We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Arowhon Pines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arowhon Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just amazing. Stayed in two room cabin, very open but quite big. No TV, an amazing place to read though. Wonderful weather (went there in July). The food is to die for! With multiple courses at every meal. Gourmet options at all, but options for picky eaters are avaiable. Giannnt dinner & desert table at lunch & dinner, filled with amazing beautiful deserts. I remember the maple mousse the best.

Great tennis court! Amazing kayaking opportunities...giant lake all around the resort than you can kayak around all day in the daylight and at sunset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    32
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
97
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four days late September/early October. We went at that time hoping for great foliage. Leaf color was at peak and peak in Algonquin Provincial Park is better than anything I have ever seen. It would not be possible to overstate how beautiful. Arowhon Pines was a perfect complement. On a gorgeous lake...two or three little piers to walk out on with a couple of dozen very comfortable outdoor lounges to enjoy the sun, the colors, the water...in the summer I am sure a great place to swim. Ample kayaks and canoes are available whenever the mood strikes you. There are lots of walking trails in the area, many connecting many lakes enroute. The cabins are warm and comfortable, a fireplace they fix everyday in the common area. The rooms while not "elegant" they are updated and very comfortable and quiet...we were in a three room cabin. The food was outstanding...quality, quantity and variety. I was not surprised to learn that for several years in the 90s they enjoyed Relais and Chateaux membership, voluntarily stepping down. Great views from the dining room over the lake. There is also a wraparound porch with lots of comfortable chairs to read, talk or do nothing. The staff were extraordinary...nice, took initiative to anticipate needs, nothing was too much trouble, everything done with a warmth and smile...and this from staff from "bottom" to "top". The game room was comfortable...good place to read, watch the nightly movie, select and play table games, stare at the fire, sit on its covered porch. It was also nice to be 5 km from the "main" road down a dirt road, truly away from it all. It is not inexpensive but does fall into that category that while paying a lot, you get the quality you expect for what you pay. We will certainly go back. I might add that we combined our four days here with a previous two days attending the wonderful theater in Niagara on the Lake, about 4 1/2 hours south...it's a nice combination...and Toronto is in between.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This place is in a lovely setting. Food is very good. We stayed on a cabin near the lake. Decor wasn't the log cabin Canadiana that one should expect for such high prices. It was 1970's motel. Carpet on floors looks worn, orange laminate counter top in bathroom. Sofas dated with pictures more to motel from 70's. Don't mean to trash he place but its way past time to update the cabins.
Service is very good. I think many clients have been coming here for years some as children and its more nostalgic than substance and value. Stayed here in Sept. 2011.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AncasterOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We started going here in 1996 and love it. It is VERY secluded, quiet, serene and peaceful. The food is outstanding, and there's lots to do (or you can do nothing, if you prefer). I commented to someone before going there that it is so wonderful a location that I would even be happy if it rained the whole time (it didn't).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Arowhon is the perfect combination of laid back, but so very comfortable you won't want for anything more. Theresa, the Manager and David, their head cook made my wedding weekend much more of a breeze than it should have been. Despite some rainy weather and months of planning from afar, they made us and all of our guests feel so at home. The surroundings speak for themselves. The food was great as well - fresh, healthy and very yum!

I would say that it's just what you want if you're looking for comfort in some amazing wilderness surroundings. This is my second stay and I'm already planning for another stay hopefully in the next few years!

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying extra, the private cabins are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am a Marriage Officiant and Arowhon is one of my fav. spots. The staff are willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. They make every bride and groom and guests feel so special. I've heard nothing but high praise from the couples about all the wonderful things including service, rooms and food. I would like to stay there myself next summer even if I live in Huntsville. Right in the heart of Algonquin Park. Very special and romantic place.
ellen

Room Tip: I am a wedding officiant and having done many weddings at Arowhon, I can honestly say, the staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuskokaDreamsWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you come to Arowhon Pines expecting a Hotel experience then you have booked the wrong experience....this is an experience of a completely different type.
This is the second visit in 5 years for me and my wife and nothing is different from the welcome luggage service (called for in the car par via a telephone in a box....and serviced by golf buggy) to the packed lunches allowing you to search out all the best parts of the Algonquin National Park.
The management and staff are excellent and deserve all the praise for delivering such a great time and just driving off Highway 60 the 7km makes you feel special until the moment you round the last bend into the car park.
Some reviews suggest poor value when the reviewers have stopped for lunch or dinner....actually you need to stay here to make the meals part of the event.
On one evening it was roast beef and Yorkshire puddings......tasting out of this world and supported by a chocolate cup cake as my wife and I are celebrating out 25th wedding and 50th birthday anniversaries.
The packed lunches were another treat with the only challenge being selecting which venue and beautiful view to stop at and eat. 
Activities....many or just sit back and listen to the local animal noises from dawn to dusk to dawn.
The rooms....basic but then you don't book Arowhon Pines if you want 5 star hotel rooms.
It's tranquil with no mobile phones, blackberrys, tv, radio or any modern invasion into our lives....and yes, I use these every day normally so it comes as a great break.
The downside....it has to end and I hope it's not another 5 years until the next visit but then I do live on the other side of the pond.
Thanks Arowhon Pines and don't change.....my only request is maybe to visit mid winter when the snow is around 30ft deep or maybe not!

Room Tip: They are all of a similar standard....just get one by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
105 reviews
18.8 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
349 reviews
23.4 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
23.9 mi away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Dwight
54 reviews
19.2 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arowhon Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arowhon Pines

Property: Arowhon Pines
Address: North on Arowhon Road to end from Hwy 60 at km 15.4 | Box 10001, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arowhon Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arowhon Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arowhon Pines Algonquin Park
Arowhon Pines Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing