We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Cafeteria Style Food”
Review of Restaurante Salas

Restaurante Salas
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Cajamarca
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
colombo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Cafeteria Style Food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here twice and the food was ok. They don't claim to be anything more than a basic cafeteria. The food was the regular peruvian fare, served in quantity, the service ok and the place generally cheerful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kak_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    229
    126
    41
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old Restaurant so I respect that but...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was just okay. I just had the lunch menu so it comes out factory style. The service messed up after taking my order and I waited a bit until it got situated but they were nice enough about it. Definitely just an average place, very typical and not much that makes it stand out from the multitude of other offerings. I do respect the fact it's been open since 1947, that's quite an achievement.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great restaurant with history. Super cheap and really good food. Service can be slow, but it's very busy and clearly popular with locals. I really liked it and didn't mind the wait.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good, but I definitely had better. My local fiancee was disappointed.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My fiancee lived in Cajamarca for 10 years and used to love this place. Apparently, it´s not the same. I thought it was fine, and the price can´t be beat. But our food was just okay, and the service left much to be desired.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A little better than Zarco...”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

...but not much better! Greasy raw fries, soups without any flavour and dirty plates!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Salas also viewed

Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 

Been to Restaurante Salas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing