We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to Rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Combia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Combia
Ranked #1 of 71 Armenia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

First of all I was born and raised in the US but my familys background is Colombian. This past year in December I stood at the Hacienda Combia with my girlfriend and it was a great experience from the moment you arrive. First of all is a very short ride from the airport to the hotel is approximately 20 minutes and on the way you can appreciate the beautiful scenery and landscape the coffee triangle has to offer. Once you're arriving to the hacienda you go through coffee and plantain plantations that definitely make you feel the truth essence of staying at a calm place to just rest and not to mention the beautiful sunsets you can appreciate here. The staff is very friendly and helpful from the moment you arrive to the hotel, the service is excellent and the food is excellent as well from a wide variety of traditional plates; The rooms are very comfortable and neat. I definitely recommend this place for those who want to take a trip to the coffee triangle and get the true feeling of staying at a calm and peaceful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MichaelS108030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    78
    31
    11
    15
See reviews for
96
119
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

we (two woman) spent three nights here in December. it is a beautiful hacienda, quiet and well looked after, very relaxing The rooms are quite rustic but comfortable and clean, certainly very adequate for anyone.

It seems to be under new management and they are very pleasant but not always too efficient in some areas. We kept asking for the awful loud music that came over the speakers to be turned off so to hear the birds and the quiet but no sooner was it off then it would be blaring again.
Also go over the bill very carefully when leaving - it can be very confusing - only because of thejir methods of bookkeeping!

two of the three nights we were there no cook was available so no choice for dinner. The staff was very charming but the food was just okay at best . They need to either improve the food or maybe offer transport to town for dinner.

If coming from the airport I would advise taking a taxi rather than their over priced transfer!

In spite of all these negatives we enjoyed our days of total relaxation here and the staff try hard.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 - perfect at the end of the long balcony in the building past the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa_May74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My family (5 adults, 1 child) and I stayed here for just one night a couple of weeks ago.
I made my choice guided for the good reviews, and I can tell most of the good ones are true, but can't tell about some awful experiences some people have had in terms of managment.
As long as I could appreciate, Hacienda Combia is heartedly conducted by a charming, loving lady, Teresita, who gave us a warm welcome and was in full control of ALL aspects of our stay, including a special watch for our quiet sleep given there was a crowded event in the house at the moment that could lead to annoying us, which did not happen, thanks to her careful instructions. Staff is nice and diligent, just as they can be in a hostel of its size. They are friendly and efficient, and their enthusiasm is not inspired by tipping.
We arrived at night, tired after a long journey, and we were just relieved about what we found: a beautiful, quiet place, with great views and a treatment (Teresita is the star in this aspect) that makes the difference with similar hostel offers in the area. Another important difference I found is that Hacienda Combia is a real Hacienda, with coffee fields surrounding it (I had a nice walk which I really enjoyed), and the main building was built more than a hundred years ago, which gives a general impression of authenticity, a not very common subject.
Food is good in quality and quantity, and gets good grades in quality/price. It's not a extensive chart, but is large and good enough to satisfy a spoiled taste as mine. Check out coffee inspired dishes, they outstand in their menu. If you're a sensitive traveler, who appreciates visual impression, great views, quietness and prefer exclusiveness and a friendly, personal treatment above other amenities a bigger place could offer, this is your best choice in the Coffee Axle area. Tips: Try to make all arrangements with advance before you arrive, by email or by phone, and you could enjoy your visit up to the minimum detail and will minimize any wrongdoing (and will get useful instructions to arrive; that's almost mandatory, given the hostel is located in the middle of a rural area). Get rooms in the new block, they are nicer and the balcony in front of them has the best view in place. Have a nice chat with Teresita, you'll be enchanted!

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer block, high floor, are contemporary and have better views. If you prefer authenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diego Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for a week a Hacienda Combia. The first impression we got was nice, but as time progressed things started to go down hill. Our room was OK, the bathroom was small and Do Not expect any toiletries except from you Motel bar soap. Our room had bats in the roof that would not let you sleep and any given time they would fly to scare you. On the second day of our stay, I turned the TV on and there was a message in Spanish saying "No tenemos documentado su pago, por favor comuniquese con 190" that means that the hotel had not paid the Telefonica TV bills and the service was suspended. I brought this to the attention of the front desk in the AM and still at night the issue was still unresolved, arguing that they never got the bill and blah, blah, blah. Finally at night, they offered to change us to another room where the TV service was not suspended. The food was OK, limited in variety and value. The restaurant staff and everyone except one of the guys at the front desk were exceptional and I felt bad for them for having to work under such poor management. Also beware of drinking your own water in the hotel, as if they get you in the public areas drinking water bottles that you purchased outside the property you'd be subject of a cork fee by the hotel. The tours prices are awfully expensive, as the philosophy of this hotel is to nickle and dime you every way they can. At check-out we were given a total of COP$700,000 for our stay and constitutions, which I agreed to pay, gave my credit card but the front desk gentleman said that he needed to reconfirm some details with booking.com and to come back in half an hour, the bill could be a little bit lower. That seemed strange. Came back twice, at the second time he gave me the new total of COP$1.026.000. I asked him what happened, why the increase of almost $400K, he was not able to explain it to me, he just said that the new total was right and I needed to pay it. Being that I am not a resident of Colombia, I was not subject to pay VAT (IVA), however they charged me for it even though they had copy of my passport. I would not recommend anyone this place unless you wanna have unpleasant surprises ever day that goes by, and basically expose yourself to get ripped off.

Room Tip: Wanna get ripped off? Stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank josebuenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the main road you must travel 1km of unpaved road, but the bumpy road ends at the gates of the hotel. You are met at the open air reception desk by very attentive staff. Rooms are rustic but the beds are new and comfortable and the large screen TVs were recently installed. Bath rooms are a bit tight but hot water is plentiful 24 hours. Rooms are definitely not sound proofed. The room is cooled by a ceiling fan. You will not need air conditioning as evenings are cool. From your door the view is awesome! A green valley opens and in the distance are the mountains. You will hear the roar of tractor trailers in the far distance, but they are not intrusive. The service at the restaurant is excellent as is the selection and quality of the food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eqqus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hacienda Combia is a supposedly upmarket hacienda and does indeed have nice room accommodation and a great pool.

The hacienda doesn't have such a great location compared to other fincas and haciendas in the Coffee Zone, the view is nothing spectacular and there is noise from the trucks passing by the road into Calarcá.

Where Hacienda is a complete let down is the staff, it is almost as if they go out of their way to be mean-spirited, unhelpful and incompetent. Really they spoil the experience. At times it was as if they had had training in being horrible to their guests.

Our stay was 5 days and I was really looking forward to leaving at the end. Next time I will forgo the upmarket accommodation for a more genuine experience in a friendlier place.

The place seems to capitalise on its remoteness by charging over the top for sub par food too. The bar closes at 10pm but you will be charged 25,000 pesos per bottle for drinking your own wine or whatever in public spaces, even though the hacienda has a very limited offering and everyone disappears after 10pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location!!! I love this Hacienda.. we stayed 4 nights this month and everybody was really nice, the Jacuzzi was perfect after long days of walking trails around this Area. You have a beautiful view from the pool and from every point in this Hacienda to the mountains and to the valley.

Room Tip: Convenient location near every attraction in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CVillal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armenia
4.5 mi away
Allure Aroma Mocawa Hotel By Karisma
4.4 mi away
Armenia Hotel
Armenia Hotel
#4 of 23 in Armenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.0 mi away
Finca Cafetera El Balso
Finca Cafetera El Balso
#13 of 23 in Armenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Decameron Panaca
Decameron Panaca
#2 of 6 in Quimbaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
5.2 mi away
Isa Victory Hotel Boutique
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Bambusa
Hacienda Bambusa
#1 of 47 in Armenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Combia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Combia

Property: Hacienda Combia
Address: Calarca, km 4 via al Valle | Vereda La Bella, Armenia, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Quindio Department > Armenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Armenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Combia 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Combia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing