We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old Restaurant so I respect that but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Salas

Restaurante Salas
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Cajamarca
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old Restaurant so I respect that but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was just okay. I just had the lunch menu so it comes out factory style. The service messed up after taking my order and I waited a bit until it got situated but they were nice enough about it. Definitely just an average place, very typical and not much that makes it stand out from the multitude of other offerings. I do respect the fact it's been open since 1947, that's quite an achievement.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    166
    88
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great restaurant with history. Super cheap and really good food. Service can be slow, but it's very busy and clearly popular with locals. I really liked it and didn't mind the wait.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good, but I definitely had better. My local fiancee was disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My fiancee lived in Cajamarca for 10 years and used to love this place. Apparently, it´s not the same. I thought it was fine, and the price can´t be beat. But our food was just okay, and the service left much to be desired.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A little better than Zarco...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

...but not much better! Greasy raw fries, soups without any flavour and dirty plates!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawqara
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The humitas are so good. But most of the other dishes are bland and tasteless. Just ok if all the other nicer restaurants are closed. Of course if you are not used to the deliciousness of Peruvian food, you'll think its great. But food here has so much nicer flavors to offer!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pawqara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Salas also viewed

Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 

Been to Restaurante Salas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing