We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel limited restaurant menu.”
Review of Armenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armenia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Armenia
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is excellent. Very friendly staff and a good welcome, Rooms are very well appointed, clean and spacious. Flat screen televison with a comprehensive selection of channels. We were able to watch BBC World News. Restaurant menu is limited but there is a variety of restaurants within less than 5 minutes walk, Breakfast is buffet style all Colombian food. Very reasonable price for the quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffturner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Armenia Hotel is a very nice property with well appointed, and rather spacious rooms. Also, the hotel staff is friendly and very professional, and throughout my stay, everything was handled very well. I checked in early (around 12:30 PM) and there was no problem or hold up at all. Check out and room service were also done quickly and with the appropriate professionalism.

Somewhat of a downside of the hotel is its restaurant. While the staff is friendly, they are not very efficient and the service is very slow. Also, food and even simple drinks take a long time, even though the quality and the quality-to-price ratio are quite okay. My booking included the breakfast (so I ate there), but also this was nothing special and had a rather limited selection. So, the restaurant might be okay if you don´t know anything else in the city (yet), but otherwise, there are clearly better options in town.

The hotel is centrally located in the northern part of town, so that one can easily get around. Also, it is located on a major road through the city, so that getting around by car (or even by foot) is easy. On the downside, traffic is quite noisy, and light sleepers should be prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hotel is in the center of Armenia, Cafetera district, Colombia, good price relation with 80 USD incl. breakfast, hotel interior and looby area are decorated and made of bamboo, bed is bamboo frame, table and chair are bamboo, sidebord is bamboo, bambbo grows in that mountain reagion, breakfast buffet was ok, free WiFi, easy t oget to the high alpine region national parks (5,000 m) and Malinzales and Pereira, farm run restaurant along the highways are recommended, since they serve homegrown fresh fruits, vegetables, chicken and meat,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent four nights in the Armenia Hotel and think it is the most "American" looking hotel in town. It is designed around a large atrium with a transparent roof, so there is plenty of light everywhere, 3-4 open decks on every level, two atrium elevators, and two atrium staircases. Floors are all tile and wood (or Pergo), and the rooms are large and very clean. There doesn't seem to be a bar, but there is a travel office and a very small business center. Wireless internet is fast and now works in the rooms - every floor has relay stations.
Breakfast was included and there was fresh fruit, juice, coffee, various breads, hot arepas, eggs, cheese, cereal available every morning. It varies a little each day.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant once, and it wasn't very good. The Mexican tortilla soup seemed to be based on diluted ketchup, and contained no chicken at all.
Coffee and another hot beverage available in the lobby 24/7 - not sure if the second pot is hibiscus tea or agua con panela. Carry your own creamer unless you like your coffee black! It is almost never available.
Friendly staff, and a few speak some English. You'll have better luck in the morning/day than at night, so time your questions accordingly.
We had three rooms on the fifth floor, and our main gripe was that the mattresses are like bricks, or perhaps stacked cardboard. Much harder than a futon, and painful to sleep on. You will need Advil in the morning. There is a single, very very thin wool blanket - perhaps this is to discourage you from using the A/C.
Second quip - there is a lobby phone with a printed list of all the guests names and room numbers! So much for security!
Great restaurant next door - the Cafe Quindio - we had dinner, dessert, and coffee there - six years old but looks brand new. Lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk for a softer bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autrevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed one night each in January and in July 2011. The hotel is very clean, has spaceous rooms with a small LCD TV. The furniture is colombian style I guess, but everyhting is quite basic. The beds are rather hard, and the blanket consists of a sheet with a thin woollen blanket.
I had lunch twice at the hotel, however I cannot recommend it really - sorry to say. I was with colombian colleagues and they agreed.
I left the hotel early for a breakfast outside, and when I came back at 9 am the maid was already cleaning my room, even I didn't check out or anything - the door was wide open and all my things still in there in the open.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp_J1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Armenia hotel is a good place to stay while you are at North Armenia. It is a well maintained place with clean premises. The furnishings have a Colombian touch in them. The rooms are quiet clean and tidy. You get free access to internet in the rooms. The rooms also have a television. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The services offered are also good. Food is nice. There are also some other nice restaurants in the vicinity which you can try for a change if you stay for long here. This hotel is quiet expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zafar_menny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

The hotel overall was very clean, staff were friendly and very respectful. We stayed 4 nights on a all inclusive plan. We were surprised to find that the plan meals were the same as for any guest. The evening meal was always excellent. Breakfast was a standard buffet. The rooms were very clean. The hotel was well maintained. Its too far to walk downtown because the hotel is located in "north" armenia. But north armenia is where the newer part of town is and has the biggest shopping mall in town and best restaurants.

The hotel is on par with Hilton, but reflect colombian culture with decoration and furnishings.

The only thing we didn't like is the colombian style bed, which tends to be a little HARD.

This is a high end hotel in price, but you get what you pay for. We were very satisfied with everything about the hotel and staff (except for the bed).

Free internet and TV.

The plan is probably the way to go with this hotel. With a plan you get tickets to local sights worth about $100 and meals worth about $50 a day. Plan price is $120 a day (give or take the season prices) and full price is almost $200 a day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armenia hotels
0.1 mi away
Allure Aroma Mocawa Hotel By Karisma
0.8 mi away
Isa Victory Hotel Boutique
3.1 mi away
Volare Hotel
Volare Hotel
#15 of 25 in Armenia
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Jeronimo
Hotel San Jeronimo
#11 of 25 in Armenia
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria's Park Hotel
Victoria's Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Armenia
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montes de la Castellana Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armenia Hotel

Address: Av. Bolivar Calle 8 Norte | Corner, Armenia 2541, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Quindio Department > Armenia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Armenia
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Armenia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armenia Hotel is located in the capital city of Quindio, colombian deparment called green heart of the Triangle of the coffee.Armenia Hotel outstands in an exclusive and strategic part of Armenia, near clinics, financial entities, shopping malls, convention centers and next to a 9 hectares forest and green areas in the Park of Life.Armenia Hotel combines the modernity of its architecture with the authentic furniture designed in guadua and pre-Colombian pieces of the Quimbaya Culture, which decorate the warm spaces of the hotel.Armenia Hotel Rooms129 comfortable rooms where you can experience an environment of tranquility with furniture completely made out of materials of the region, such as: guadua and native wood, beautifully combined with wrought iron, and an extensive collection of INTAGLIOS.A great diversity in the types of rooms: presidential suite, junior suite, family suite, superior room and standard room, equipped with double and semi-double beds, dining and living room, television, mini bar, fax service, room service, wireless internet, newspaper in the room and laundry.Standard single room: A room that manages one environment, counts with a comfortable 1,40 meter Bed, private bathroom, cable TV., connection to Wi-Fi Internet, refrigerator and mini bar.Standard twin room: Room that manages one environment, counts with two comfortable 1,20 or 1,40 meter beds, private bathroom, cable TV, connection to Wi-Fi Internet, refrigerator and mini bar.Superior room: A room that manages one environment, counts with a comfortable Queen bed and two double beds, private bathroom, cable TV, connection to Wi-Fi Internet, refrigerator and mini bar.Junior suite: A room that manages one environment, counts with a comfortable Queen size bed, private bathroom, small kitchen, cable TV, connection to Wi-Fi internet, refrigerator and mini bar. The Junior suites are also provided with a bath tub in the bathroom.Presidential suite: A room that manages two environments, counts with a comfortable Queen bed, two 1,20 meter beds, private bathroom, small kitchen, cable TV, connection to Wi-Fi internet, refrigerator and mini bar. The Junior suites are also provided with a bath tub in the bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Armenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing