We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Together with my wife we spend the long weekend at the Eco-Lodge, it was an excellent wilderness cottage experience, the facility is very clean, very enjoyable, the staff is very friendly. Food is excellent, the meals are very delicious it always made us look forward to the next meal. This place generates its own electricity, its super environmentally friendly, the plumbing and electrical is modern and efficient, and the place is very independent ! The landscape is very beautiful, there are 2 lakes, rivers, canoes to spend some quality and quiet time. Lots of wildlife to see, I have seen few rabbits, a small snake, 1 deer, a groundhog, frogs and 1 black bear nearby village close to dump station there. Rain or shine, the eco-lodge is a great place to spend some time there ! Robin the maintenance person / owner is a super friendly person, the staff Edgar and Santra are very friendly courteous people. We will be visiting the eco-lodge again and we will recomment it to our friends. In a nutshell in one sentance, a great wilderness lodging experience. Recomment it to everyone.

Matt & Cathy

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good, but lower lever are closer to those who need washroom right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We just came back to home from a quite wild place where we were spending a couple of days without Internet and cellphones services but with mooses, beavers, wolfs and bears around us... and a lots of mosquitoes of course. I can highly recommend Algonquin Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ustymenko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The eco lodge was everything we expected from the web site info and more. The owner and staff were both friendly and accommodating. The meals were very good. The rooms are cozy, warm, and quiet. The ski trails were fun and challenging, the hot tub was relaxing. Meeting other outdoor enthusiasts was a real treat. We will definitely come back again. A big thank you to Robin, Santa, and Edgar for making our eco-lodge experience so wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sh0wSt0pper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I've been to the Eco-Lodge six years in a row, usually with 15 - 20 friends. We sometimes rent the whole lodge. There's a variety of groomed trails, from easy to challenging. Make sure you go up to the Look-out--it's a bit steep at the end but well worth the view.
The lodge is very homey, with tea, coffee, and hot chocolate usually brewing on top of the wood stove.
The owner has also made a lot of improvements over the past two years--upgraded washrooms, showers, etc. Best of all is the outdoor hot tub which now runs the whole weekend. It's powered by the on site hydro generators, replacing the wood-fired one which took forever to get hot. Ski all day, then slip into the hot tub at the edge of the lake to relax the muscles.
Hey, it's not the Hilton and the rooms are basic but comfy. But in my view, you get great value for money. It's the kind of place where there aren't many rules. If you need something, ask Robin the owner and he'll likely be able to accommodate your request.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were looking for accomodation in algonquin Park, and the Eco-Lodge turned out to be a perfect choice. If you are looking for complete quietness and peace and a cozy, relaxed, friendly environment: this is the place to go. We got pampered with excellent food and very friendly service, enjoyed the canoes provided and the hiking trails, the hot tub and the Sauna and the swim in the little lake at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatjana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I have been going to this lodge for over 20 years. I have been thrilled to see the improvements made year over year, especially in the last 5. The steady investment in infrastructure, lodget services and outdoor activities make this destination a pleasure for me year after year.

I must confess I am biased, because I have come to love the pond, trails and river as much as the concept of leaving my car - and worldly concerns - at the parking lot as I hike into the lodge.

The fall colours were excellent this year, as was the hiking, canoeing and hearty food 3 times a day. The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is the perfect combination of services and outdoor recreation for my interests and needs.

Room Tip: They have the main lodge and some cabins by the water. Both have their pro / cons and are worth chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We visited the Eco-lodge during our tour through East-Canada, and stayed 3 days (2 nights). The travel to the lodge was already a nice adventure, challenged by the sun and mosquitos (we used the anti-mosquito spray kindly provided by the Eco lodge). Edgar and Santa gave us à warm welcome. The lake, canoes, jacuzzi and the great lodge made this à great visit to the Algonquin Park. Edgar is great guide and Santa 's meals were very good (delicious latvian meals!). The campfire with marshmellows was big fun (we got lessons in making the wolf cry). Our 3 sons enjoyed the visit to the waterfall à lot, great pictures.
It was an unforgetable trip To à beautiful forrest! I hope my picture of the hummingbird Will be on the website.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walterbaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
15.2 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
67 reviews
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#5 of 10 in Bancroft
22 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Address: 3594 Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range: $229 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Eco-Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing