We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here the last weekend of Feb and have to say we had a great time.

We were a little tentative after looking at the website and even more unsure after reading the bad reviews. But we took the plunge and decided to book at the Eco-Lodge after realizing that the bad reviews were all old and it appears from people expecting the Hilton.

All I can say is that we were pleasantly surprised with every aspect of the trip. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Robin is very knowledgeable and fun to talk to. The rooms were clean and as pictured on the website. The food was tasty, fairly healthy and plenty as seconds were available. We even didn't touch the snacks we brought along.

We also really enjoyed hanging out with the other guests. The hot tub and polar bear dip was wild. Never thought I would jump in a lake in the winter! The scenery is beautiful and skiing was good even though there was a thaw beforehand.

This place is for you if you want to get away from the crowd, love nature and be with like minded people.

We hope to be back every year.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Toronto416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

A place for a wonderful cross-country ski. Despite some terrible weather in the days before we arrived - rain and a heat wave, followed by a freeze - the main trails were in very skiable shape, and led to some great views. We also enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere over breakfast and dinner in the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmacdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This lodge catered to our needs fantastically! The food was excellent, the lodge was clean, warm and comfortable. The scenery and trails were amazing! The long, uphill climb to Bushwackers lookout was the highlight of our weekend. After a physically challenging day, the sauna and hot tub were welcome sights!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey_Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We love the tranquility of Algonquin Park. In the summer, entering from the public put-ins, it can take a day or two of paddling to get the solitude we seek.

Here, a pleasant 2.3km walk or ski-in will get you there.

You will not be alone, there could be another 20 people there with you, but over the 30+ years that I have been coming here, they have always been compatible souls seeking the same delight of being one with nature. Not only that, with the vast numbers of trails and water-ways available, meeting them while out and about is a rarity and a brief opportunity to exchange new discoveries.

During the summer Robin can arrange for horseback riding; this winter he arranged for dog sledding through the forest. What a trill !

I see that others have commented positively about the facilities, food and service, and justifiably so, so I’ll just go back to the part about meeting other guests.

As mealtimes approach, people start gathering in the common room and stories and experiences start to flow. Entertaining for sure, but more can be learned here from fellow adventurers than you’ll get from any travel publication.

Although it has remained rustic and isolated, over the years this wilderness lodge has become a little more comfortable, which the body has adapted to very nicely.

We’ve both said goodbye to our sixties a while ago, but with new hips and knees, we can still enjoy discovering animal tracks, spotting deer, watching hawks soar, listening to the call of the crows, the Hairy tapping on the left and the Pileated pounding on the right. Oh, and the chickadees, don’t forget the chickadees.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HankaBout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

A very special place where we were made very wlecome and where we were able to mix with visitors from various countries who appreciated the peace and calm of a facility that was far from the madding crowd.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARETHINDYFED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Eco Lodge which was a fantastic experience in a truly wonderful setting. We were warmly welcomed by Edgart and Senta who run the lodge and the guests who were already there. People come and go on a daily basis as most only stay for two or three nights. When we were there we had a maximum of 8 other guests so it was very quiet as the lodge can take up to about 30 guests. The newly installed showers and toilets were very clean and pleasant. Bedrooms are small but you go to the lodge for the outside experience and outdoor activities so we did not really spend any time in the room apart from sleeping. We booked the guided canoe and hiking trips which were great as it gave us the opportunity to explore the local lakes and forest with piece of mind knowing that we were not at risk of getting lost on our own! The hot tub was not working when we stayed which was a shame but I believe they are installing a new one for next year. If you have stayed in a skiing chalet it is a very similar experience. Food was very good, Breakfast and Dinner served in the lodge at the same time every day and a very nice packed lunch provided.

If you do go you must remember slippers (no shoes in the lodge) towels, torch and any alcohol you may wish to drink as you are many miles from any shops and the lodge does not sell or provide alcohol but very happy for guests to bring their own.

Over all a brilliant place to stay for a few days, get away from it all and meet new people from all around the world. If you have stayed in a skiing chalet it is a very similar experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelmsfordtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I loved the setting and the beautiful pond. Swimming was beautiful. Had to walk out fairly far to get to canoes on a lake - the paddle across the pond was just a few minutes.

Rooms are very small with bunk beds.

Food was not well planned. No attempt to eat local or even meet Canada's food guide.

Robin (the owner) never even said hello to us. I though that was odd.

I thought the lodge was overpriced for what we got. Had been to another eco-lodge (that truly was one) with much better food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesthewilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingMan99, Owner at Algonquin Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Our private lake/pond is 1 km across and it takes about 30 minutes to paddle all the way around. This can be seen from the photos on our website - just look at the Scenery photo album, or Google Maps.

The canoes we keep on the river for the day trip to High Falls are only a 10 minute walk from the Lodge.

The rooms are smaller than a "standard" highway side motel and don't come equipped with a TV or coffee machine, but most guests are at a wilderness lodge to enjoy the outdoors. The beds are custom built pine log beds (yes, some are custom built bunks) with new mattresses. Again, photos of the beds and rooms are on our website under the "Inside Lodge" photo album.

As much as possible we buy all the food from the local farmers market in Maynooth, so it is very seasonal and local. We can't get everything there, though, so the rest of our supplies are bought in Bancroft. In 2009 our chef was even making her own home made granola bars for the eco-minded guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 2 in Eagle Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
9.8 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Property: Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Address: Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Eco-Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing