We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is my idea of camping!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killarney Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is my idea of camping!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the lodge.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay , however I think a screened in porch would be a major plus to the cabin.
As there are no tv 's in the cabin, it would be nice to sit on the balcony and enjoy the quiet, peaceful surroundings. We were unable to sit out as we would be eaten alive by the Mosquitos .
We had cabin 11 which was quiet. However I can see where truck and car noises are easily heard from cabins facing the road.!
I am a very light sleeper and heard no noise other than thunderstorms.
I would return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fleuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    55
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
150
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was our third trip to Killarney and hopefully it won't be the last. The three square meals a day are superb. The staff are knowledgeable of the area and all are helpful. The beds are very comfortable and cozy and warm with plenty of pillows and extra blankets.Sleep with the windows open and you'll be able to hear the loons and if you're lucky enough, the wolves. We did. Breathe slow and deep and enjoy the Killarney experience and the Ontario North lands and leave your cell phone at home. Enjoy!

Elaine and Steve

Room Tip: The staff at the front desk will be able to assist you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

The food here is marvellous - unfortunately you are pretty much guaranteed to put on weight. Service is warm and friendly. The cabins are small and clean and they are certainly atmospheric. We looked out our window onto the Lake of Two Rivers, our own canoe by the waterside. We saw lots of interesting birds (especially the beautiful hummingbirds) and mammals around. You can feed the tame chipmunks by hand which is fun. My only let down was the noise from the highway. I expected to feel isolated but I did not, except perhaps at night. I think the cabins facing the main lake are quieter and certainly don't have any view of the road. No TV or wi-fi makes for a nice change of pace! As does a paddle in your own canoe on the lake.

Room Tip: Main lake view if you can but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We recently stayed at the Killarney Lodge with relatives from Germany for the "Canadian Experience". It was everything we expected - great accommodation (our cabin deck was at the water's edge), great Group of Seven scenery, great food, and wonderful friendly staff. We hiked, we canoed, and we saw an abundance of wildlife - moose, deer, loons, and turtles. A fantastic vacation spot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Cabins beautifully maintained, spacious, warm, balconies overlooking the lake, canoes with each cabin, very comfortable beds
Meals included in price - huge portions and home-cooked. Also always free tea and coffee and cookies.
Delightful lounge with wildlife books, papers and magazines, log fire
Lots of wildlife around - hummingbirds, chipmunks, red squirrels, moose on road
Bring your own alcohol

Room Tip: Ask for one furthest from main road facing East
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katherinet1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was our second time at the lodge. The wonderful grounds, quaint accomodations, tasty meals and best of all the company.

Eric and Poppy and their entire staff go out of their way to accomodate every need and want.

The rooms are individual cottages with their own deck, dock and canoe.

The meals are fantastic home cooked meals all to die for. And the deserts are so yummy.

If you are looking for a peacful, restful experience, Killarney Lodge is the place to stay in the park.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie-Marcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Now the cold winter evenings are here, I think back with warmth to my one and only break in a busy summer. My work had kept me in the city with only business calls and a couple of weddings as excursions. By late summer I really needed a break - not a long holiday with the complexities of planning, airports and passports - but a quiet pause, a change from the pace I'd been running at. What better, I thought, than some peace and quite in the wilderness of Algonquin Park. As my camping days are probably all behind me now, I sort out more comfortable options!

I had travelled through the park on several occasions and noted that there were just three Lodges actually inside the Park, in fact I had dined at two of them and checked out the ambiance and accommodations there some years before. Instead, after looking at their website, I thought I would book in at Killarney Lodge for two nights.
I arrived around mid afternoon already thinking this was a good idea as the drive to the Lodge was relaxing and the first splashes of brilliant Fall colours showed off that impressive landscape.

I was warmly welcomed and took a cabin on the lake side of the little peninsular and set out to look around the property. My first impressions were of a charming, casually placed log cabins scattered around the larger than expected property. The main building, a solid log structure housing reception and cosy dining room dated from the 1930s and other structures and guest cabins dated from that time on, though maintaining the same look and feel and all painted in the surprisingly appropriate black wood stain with red trim. I did look at different configurations in a couple of other cabins, but settled on the one recommended. The cabin was a good size with a cosy sitting area, an enormous (and comfortable) bed, a well appointed bathroom and… a spectacular view from the windows, side door and spacious deck where I would spend several hours over the following days. I didn't expect - or want - an overly luxurious suite with TV, radio, minibar, telephone and "Do Not Disturb" sign. I had come to enjoy the wilderness, not be isolated form it! In any case the only sounds that might 'disturb' me would be from the wildlife - and loons can't read. Instead I found canoe paddles, a life jacket, some eclectic pictures and good bed sheets in a spotless and shiny cabin.

Items from the menu, hearty or light, were excellent - cooked well and nicely presented. After a day or two of fresh air, exercise and deep sleep, my appetite was almost a match for such generous portions.
Using the complimentary pass, I did some gentle exploring of the Park, the Visitor Centre, a couple of hikes with spectacular views, spotted moose, a dawn and a sunset paddle on the lake, read a little, napped a little, bought a couple of items from the Lodge gallery.

I also stayed an extra night!

I might point to the facilities, the comfort or the outright charming and friendly service, the owners - Eric's mine of enthusiastic information and Poppy's warmth and good humour. I might say it was the beautiful Algonquin Park, the wildlife, the still and starry nights… What I think I found on the trip was peace and quiet - MY peace and quiet and that's what I brought home with me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dailies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
10.1 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waring House
Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
13.4 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Property: Killarney Lodge
Address: Highway 60, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our central location in the Park provides a convenient way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... There's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... In the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric & Poppy and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. (Pets accepted in limited number of cabins only - please enquire) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Algonquin Park
Killarney Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing