We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
80
21
3
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
21
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la casa de barro sacred valley lomo saltado ceviche day tour two nights moray chicha ruins peru
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 110 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We had the pleasure of staying at the La Casa de Barro lodge for two nights as we visited Chinchero and the surrounding areas of Salineras and Moray. The lodge is located off the main street that runs through Chinchero and is within walking distance to the market and the Chinchero ruins. Our room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds and a bathroom with good water pressure. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and always served with a smile. Many thanks to this family operated business for making our visit comfortable and relaxing.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

Antonio and staff, thank you for making our stay in Chinchero an absolute pleasure. The room was comfortable and spacious, bed really nice. Shower had great pressure too!

Our breakfast and lunch the following day were both great, and the location to the Chinchero ruins and Sunday market easily walkable, and very safe!

We would absolutely recommend anyone that wants to visit a quiet but cultural town high in the Andes to stay here.



Backstory - we had some hotel problems in Chinchero, which resulted in us having nowhere to stay for a night. We frantically searched for somewhere to to stay and thankfully stumbled across this absolute gem. Antonio was helpful our entire stay and even put up with our Spanish, which was nice!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank CoupleofVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We went there with a party of twelve, with menu selected in advance from a very short and simple list (lomo saltado, bife, pechuga de pollo, pig), nothing complicated. Everything was overcooked. Nobody out of the twelve in the party was satisfied with the meal. This was the lowest quality food we got compared to all the other places we had dinner in the Sacred Valley area. Certainly below the great peruvian gastronomical standards.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank bernardot290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in Chinchero at the lodge. Delicious meals of grilled trout, trigo. I am told the owner spent time as a chef in Italy. Cute rooms with views of beautiful garden and mountains. Climate is cold so be prepared for that. Breakfast included.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank parules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

This restaurant is right off of the main drag in the middle of Chinchero. It is beautifully appointed, with plenty of seating. We arrived for a late lunch and were virtually the only people in the restaurant. Everyone's order came out quickly and the food was tasty. The view out the window was soothing as we were overlooking a hillside garden. Over all it was a pleasant experience. My only complaints have to do with our beverages. I had ordered the "limonada helada", which means iced lemonade, but instead received a hot water and lemon mixture with mint in it. It was yummy, but when I explained the error to the server, he told me that the concoction he served me was what I ordered. My travel companion had a Pisco sour, and was surprised to learn that the price was nearly double what she had been paying throughout our trip, which was disappointing. Other than that, it was a nice break from our travels that day.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 999ursulaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews