We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great vacation at a great resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another great vacation at a great resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We came back to the Valentin for our second time. We went in August when the prices were lower so that enabled us to get the 'best' room in the place. We stayed in the Imperial Suite which was over 1000 square feet. The room was beautiful. The balcony had a jacuzzi. The bathroom was great. There was a 2nd bathroom by the front door. We couldn't have asked for a better room. The rooms are quite far back from the ocean so you do have an ocean view but it is quite a distance. The only rooms that are beach front are the Emerald Jr. Suites. So make sure you know that when booking. One of the reasons that we came back to the Valentin was because of the great food. Well, this time the food was just okay. I was very disappointed. The only restaurant that continued the great food and service was Le Marche, which is the buffet restaurant. This buffet surpasses any I have ever been to. The only problem is that it was never open at night so that was disappointing. A couple of nights we ordered room service, hoping that it would be better than the other restaurants, but it was just okay. Other than the food, our vacation was great. We had purchased the 'Privilege Package' which entitled us to private check in and check out, late check out, daily newspaper, small fruit bowl, lovely flower arrangement, minibar, beach bag, and RESERVED CHAIRS at the pool or the beach. That was our favorite thing about this package. It was nice to have reserved chairs everyday. However, on 2 days our name had been taken down so we did have to go and track someone down to get it back up. The resort is amazing. It is huge. The pools are lovely and huge. It is just a gorgeous resort. This is a resort for those who like walking. It's actually nice after a meal to walk back to the room and burn off some of those calories! There are golf carts to drive you around if you don't want to walk. There are large lizards that roam around. They are probably just smaller than a cat. There is also a Leemur on the property. So it's fun to watch all of these creatures. They do leave you alone and are scared of you. I would have to think long and hard if I had the opportunity to go back to this resort. I was really disappointed in the quality of the food but everything else was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebnJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,963
    2,311
    667
    211
    149
See reviews for
659
8,839
56
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the valentin imperial for our honeymoon and we were so excited when we got there, the hotel is so beautiful! Our room was just as awesome it was just what we expected and then some, the staff really made us feel like royalty.

Neither one of us had ever stayed at an "adults only" hotel and we loved that there weren't any kids running around playing, yelling or crying. Now what I'm about to write might be too much for some people so this is a warning to not read on .... the only issue about it being an adults only is the fact that the walls are so thin you can hear all the noise from the other rooms. The hotel offers free pornographic channels so through our stay there we heard just about everyone staying in the rooms around us watching porn on tv with the volume way up or actually having sex to where everyone could hear of course they are on vacation and some are on there honeymoon but when you aren't able to sleep at night because all you hear is people having sex banging on the wall and porn it becomes a problem. The first night it was funny but the rest of our time there it wasn't so much. Also while walking out to our pool and while in the pool we came across the issue that people aren't able to wait to get to their room to have sex, the first issue was us walking by a couple having sex by the pool right close to their "balcony" complety nude and people were walking and swimming right by them but they kept doing their thing and at first we thought it was just a random occurence but we came across it again on another trip to the pool with a couple having sex in the pool while we were only a few feet away. Again I understand people are on vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, etc and they are going to go all out and make the most out of it but I feel like I came back from my vacation much more tired and sleepy then what I would've liked to.

The hotel is beautiful the food is amazing and the service is excellent, the daily evening shows are average the spa was awesome but I just wish I would have been warned about what we heard and saw before showing up to prepare ourselves with ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
40 Thank editundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I'll keep it simple...great staff, great location, great rooms, great food, great time spent with the one you love. It is not perfect, just like everyone else, but very minor for the value you get by going here.....go with Priviledge...it is worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yup_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

this property is so lovely! this trip was a 10 day, left the husbands at home trip, for my friend and i. because this resort is so romantic.....i was worried whether or not to book here or elsewhere. i cannot be more pleased that i returned to the valentin imperial.

the service, which is phenominal, begins upon entry of resort. the bellman relieves you of your luggage, and drives you in a golf cart to the main lobby for check-in. the process is easy, and friendly. but if it is a big travel day, there maybe up to a 20-30 minute wait. no worries though, they keep you occupied with cool towels, and a reception drink.

the food and beverage staff really knows service, it seems to be their number one priority (as it should be). if you have a hard time finding a bar or restaurant to your liking, i find it likely that you are too picky to travel! there are several ala carte restaurants in the evenings that range from a casual mexican, or indonesian (which is awesome!) to a more elegant french or italian (perfect for the more elegant and romantic feel). of course the japanese is good, and there are a steak-house and a seafood restaurant down by the beach so that you can feel the breeze and hear the waves. breakfast is a buffet spread well appointed for the european pallate, american or north american pallate as well. really a little of everything for everyone. at lunch there is a buffet and an ala carte choice........well done valentin, as this was new since my last visit in 2009.

the beauty and layout of this resort is incredible. i enjoy a stroll every morning and evening to walk off those fabulous meals! the little coatis, iguanas, beautiful birds will greet you along the way.

the pool is HUGE!! cannot get over how wonderful the swimming pool is......several swim-up bar options (shaded, thank goodness), so clean and attended to. but here's the thing----THE BEACH, oh my, what a beautiful piece of prime beach that belongs to this resort. so many chairs, so many palapas, so many angel fish that swim with you, so much crystal blue water. AND, they have beach bar-service and waitress service all day everyday. who could ask for more?

i have stayed in 3 room categories. the golden, the silver, and this time the standard. and you know what? the standard is plenty big and well appointed. of course any upgrade is wonderful, but you would not be dissappointed with the standard room. here is where i think some folks get confused.....these are not hi-rise buildings, you do not look out of your window and see the coast......but you will see beautiful palm trees and flowers that will not dissappoint. go to the beach to see it! from your balcony, you will always hear the ocean, and that is good enough for me!

i thought that my friend and i were treated like royalty during our stay, as did my husband and i 2 years ago, and i would imagine when i return i will get the same. this is my 15th trip to riviera maya, and second stay at valentin. i hope to stay again as i know the level of service to expect.

please try to enjoy yourself there..........don't look for things to gripe about, and please do not wear your blue jeans (even if they do cost $500) because it takes away from the pleasure the rest of us get when dressing up a little at dinner time!

every night there is live music and dancing, shows at the theatre, and usually some sort of themed party to keep us all entertained. you can do as much or as little as you like, without feeling as if you might miss out on anything.

enjoy yourself, and tell everyone "hola" for me!

Room Tip: i loved the location of buildings 5,6,7. near pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank memphislady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I had a blast at this resort!!! I had never been to an all inclusive resort before, let alone an all adult one, but I must say if I did it again it would def have to be an adult only, it was so much better lol :)

Im a picky eater, but i survived here...food was good and my wife loved all the different types of food and overall i'd give the food a 4/5.

I had read before arriving (terrible reviews) that people had woken up to an intruder in there ground level suite, so I was abit nervous, so I put the marble table against the sliding door every night to prevent it from opening up more than 4 inches.

Overall I had a blast here, met three other couples that we hung out with and were planning to meet up next yr on the same date to celebrate our 1 year.

Pros: Pool: amazing large pool , drinks: cant complain lol cold beer!, beach sandy smooth with amazing clear water, staff: all of them were extremly friendly and hard working, just arriving to the resort saw many workers out working the grounds and this continued all week

entertainment was good each night,

Cons: picky eater lol food didnt taste like they do back in canada, but you cant expect that,
NO Corona :(
No Disco to dance the night away!
NO Hottubs by the pool for evenings or rainy days

We had a golden JR suite building 6 and with your own private swim-up pool was nice to get away from the main pool, but I could enjoy myself no matter which room or building . everything building is close enough to everything.

OVERALL: We had an amazing honeymoon, made good friends, got a tan, had some drinks, and returned to Canada safe and sound. I would highly recommend this PLACE to anyone and this coming from a picky person about everything. I SURVIVED and will be going back here again if I travel to Mexico again!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Junior Golden suite with swim up, it was great, however any room will do for the amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndrewFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

after the second day on our vacation at the valintine my wife got severe food poisoning an we told the manager an she said our kitchen is so clean an my poor wife throwing up an severe stomach pain for 5 days an they did nothing an the doctor charged us 700.00 dont let the beauty of this place fool you they use all left overs for night time im in dis believe that an expensive place is so careless for there food DO NOT CHANCE THE BEAUTY PEOPLE VERY CARELESS WITH THERE FOOD an they never admitted of it an her doctor diagnose her with food poisoning shame on them

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank champsterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerQC, Manager at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear guest,

We are very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay at our resort. Our main goal is to provide our guest’s with the best service possible.

Regarding our meals, we can assure you that the health and safety of our guest are our major priority; in this regard the hotel is supported by the Cristal Food Safety Risk management program developed for the travel and tourism industry. This program covers high level hygiene standards, which comply with international and national health and safety regulations. This program and its compliance are monitored and audited every month at the hotel through competent auditors and every visit has been successfully passed, for that reason the hotel has been recognized by the Check Safety First as a Cristal Regional Winner.

Please note that we did not receive any other comments regarding food poisoning during the period, around those dates or any other.

At the “Valentin Imperial Maya” we take our client’s comments seriously and being our purpose to be a leader in the hospitality industry. We thank you for choosing “Valentin Imperial Maya” and look forward to welcoming you again and we can deliver the best service you deserved.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This property is gorgeous and relaxing!! The pool is wonderful with fountians and two swimup bars, they have premium alchohol and drinks!! The staff was friendly and happy to serve us. They want your experience to be very enjoyable and have the vacation experience you will love! We have been to the property twice because we love it so much! Great food also with casual restaurants to very classy ones. The french restaurant is amazing, so gorgeous inside and romantic! The Ginger restaurant is so fun with the hibachi grill, great show watching your food being prepared and so so yummy!!!!!!! Wonderful place, cant wait to go back ;) !!!!!

Room Tip: We had a garden room the first time we went and it was nice but we wanted a ocean view the second ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
8.8 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,575 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,857 reviews
6.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing