We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going apart...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killarney Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Going apart...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My 60th birthday was a week ago, and I wanted to celebrate it at Killarney Lodge. We could not celebrate it together with my husband and our 13-year-old son until the weekend of June 14. We have been in the lodge numerous times before; it was our fifth time at the lodge according to my husband. My first trip there was about 18 years or so ago. We are not typical "regulars" but certainly loyal. When I made the reservation for two nights, for a two-bedroom cabin, I have indicated to the staff that I want to celebrate my birthday at the lodge, and that my husband will join us just on the 15th and will stay only one night. It gave them a little trouble to figure out how to accommodate us, but I thought they would make it right. They would not. I had to realize that the lodge became commercialized over the years, and the staff lacks empathy, in other words, they do not care as much about guests as they did before. We started with considerable difficulty when we arrived because I had to change the cabin from a noisy one to a quiet one. The point is that we ended up paying for the first night almost the same amount (only $89 less) if my husband had been with us. Not only the money but also the lack of understanding and ignorance, not to mention our anguish made the whole trip a little sour. They should have made the right accommodation in the first place. Unfortunately, our son left his iPad charger at the lodge. When we called to get it to ship to us, they asked my husband credit card number. I know how much it cost to ship something like that, about $2-3 with regular postal service. At an upscale resort as Killarney Lodge is, where someone could be spending easily $1190 (with taxes) for two nights, “accident” like this should be discretionary. They said we were not the only guests who left something behind this weekend. We have been running a business ourselves for 20 years in Ottawa, so I know if they would set up a fund for this kind of expenses, they probably would not cause discomfort to their guests, even if they have to increase their rates by a couple of dollars. I think that sometimes relationships end for a valid reason. This is the time for us never to return to the lodge. We will consider other opportunities like Bartlett Lodge and the Arowhon Pine. Farewell Killarney!

Room Tip: Cabin 24 is a quiet, nice 2 bedroom cabin. It is on Prime Lake therefore more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandtrip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    55
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
151
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was, by far the highlight of our holiday. Our cabin was facing the lake, we saw moose, loons and hiked all over the place. I was reintroduce to canoeing and stay was just amazing. The food is great and generous however it isn't licensed so take your own booze. They will pack you a lunch of you are going exploring and staff are always on hand to advise and assist.

We are going back in August 2013 to carry on where we left off. We didn't experience any road noise even though we were closest to the highway.

This place is just plain great and if you like adventures and getting wet, stung, bitten and falling in lakes then don't delay, book and have the time of your life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denzils_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for all your compliments. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks also for pointing out that the highway was not an issue even though you were in a cabin close to it. We're always very flattered when visitors from overseas like yourselves plan return visits :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Algonquin Park is one of Canada's greatest experiences and Killarney Lodge is located where the park can be easily accessed. The Lodge provides very comfortable accommodation and great food while allowing guests to experience the wilderness of Ontario. It's not camping out, but for those who don't like camping out, it's a superb alternative for enjoying the park

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowbae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My first experience of Algonquin Park was made superb by Eric and Poppy at Killarney Lodge. I was attending a photo workshop by Andrew Collett and this is where we stayed. This is the place to stay ! The rooms were cozy and the lounge and dining room were nice. We arrived on Friday and we were told about what was nearby, including the Algonquin Park Visitor Centre. We definitely plan to stay here in the future and see Algonquin Park in other seasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwillisbarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our second visit to Kilarney Lodge surpassed our expectations. Being on the lake in a canoe is a feeling of transcending time. It fills you up in a way you didn't know you needed until you get there.
Great food (gourmet meals served 3x day) It's so nice that everything is included there so that you never have to think about money or the 'other world' stuff you are trying to leave behind at the gate. Every detail is attended to with love and thought. An experience to treasure, memories and traditions to build on here. It is the closest experience of 'Heaven on Earth'. (We did not go during bug season) It rained all weekend and it was still great. We went on our way feeling so 'filled up'

Room Tip: Each Cabin has it's own charms. All come with your own canoe. For more quiet, book further awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Let' start by saying that our family has had countless stays at, and visits to Killarney Lodge since the 1960s. Our last overnight was an exceptional experience: in May 2012 four generations were present: Mom at 100 and her great grandson at 1 year old (in all, 7 adults plus the one year old). We also took Mom there in Sept 2012 for lunch.

Eric and Poppy could not have done more to make our visits memorable and relaxing. The staff is always very welcoming and accommodating.

As an aside, we have rented cottages in Algonquin a few times over the years, since the 60's, and organized canoe trips to the "interior". So we can say, Killarney is MUCH easier for a family - you make a booking and just show up (don't forget your bottle of wine for lunch or dinner! - BYOB).

We generally prefer early Spring or Fall in Algonquin, so we have not stayed here in the Summer. The resort opens a week before the long weekend in May, and it is really quiet, and road noise is not an issue. Also, there are no bugs and the trails are quiet. In Fall with the colours peaking around the end of September or early October the resort can get a little busy, but we have always had excellent service and a wonderful time.

Yes the food is over the top on the rich side, and you can have an extra desert if you like, if you can somehow manage it. One of our daughters is vegetarian and Killarney always has a menu selection for her. You feel you could walk all day after just one meal.... or have a nap. And then it's meal time again and it's so good...

What we like most about Killarney Lodge is the full experience - nothing to worry about and no electronic devices to intrude. You can do whatever you like, whether it is shuffleboard, canoeing, walks on the many trails or just read a book quietly in your cabin, on the deck, by the water, or in the games room. Everything is close at hand if you want to partake, and the setting is so relaxing, if you just want to hang around and enjoy the moment.

It has been worth the experience every time and we just keep on coming back - there is no competition as far as we are concerned. We'll be there in May 2013 for sure.

Room Tip: Have a look at the website map to see where all the cabins are located, their sizes and prices. Eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterandtherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our third trip to Killarney. Our first without the kids. As we were celebrating our 20th anniversay I was really hoping for a special visit that we would remember. Killarney did not let us down. The property was lovingly decorated for the season with pumpkins, flowers and harvest displays. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming as always and had a special feel in the fall chill. The cottage was cosy and comfortable. We were surprised by a bottle of champagne and choclates on our last night waiting for us after supper. The dining experience was excellent. The early am hike after a snowfall was magical....perfection. Exactly what we needed. Thanks Killarney.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank motherofthree33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
10.1 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
31.3 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Property: Killarney Lodge
Address: Highway 60, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our central location in the Park provides a convenient way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... There's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... In the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric & Poppy and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. (Pets accepted in limited number of cabins only - please enquire) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Algonquin Park
Killarney Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing