We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Killarney July Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killarney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killarney Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Killarney July Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a lovely time. Although close to Highway 60, there was no road noise at night. Great location in the park - close to Centennial Ridges (our favourite trail) and the theatre. Friendly service, scruptious food and charming cabins. Lodge is cozy.

Room Tip: We had a duplex, but the other side was not occupied. Loads of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    55
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
151
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Simply beautifull!
little more than 20 lodge in the middle of the park on a small headland in the Lake of Two Rivers.
In front of your beautifull lodge you will find your own canoa to explore the lake and the two rivers.
The perfect place to relax in the nature ... with all the conforts!
The food is excellent and all the people in the lodge are really kind!
There is also a small privat sand beach ... the wather of the lake is unexpectedly warm.
The more beautifull place that I have visited in Canda!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our most recent visit was June 23rd 2012 and we were celebrating our anniversary.....owners Erik and Poppy and staff were aware of this and we found champaign and chocolates in our cabin on the last evening. The Butter Tarts, which I had been dreaming about for weeks ahead of time, were delicious and I asked the staff to throw in a couple extra for our lunch, which they were packing for us the next day when we left on a canoe trip. We saw mother and baby moose, fox and loons. We had a great time !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We read quite a few reviews on Tripadvisor before visiting Killarney Lodge.

Overall, their description and most of the reviews were quite accurate. The cabins have a rustic feel to them and are very basic. The natural surroundings of Algonquin park are amazing and truly beautiful. We took advantage of the hiking trails and truly enjoyed our break there.

Our cabin had direct lakefront access and we enjoyed our privacy. I really liked how they took the time to pack lunches as it allowed us to spend more time outdoors. I understand that many people complained about the proximity to the highway, however I must say it wasn't that bad or enough of a nuisance to make or break our stay. Granted we spent the weekend there and I'm not sure if there's more truck traffic on the weekdays - but it was quiet throughout the night and we didn't feel it affected our experience at the Lodge.

Food - the portions are very generous and plentiful which is nice if you've done a lot of exercise throughout the day! The quality was decent and the choice was varied. The only thing I did not like was how fast the plates came. Our first night felt very rushed. The entire 3 course dinner was over in 40 mins... I like things being spaced out whereas on the first night the minute one dish was picked up the next course was already ready on its way. This I didn't like. However the next day was notably different and better spaced.

Overall, we would likely visit again. It's good value for money and it's a good escape from the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MG_Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Firstly, thank you for your observations about our proximity to the highway. We appreciate you pointing out it really wasn't much of an issue during your stay. While the odd TA review has commented on the road, our experience over 29 years of being here is that the vast majority of our guests never even say anything at all about it. Yes, there is some noise during the midday, but at night it's very quiet except for the odd vehicle. It truly is very peaceful.
Secondly, we apologize if you felt rushed at your first dinner. We wish you had asked your server to slow things down. Yes, we do tend to keep the food moving along ... but that is only because many of our guests still want to do more things outside after dinner and are therefore not wanting to linger. Such is particularly true May-July (when you were here) because there is daylight until 9:30 or so ... leaving lots of time for a canoe paddle, a sunset hike on the Lookout trail or just a leisurely drive looking for moose. That said, we are always happy to accommodate a slower pace at dinner for guests so inclined. While we do try to pick up their "signals", it is equally helpful if they let us know that the service is just a little too fast for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Killarney Lodge the end of June 2012 for 30th wedding anniversary. Our first time there. Our cabin..#7 was very nice and must have been recently renovated, we couldn't have asked for a better cabin. The cabin was just steps from waters edge with a canoe and chair and dock to fish off...yes my husband caught a fish off the dock! We fed the creatures and had a red squirrel and chipmunks eating from our hands. In fact our chipmunk...feisty little guy, would be looking in our window when heard us return. Bring raw peanuts, they are not shy about coming on your lap! Even the bluejays and ducks were eating our peanuts.
The food was amazing...gourmet for sure. I have never had lobster tail cooked quite so good. And the desserts, well they were just a little bit too good, gained some weight...my fault not theirs. I can't say there was a meal I didn't enjoy.
We hiked 5 trails while we were there, they were all within easy driving distance from the lodge. We saw a moose at the side of the road and 2 Martens while hiking on the Big Pines Trail...heard they were elusive so it was a rare treat to actually see not one but 2. The water at the lodge was warm enough for swimming and the fish were biting when fishing. It rained for part of one day so that gave us some down time to relax out on the porch and feed the critters peanuts.
Now our only complaint...the dog that was barking on and off for the better part of one night....really people can't you at least try to keep the mutt quiet out of respect for the sleeping guests??
All in all a great trip and yes I would most definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siamesekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Sorry ... but was A BEAR!! I'm certain that you were here the night we had a bear at midnight "visiting" our kitchen and food storage area. What you heard was me and my dog Freddy (barking ferociously) chasing this bear around the property for 2-3 hours to get him to finally go away. And yes we did pass right by your Cabin #7 several times! Anyway it appears the bear got the message because he didn't return in subsequent nights :)
I'm surprised that you didn't hear about it in the dining room at breakfast because we did try to tell guests what had happened to explain all the racket. Perhaps we missed telling you? ... our apologies.
Otherwise, thank you for your generous comments about our food and your stay here. We'll look forward to seeing back for ... your 35th? ... your 40th?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We would definitely return to Killarney Lodge, we stayed for 2 nights in early June and could've happily stayed a week - the meals are wonderful and you can have as much as you want to eat, we even had packed lunches, including coolers and a thermos, for day trips. A canoe, life vest and your park pass is included, which, if you make full use of it, and factor in the wonderful food, the price is well worth it. Make sure you pick up some free nuts to feed the chipmunks!

Room Tip: We had lodge 20 (a Prime Cabin) which was extremely private and spacious and had beautiful views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have stayed at Killarney several times and will return in the future. the "lodge" consists of individual rustic-looking cottages, with good quality bedding and bathrooms inside. Meals are served in a restaurant located in a separate log cabin. The property is on a peninsula and all cottages are on the lake. Cottages come with a full meal plan, a canoe, a park pass. Staying at a four-star seasonal resort like Killarney in a relatively remote location comes at a price. It is worth it!
Our only beef is the noise of the odd truck on the highway at night: the sound travels over the lake to your cottage.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontarian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for saying that, despite the price, it's worth it to stay here. It certainly is, as you point out, more expensive to operate in a remote location like ours.
As well we agree that it is too bad about the odd truck at night. The blessing is it is ONLY the odd truck ... with long periods of silence in between :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
10.1 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
31.3 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Property: Killarney Lodge
Address: Highway 60 - Km 33 | Lake of Two Rivers, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our central location in the Park provides a convenient way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... There's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... In the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric & Poppy and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. (Pets accepted in limited number of cabins only - please enquire) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Algonquin Park
Killarney Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing