We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a fantastic stay and were able to truly unwind and enjoy a complete off-the-grid experience!
A nice hike on a well-maintained trail through woodland leads to the lodge and helps leave
the city's hustle and bustle behind.
The place just brims with rustic charm and has a cozy seating area with a wood stove where you can enjoy simple pleasures such as reading, board games or good conversation.
The meals were both hearty and healthy, with lots of fruit and fresh vegetables and the staff was always friendly and helpful.
The hot tub and sauna were a welcome opportunity to relax and warm up after a day of hiking through woods and on frozen lakes, and the polar bear dip was definitely a highlight!

We will definitely return and recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just got back from a winter weekend up at the Eco-lodge.

Look, it's rustic, but good rustic. Filling meals, comfy beds, a warm fireplace, and the great outdoors. Read the details they give you (like bringing warm sleeping bags in the winter, knowing there's a 2km hike into it, etc...) and you'll be golden. If you're expecting the Four Seasons, go somewhere else.

Plus, it's all green energy and there's a killer outdoors hot-tub right at the lake. Y'know what's better than sitting in a hot tub outdoors under the stars in the middle of winter?Or snowshoeing through the woods on trails covered in wolf tracks? Not a lot...

Room Tip: Some rooms can be cold in the winter - bring a warm sleeping bag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Eco Lodge in October 2013 and really enjoyed it. The food was fabulous, our bedroom in the main lodge was comfortable and perfectly adequate and the communal sitting area was very relaxing. We did think that one's experience of the Eco Lodge would be affected by the other people staying there, as you all eat together and at that time of the year it goes dark early so you would spend time with the other visitors in the evenings as there is nowhere else to go. We were really lucky and enjoyed the company of our fellow guests.
I would definitely recommend the Eco-Lodge. It has a fantastic drying room which was really useful because we got soaked in the rain. We saw chipmunks and some beautiful blue birds but were disappointed not to see any other wildlife.The autumn leaves were spectacular and the walking and canoeing were magical.The staff took a lot of trouble to explain routes and directions to us and were helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

Room Tip: We were glad that our room was in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In reading the positive reviews, I can only assume we were at a different Eco-Lodge. We went for a winter weekend last year, and found the bedroom wings were not heated. (the room was under 50f - we froze) The main area of the lodge had a log burning stove as it's sole heat source which the guests jockeyed to get close to, to warm up. (it couldn't properly heat the entire lounge area) We actually went outside to ski, in order to warm-up.
The food was VERY basic, and served on ice cold plates = cold food almost immediately. There were no tracks set when we got there, they were set on a 'on-demand' basis depending on where we wanted to ski, so we would wait for the groomer first each time we wanted to ski. The hosts were very helpful and friendly, although at times a bit clueless. (like loading wood while we ate, the exterior door being directly next to the dining table. Ice cold outdoor air pouring in all the while) . The ski trail grooming left us wondering if the groomer actually ever skied himself - some impossible turns & such. I think this place has great potential, but should be considered a 3 season getaway, or be prepared to freeze if you go in the winter.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room in the winter - they're warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xray380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went for a long weekend wedding. I'm from England and not really a camper. This trip changed my mind. You get all of the great outdoor experiece and a comfortable bed, shower, loo etc. Staff are fantastic. Edgars could not be more helpful and Santa's cooking is great. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is really unique, and worth a visit if you are interested in visiting algonquin park, but do not want to camp.

You have to appreciate that it is not a 5 star hotel. It is not meant to be! It is cozy, comfortable, and very clean. Our room just had a bed, a light and a window in it. Bathrooms/showers are shared but extremely clean. The people who run it are very personable and work like crazy to make sure guests are happy. The meals were tasty and it is clear that the cook puts some extra effort into making them special. It's nice to have good home cooking at the end of a day spent outdoors. They even built a campfire just for us and gave us the ingredients for s'mores - an essential item on a trip to the park, if you ask me! It was little touches like this that made the service so outstanding.

The property was spectacular. You are in the park. The lake was lovely and warm - great for swimming. There were nice trails to walk around in. We were so comfortable reading and watching nature from the deck of the lodge that we did not take the opportunity to borrow the canoe and head into the wilderness for a few hours - maybe next time.

As long as you are open to something a little different from the usual hotel, I highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: in the summer, request a room on the ground floor. I expect it would get hot upstairs - remember, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amf_stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I wanted to experience our great Canadian winter by playing in the snow in Ontario's wilderness. I am so glad that my friends picked the Eco-lodge in Algonquin park this year. The snow was clean and pristine, and luckily, we even saw a deer as we were heading back! It is a great place to do snow-shoeing, and cross-country skiing. The staff at the lodge were very accommodating because they prepared hot vegetarian meals for a few of us who were vegans and vegetarians. And they even give hot chocolate after an outdoor trip in the cold. The owner Robin is a very helpful and knowledgable resource, willing to show the property. Great trip overall and highly recommended to everyone, especially to newcomers to Canada!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palvinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
170 reviews
15.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 5 in Madawaska
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Address: 3594 Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range: $232 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Eco-Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing