We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, relaxed, good food and service; seabirds provided entertainment”

El Chiringuito de Zapallar
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Zapallar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“great view, relaxed, good food and service; seabirds provided entertainment”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I popped in for fish and chips - and stayed a couple of hours. I ate Reineta - a white flatfish, very good. The location and view reminded me of Italy. Great atmosphere; numerous seabirds provided entertainment; delightful. 13,000 (circa UK£19)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    209
    45
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic food with a fantastic view.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Jardin de marsicos!!!! excellent dish, together with pisco sour and Suspiro Limeño for dessert. We went twice: for dinner and lunch. Most romantic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank silviasayus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Place!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

While touring wineries on a business trip, we had a fantastic dinner here. 15 of us ordered drinks and some apps. We devoured the razor clams and ordered 4 dozen more! Entrees & desserts were just as good. If I ever get back to Chile again, I'll stay close by. Very scenic.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Miss it!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I have dined here multiple times over the years. This is one of our most favorite restaurants in the entire world. The setting is just spectacular, the food so fresh, simple, yet so fitting for the scenery. We dream of this place and I hope to visit it again very soon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshewwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Seafood, Awesome Location”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Chiringuito has long been a family favorite. The food is terrific, I particularly like the seafood stew, clams parmesan and the congrio (conger eel?) The waiters are professional, attentive and helpful with making choices. There is a good wine and beverage selection. But what is nearly impossible to beat is the location, view and atmosphere. The restaurant is located right on the water at the southern end of the bay at Zapallar. Sunsets are spectacular and if you are really lucky you might sight dolphins in the water. Many of the tables and chairs are hand carved and the fishing boat in the entry is authentic and lends to the atmosphere. Reservations are a must and two lunch seatings are offered at 1:00PM and 3:00PM, dinner is served at 8:00PM or 10:00PM. An absolute MUST when visiting Chile's central coast! Unfortunately though, children are only allowed indoors as the outdoor seating is designated as a smoking area. It is a bit pricey but worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chiringuito de Zapallar also viewed

Zapallar, Valparaiso Region
Papudo, Valparaiso Region
 
Zapallar, Valparaiso Region
Zapallar, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to El Chiringuito de Zapallar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing