We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Killarney Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Algonquin Provincial Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Walker Lake Resort(Huntsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
173
61
19
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
61
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noisemain lakeeach mealdining roomwe've stayedlog cabinsnacks and drinkspecan piepacked lunchlight sleeperthree coursessmall docka wonderful stayview of the lakebring your owninsect repellentwonderful food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 260 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our most recent visit was June 23rd 2012 and we were celebrating our anniversary.....owners Erik and Poppy and staff were aware of this and we found champaign and chocolates in our cabin on the last evening. The Butter Tarts, which I had been dreaming about for weeks ahead of time, were delicious and I asked the staff to throw in a couple extra for our lunch, which they were packing for us the next day when we left on a canoe trip. We saw mother and baby moose, fox and loons. We had a great time !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We read quite a few reviews on Tripadvisor before visiting Killarney Lodge.

Overall, their description and most of the reviews were quite accurate. The cabins have a rustic feel to them and are very basic. The natural surroundings of Algonquin park are amazing and truly beautiful. We took advantage of the hiking trails and truly enjoyed our break there.

Our cabin had direct lakefront access and we enjoyed our privacy. I really liked how they took the time to pack lunches as it allowed us to spend more time outdoors. I understand that many people complained about the proximity to the highway, however I must say it wasn't that bad or enough of a nuisance to make or break our stay. Granted we spent the weekend there and I'm not sure if there's more truck traffic on the weekdays - but it was quiet throughout the night and we didn't feel it affected our experience at the Lodge.

Food - the portions are very generous and plentiful which is nice if you've done a lot of exercise throughout the day! The quality was decent and the choice was varied. The only thing I did not like was how fast the plates came. Our first night felt very rushed. The entire 3 course dinner was over in 40 mins... I like things being spaced out whereas on the first night the minute one dish was picked up the next course was already ready on its way. This I didn't like. However the next day was notably different and better spaced.

Overall, we would likely visit again. It's good value for money and it's a good escape from the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MG_Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Firstly, thank you for your observations about our proximity to the highway. We appreciate you pointing out it really wasn't much of an issue during your stay. While the odd TA review has commented on the road, our experience over 29 years of being here is that the vast majority of our guests never even say anything at all about it. Yes, there is some noise during the midday, but at night it's very quiet except for the odd vehicle. It truly is very peaceful.
Secondly, we apologize if you felt rushed at your first dinner. We wish you had asked your server to slow things down. Yes, we do tend to keep the food moving along ... but that is only because many of our guests still want to do more things outside after dinner and are therefore not wanting to linger. Such is particularly true May-July (when you were here) because there is daylight until 9:30 or so ... leaving lots of time for a canoe paddle, a sunset hike on the Lookout trail or just a leisurely drive looking for moose. That said, we are always happy to accommodate a slower pace at dinner for guests so inclined. While we do try to pick up their "signals", it is equally helpful if they let us know that the service is just a little too fast for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Killarney Lodge the end of June 2012 for 30th wedding anniversary. Our first time there. Our cabin..#7 was very nice and must have been recently renovated, we couldn't have asked for a better cabin. The cabin was just steps from waters edge with a canoe and chair and dock to fish off...yes my husband caught a fish off the dock! We fed the creatures and had a red squirrel and chipmunks eating from our hands. In fact our chipmunk...feisty little guy, would be looking in our window when heard us return. Bring raw peanuts, they are not shy about coming on your lap! Even the bluejays and ducks were eating our peanuts.
The food was amazing...gourmet for sure. I have never had lobster tail cooked quite so good. And the desserts, well they were just a little bit too good, gained some weight...my fault not theirs. I can't say there was a meal I didn't enjoy.
We hiked 5 trails while we were there, they were all within easy driving distance from the lodge. We saw a moose at the side of the road and 2 Martens while hiking on the Big Pines Trail...heard they were elusive so it was a rare treat to actually see not one but 2. The water at the lodge was warm enough for swimming and the fish were biting when fishing. It rained for part of one day so that gave us some down time to relax out on the porch and feed the critters peanuts.
Now our only complaint...the dog that was barking on and off for the better part of one night....really people can't you at least try to keep the mutt quiet out of respect for the sleeping guests??
All in all a great trip and yes I would most definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siamesekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Sorry ... but was A BEAR!! I'm certain that you were here the night we had a bear at midnight "visiting" our kitchen and food storage area. What you heard was me and my dog Freddy (barking ferociously) chasing this bear around the property for 2-3 hours to get him to finally go away. And yes we did pass right by your Cabin #7 several times! Anyway it appears the bear got the message because he didn't return in subsequent nights :)
I'm surprised that you didn't hear about it in the dining room at breakfast because we did try to tell guests what had happened to explain all the racket. Perhaps we missed telling you? ... our apologies.
Otherwise, thank you for your generous comments about our food and your stay here. We'll look forward to seeing back for ... your 35th? ... your 40th?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We would definitely return to Killarney Lodge, we stayed for 2 nights in early June and could've happily stayed a week - the meals are wonderful and you can have as much as you want to eat, we even had packed lunches, including coolers and a thermos, for day trips. A canoe, life vest and your park pass is included, which, if you make full use of it, and factor in the wonderful food, the price is well worth it. Make sure you pick up some free nuts to feed the chipmunks!

Room Tip: We had lodge 20 (a Prime Cabin) which was extremely private and spacious and had beautiful views of the lake and forest.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have stayed at Killarney several times and will return in the future. the "lodge" consists of individual rustic-looking cottages, with good quality bedding and bathrooms inside. Meals are served in a restaurant located in a separate log cabin. The property is on a peninsula and all cottages are on the lake. Cottages come with a full meal plan, a canoe, a park pass. Staying at a four-star seasonal resort like Killarney in a relatively remote location comes at a price. It is worth it!
Our only beef is the noise of the odd truck on the highway at night: the sound travels over the lake to your cottage.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated cottage.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontarian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric-Poppy, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for saying that, despite the price, it's worth it to stay here. It certainly is, as you point out, more expensive to operate in a remote location like ours.
As well we agree that it is too bad about the odd truck at night. The blessing is it is ONLY the odd truck ... with long periods of silence in between :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews