We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for a five stars hotel”
Review of Hotel Santa Anita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Anita
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Los Mochis
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor for a five stars hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel might have 5 stars, but in the 50s, when it was built. It definitely needs a big renovation. It was clean but the room had a bad smell of the humidity and dust, most probably from an old carpet. The aircondition did not work and the repairperson was not able to repair it. My boyfriend got stuck in the elevator. The hotel is placed by a high trafic road and it is very loud until late night. The trafic noice starts at 6am, so you are able to sleep less then 6 hours. We paid for two nights, but did not feel comfortable to stay in this hotel, so we left after one night and got the refund. Only the bathroom seemed to be renovated. The staff was nice and polite. The hotel should have not more then 3 stars. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
23
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked one night here through Orbitz. They could not find the reservation, but they honored it anyway. My stay was mid-week during the off-season. I stayed in a remodeled room that was large, clean, and comfortable. All the service was excellent. The front desk clerk, the bellhop, and the restaurant waiter spoke some English. Free parking with a watchman was included. Also, free internet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pvexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamos
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Santa Anita and almost all of the other Baldarama hotels a number of times. Roberto has done an amazing job of growing his businesses over the years, and mostly for the better! I just returned from a stay at the Santa Anita and I ahve to say that it is a bit tired and in need of some attention. THere is a rather offensive aroma to the lobby and bar area that must be the combination of bad Mexican cleaning products and the bathrooms that are across the hall. Our room for the first two nights also had a rather offensive smell that was different from the lobby. It is a shame as the hotel is fine otherwise and the staff excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are ok, need to be refurnished, service at the front desk was ok, service at the restaurant and bar waiters seem to be bother, need better actitud.
Food order at the bar was good nothing special.
The best was the Internet fast wifi, I think that this is the best choice in Los Mochis.
Horrible tea and worse coffee, I don't understand why they don't have a good quality coffee or tea.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here at the end of the Copper Canyon train journey. Well appointed, high standard rooms and fast Wifi. The hotel is quite generically western so after the very Mexican experience of El Chepe one does feel that you could be anywhere in the world. Check in/out process was very smooth. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English. Hotel transport to the airport was efficient and comfortable. Restaurant was also a good place to eat: great seafood for dinner and a hearty breakfast on offer. Busy bar with live music on a Friday night which also had ESPN on displays around the bar (which allowed me to watch some of the Rugby World Cup whilst on honeymoon-bonus!) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinchChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

A centrally located city hotel in which we stayed one night. All pretty much ok, with a particulary good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donjohnNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

A good hotel with an old-world atmosphere - well-appointed rooms, good service. Breakfast was good, but pricey. We took the bus from the port and then a taxi to get to the hotel. The bus to El Fuerte the next morning was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Mochis hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn Hotel
Plaza Inn Hotel
#6 of 18 in Los Mochis
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Los Mochis
Hotel Ibis Los Mochis
#2 of 18 in Los Mochis
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Dorado
Hotel El Dorado
#11 of 18 in Los Mochis
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#10 of 18 in Los Mochis
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Los Mochis
Best Western Plus Los Mochis
#4 of 18 in Los Mochis
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Express Los Mochis
City Express Los Mochis
#1 of 18 in Los Mochis
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Anita

Property: Hotel Santa Anita
Address: Leyva & Hidalgo | Los Mochis, Los Mochis 81200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Los Mochis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Los Mochis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Anita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Anita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing