar but it seemed to be quite busy after dinner. There were a lot of things that we never got around to trying but we were happy with everything that we did.
Overall, we had a wonderful trip and this was an excellent resort for relaxing. We would definitely go back again and maybe stay a few extra days! If you want a very laid back resort, this is for you.

Room Tip: Bldgs 6, 7,& 8 - great location. Top floors have slight view of the sea. Swim-out rooms on bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,276
    2,366
    677
    216
    150
See reviews for
698
9,117
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya for our honeymoon in April 2012. We could not have been more pleased! We'd found a great deal for the trip itself, but it would have certainly been worth full price. The resort was beautiful and well-kept. We loved all of the restaurants we tried (which was most of them), and the bars were fantastic. No watered-down drinks here. The nightlife was perfect for us - a sports bar open until 2am, as well as other outdoor bars open until 11pm or 12am. There were performances every night, so you always felt like there was something to do or see. Room service could be a bit slow, but we typically ordered it as a late night snack - likely when everyone else was doing the same thing. As with other all-inclusive resorts, I would recommend traveling with a lot of small bills for tips (or trading in for pesos), but I never felt like we had to tip at this resort. Everyone on the staff was so accomodating and kind to us. Our room was well-attended throughout the day, as well as for turndown service. We talked to several guests who also loved the resort, many of whom were there for their second or third time. We immediately began dreaming about when we wil return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler421_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all "THE POOL" is more spectacular than the photos show! WOW! This resort is absoulty HIGH CLASS and GORGEOUS! There is no need for dinner reservations at this resort as there is with others. The food is excellent. Every day they are cooking something delicious for their guests by the pool. Every morning we had a HUGE buffet brunch at one of the many resturants. Our jr. suite was just beautiful and classy! My husband says we'll return here for our 5th anniversary! I don't know if I can wait that long!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ill start this review like so many others, we do all-inclusive adult only resorts all the time. So I wont talk about the cold drink and towel at check in that is standard everywhere. If you are seasoned AI traveler you also know these are not the places for foodies. Food is subjective, so If you get three meals a day and gain a couple of pounds it's all good. Most of the time upgrades only happen for travel agents and return guests so don't be disapointed, pay for what you want. That being said we REALLY like the VIM.
We got alot of great information on the VIM facebook page.
Before we arrived we did email the resort with a few requests. Jessica was quick with a response and put our requests on our reservation. She did tell us that she couldnt guarentee anything but they would do their best. We were celebrating an anniversary, needed an early arrival, and had a few specific room choices. All three of our requests were met. This has NEVER happened before at any other resort chain. Keep in mind it is low season and the hotel was at about 50 percent occupied.

We Booked an emerald suite because we love the ocean , wanted the view , the breeze and a king bed. The bathroom was the best we have seen. The shower and tub that looks out to the ocean is to die for. The toliet room even has a full solid wooden door. Funny maybe but alot of resorts have half glass doors. Just a note we were short on washcloths the entire week, not sure why. They do encourage a call to the one touch number to schedule a cleaning time for the week, they only came once at our requested time. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself spacious. The balcony was huge and private. The furniture left alot to be desired, the chairs are wooden folding and not comfortable. I did call the one touch to ask for loungers to be brought up but they wouldnt do it. They could do alot to make the balcony more comfortable, that is why we booked this room. We were in building 13 on the second floor. I think next time buildings 11 & 9 have better views.

I do use the gym while on vacation. The VIM gym is a joke! The equipment is old, rusty, and some of it dosent work. Only 1 mat in the qym for stretching and no stretching ball. A few improvements would go along way here.
The main pool is huge with 2 swim up bars. This time of year only 1 bar was open. The bartenders did a great job keeping everyone happy!! No floats this time of year, not sure why, but we did know ahead of time so we brought them with us. Im glad we did. I don't think I would enjoy this pool during high season. Yes it's huge but chairs line every single inch around it, just wouldn't be our scene.
The beach is amazing!! Something for everyone, a clean swimming area, tons of beach front to walk and plenty of beach beds with shade. If you like to swim with the fishes you can do it here included in the price. The water if full of angel fish. We got to the beach around 10am and got a beautiful spot everyday. Beach wait service was hit and miss, some days we had servers some days we didnt. Not a huge deal we werent that far from the beach bar. The beach bar is a great little spot to spend time and swing, the drinks however need some help. Not very strong at all.
The restaurants for breakfast and lunch were buffets. We always found something to eat and service was usually great. The VIM should offer walk up lunch and snack items. Something to take back to your beach or pool chair. We ate at a few different dinner restaurants. All the meals had great flavor, good portions, and usually good service. The cuts of meat, well it's Mexico.
All in all we really liked the Valentin. During low season it is quiet and peacful exactly what we were looking for. If we could get this same deal again next fall we will be back.

Room Tip: Pay for the room you want. Emerald suite a must if you want to be near the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank practicingvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just returned from the Valentin Imperial Maya and I must say this place is the nicest Resort I have ever stayed at. The grounds are beautiful, The food is better than average, and the staff is very friendly and helpful, if you go be sure to meet Hugo at the bar he is a super guy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

When we arrived we were greeted with champagne and a wet cool towel and the staff was very accomodating.They took us to the lobby to check in and our room wasn't ready, so we went to a buffet for a late afternoon lunch. It was very good and had a lot of choices. Our room was ready when we returned and they took us and our luggage to our building in a golf cart. The room (Emerald Suite) was perfect. Huge jacuzzi tub looking out over the ocean and a seperate rain shower all enclosed in glass. Another seperate room for the vanity area with two sinks and the bathroom yet in another seperate room with a toilet and badet. It had a huge lighted closet with drawers and a safe, with an ironing board, iron and umbrella. King size bed with a really neat peaked wood ceiling with a fan over the bed. Beautiful marble flooring, a couch, chair, coffee table, desk with a small stocked fridge and chair, a lot of drawer space and another cupboard with a coffee maker. We ordered room service (24 hour) for our coffee every morning though. It's best to order room service the night before for breakfast, because if it's busy you may have to wait up to an hour and then you might as well go to the buffet. There are two open for breakfast and lunch. Dinner is a la carte. You do not need reservations for dinner other than if you want the hibatchi at the Japanese restaurant or the Indonesian restaurant. Guys need to wear long dress pants and closed shoes and collared shirts. No jeans, sneakers or sandals. Women can wear anything dressy. The beach is beautiful here and the water is so crystal clear. My husband only had two complaints. No Corona on this resort because they have Dos Equis and that most of the staff doesn't understand or speak English. It can be difficult because they pretend like they understand and then you wait for a response and then they say "no speak English". All of the staff is super friendly and do their best to please you though. We had a wonderful time. If you are thinking about going here, I suggest that if you have a facebook account go to Valentin Imperial Maya and like it. There are guest forums that will answer all your questions and it a really fun sight with tons of pictures from past guests. Really informative.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the Emerald suite, second floor room because they have a gorgeous view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location and beauty! We are in our late twenties early thirties and appreciated the adults only resort. We had just had our second child and wanted to get away for a romantic belated honeymoon. This resort allowed us to feel as if we were there by ourselves. We loved the walking paths and sense of privacy within the large resort. The service was excellent in our Golden Junior Suite in Building seven. Our room was marble floored throughout and very spacious, classic and tasteful. Butler service on the beach, private beach for sunbathing topless, two swim up bars and numerous bars and restaurants with round the world cuisine made the stay feel so relaxing and liberating! We cannot wait to return for another amazingly romantic vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freedom126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,771 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,055 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,052 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing