We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cajamarca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was an absolutely lovely place out in the country. The grounds were gorgeous, with canals carrying hot water running throughout the property. The room itself (a junior suite) was surprisingly small but the bathroom was huge with a gigantic tub you could fill with the hot water. There are two restaurants on the property with pretty decent food. The breakfast buffet was particularly good with a great selection of local cheeses (Cajamarca is dairy country). There is horse riding available on the property and a mini zoo with several different friendly animals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The thermal pools on the property were terrific and clean. The cleanliness of the whole property was very impressive. The only downside of the stay was that the village behind had a loud music festival of some kind so you could hear amplified music well into the night. But that's hardly the hotel's fault. Highly recommended (although a bit overpriced).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

The highlight of our stay was the gigantic and relaxing bath in our room. The huge bath (pretty much the size of a private hot tub) alone made the splurge worth it after a 14 hour journey from Chachapoyas on the Virgen del Carmen. The food is decent enough. The on-site zoo was interesting and surprisingly diverse. The property is nicely manicured and peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have been staying here for one month so far. I have stayed in better hotels in Cajamarca. The best part of the hotel is that it is very quiet. Since I have moved into a room with a larger bed, it is better. I must admit this king size bed is very comfortable. The rooms are not cleaned well. Sometimes the laundry stinks, the food is not that great and expensive. Worst of all they stole my watch out of my room and they do not intend to make it right. SAD! No safes in the rooms. Below average. You decide....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

DO not get fooled into staying somewhere else. Most of the other hotels are in the city center and very loud and busy with cars (you know how peru loves to honk their horns)
If you want a peaceful setting to relax after hiking etc you should stay here. The thermal baths are lovely, not as nice as in Costa Rica (tabacon) but warm and relaxing. yes- there are bugs (big ones) floating dead on the pool (not too many), but it does not change the relaxation!
Try to go to Cumbe Mayo but get a guide arranged prior (we arrived and everyone had left so we did not have a guide)
Rooms are very clean- beds are comfortable, nice sheets and pillows and bathrooms are spacious

Room Tip: pick rooms closer to the main pool and nearer the horses. The rooms further away (shaped like a L&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband, 13 yo son and I spent five days at Laguna Seca, seeking only one thing, relaxation, and we certainly got it. Our junior suite overlooked horse paddocks and every morning we woke to the sounds of horses neighing, roosters crowing and eucalyptus branches swaying in the breeze. We lounged in thermal baths (public and in our hotel room) and were pampered every day with various spa treatments: anti-stress massages, reflexology treatments, facials and the (amazing!) Bano de Diosas, which involved a jacuzzi, aromatherapy oils and about 50 fresh-cut roses and hibiscus flowers.

We could afford to indulge because the Laguna Seca is not a chic Euro-style hotel, and prices are still quite reasonable. Others on this site complain that it is dated. I am frankly happy that Laguna Seca hasn't had a makeover, because with just a few remodeling tweaks, the folks here could be charging $500 / night. Thank god it's still a homey place where Peruvian families come with kids and grandmas.

The only area where the Laguna Seca disappointed was in the dinining room. Breakfasts were good but lunch and dinner ranged from fair to great to awful. We were stuck with a fixed menu because we had booked a complete paquete, and that may have been the problem. The set menu limited us to nondescript criollo food and soggy pasta dishes, plus the world's saltiest caesar's salad. One night the head waiter took pity on us and allowed us to order from the a la carte menu, which enabled us to sample some excellent trout in garlic sauce. My recommendation? Avoid the paquete and simply book the room, treatments and meals separately.

But, really, you don't go to the provinces in Peru to experience great dining: that's what Lima is for. We were, overall, really happy with our Laguna Seca experience and are already planning to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnAmericanInLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Room is small, bath has old fashioned style mini-pool tub to take advantage of thermal waters. Unfortunately it is difficult to regulate the water temp and you get mostly too hot water. overall hotel has warm pool water heated by adding water from thermal springs.
Location is good, just on edge of town and within walking distance of several key sites.
Breakfast is good! Cajamarca is beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexT7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed just one night at this hotel. The room was very clean with a spacious bathroom. Dinner in the formal restaurant was excellent and the breakfast in the breakfast room was also excellent, with many food choices available.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cajamarca hotels
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Cajamarca
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tartar
Hotel Tartar
#3 of 23 in Cajamarca
71 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#9 of 23 in Cajamarca
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ensenada Hotel y Campo
Ensenada Hotel y Campo
#6 of 23 in Cajamarca
27 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Portal de Marques
El Portal de Marques
#10 of 23 in Cajamarca
80 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Prado
Hotel Prado
#18 of 23 in Cajamarca
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca

Address: Avenida Manco Capac 1098 | Baños del Inca, Cajamarca, Peru (Formerly Hotel Laguna Seca)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cajamarca Region > Cajamarca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cajamarca
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being outside Cajamarca, about 10 minutes from the city at Los Baños del Inca, the HOTEL & SPA LAGUNA SECA is surrounded by a vast and nice nature, having the benefits of a comfortable and first level Hotel for you with the exclusivity of offering the benefits of thermal waters within the installations. You can enjoy the Turkish Baths and the Sauna with the natural steams of the thermal water which come from the own water springs combined with the special scent of the Andean herbs, representing a prefect combination. This sensation you can also enjoy in the SPA, where the focus is on the benefits of natural local ingredients, being the best treatment for your health an wellbeing. The HOTEL & SPA LAGUNA SECA and all the staff is compromised to provide a special service, trying every day to give you a better service and to attend you as you deserve. During your stay you can enjoy special days which will leave great memories also using the benefits of our thermal water swimming pools, the wide landscape, the horseback riding and the Restaurant EL FOGÓN within the tranquility of that place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing