We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwight Village Motel(Dwight)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Resort(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walker Lake Resort(Huntsville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
74
24
6
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
24
6
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubpolar beardog sleddingprivate lakeother guestsanimal trackswood stovecanoe tripcross country skiwinter wonderlandgreat adventureplenty of board gamesunique experiencegroomed trailsgreat feelingbug repellentlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 116 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here from July 1st to July 3rd. Unfortunately the deer flies, horse flies and mosquitoes were so numerous it made hiking pretty much impossible, so we contented ourselves with using the peddle boat and canoe on Moffat pond. We were told that because of the wet spring the insects were exceptionally bad this year.

The lodge is rustic and cozy. Our room was quite small with just enough room for the double bed and a small dressing area. There was no lock on the door but it was not a problem - no one entered our room when we weren't around. Meals were ok but with it being a lodge there were no choices. The first night we had delicious homemade lasagne. For breakfast the next morning we had banana pancakes with real maple syrup. The second night dinner was a rice mixture with vegetables and chicken. Salad and dessert was included with both dinners. Breakfast the last day was scrambled eggs, sausage and hash browns. Included with breakfast is orange juice and coffee or tea. Lunches consisted of sandwiches, granola bars, fruit and apple juice or peach cocktail. Soon after breakfast the lunches are put out on a side table so people can take a lunch and head out for the day. Breakfast is served around 8:45am and dinners are at 7pm.

Though my wife did not sleep well, I found the double bed was very comfortable - I had the best sleep experience of any trip yet. At night the area is very quiet - there were very few night sounds. Evening during the day it was quiet except for the occasional bird call and the sound of the nearby waterfall.

Early one morning we took the paddle boat to the middle of the pond and just sat silently listening to the sounds of nature as it woke to the new day. It was catharctic and somewhat surreal as we heard distant bird calls all around us, as we sat there out on the still pond.

We used the hot tub one afternoon. It is built into the deck area down by the waters edge, so you have a nice view of the pond as you relax in the tub. At night they often have a bonfire, otherwise there is little else to do.

We enjoyed a very relaxing weekend at Algonquin Eco-Lodge and would recommend it to others but I suggest going later in the summer when there are fewer insects.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gdbear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had a very nice weekend. They took the trouble to arrange transportation from Toronto for us and got us all the way up to Algonquin Park. The Lodge is just a beautiful place near a frozen lake (we were there during winter) and with lots of hiking, snowshoeiing, cross-country ski and snowscooter trails all around. It was a great adventure to get out there and explore the wilderness. By the look of the fresh tracks everywhere, there was wildlife all around. I guess we scared them off because we were too loud to actually see them. We even tried a wolf howl and got a faint response on the second night!!
At night, there is no light pollution and I saw a clear sky full of stars for the first time in my life. Just sensational! We had lots of fun in the outdoor hottub, because outside it was -20 C and we were boiling in there. A great experience to do the Polar Bear Dip as well.
The staff was very personal and lots of fantastic stories of living in the park. I really enjoyed the warm treatment we got. On Sunday, they arranged for us to go dogsledding which was just absolute fun! Eventually, they brought us back to Toronto and I am sad to say our weekend was over..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WouterKouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I won't try to explain all of the great aspects and offerings of the Algonquin Eco-Lodge; That's what their website is for. I will mention that our weekend at the lodge was one that we will never forget. We loved being able to experience so many activities and adventures during the day and then coming back to the lodge and having all of the comforts of home, including warm company and delicious meals.
If you are looking for a true getaway(no phones or internet) without all of the stress and complexities of camping, then this place is a wonderful way to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We have been coming here for several years and always enjoy the rustic serenity of being in Algonquin Park. The walk in from the road adds to the solitude effect. The staff were great, catering to special diet requirements, and the food was very good. The hot tub and wood fired sauna at the edge of the lake were great, as was the polar bear dip throught he ice. Where else can you sit in a hot tub at the edge of a lake, with no light pollution and get an incredible star watching view at the same time. The rooms are small, and we enjoyed the TV/internet free zone to meet other similar minded guests and play board games, or just read by the wood stove which heats the lodge. The website accurately depicts the lodge, so if you want a 5 star hotel with private room and TV, this is not for you! But if you like snowshoeing/skiing in the beauty of Algonquin park, meeting nice folks, this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skiinbikinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband and I were looking for an adventure, something you can't find just anywhere and we sure did find it here! Upon reaching the gate, we offloaded our few bags into the shed for the staff to pick up by snowmobile and take the the lodge for us, strapped on our snow shoes and began the stunning 30 minute trek along a winding, deeply forested snow covered path to the lodge buried deep within the beauty of the Algonquin Forest.

When we arrived, our luggage was already waiting for us and so were the few staff, with warm smiles, a short tour and a hot pot of tea on the wood stove. The lodge was cozy and unassuming, there are no phones, tv or internet, just peace and quiet; a complete refuge and the opportunity to feel connected to nature and the incredible energy it provides.

We promptly took the opportunity to sit by the warm fire, relax and thoroughly enjoy the peace and quiet. Our entire stay was one adventure after the other, interrupted only by the delicious meals and excellent company of the laid back and knowledgeable lodge owner, Robin, his friendly staff and the other guests. There were three other couples there at the same time and a Mother with her teenage daughter. The lodge was decked out with all manner of games and books when we were looking for something to do inside after a long day of exploring and there was always the comfy couches and warm inviting fire that were the perfect scenario for curling up with a great book.

Out of doors in the winter, there are many km's of excellent groomed ski trails, several beautiful snow shoe trails, dog sledding (not to be missed) and a cleared skating rink on the huge private lake. We enjoyed a fun night hike each evening after dinner and a wolf howl to try and attract the resident pack. There is no shortage of wildlife, from moose and deer to wolves and beaver, many birds.... After all that fun, there is also the hot tub; it's always hot and the sauna is heavenly to follow. There is even a polar bear dip hole cut into the ice nearby for the brave at heart - my husband just had to try it and we will never forget that moment!

The most interesting part about this lodge? All the hydro on property is generated by an amazing technology called Micro-hydro. They generate their own power from a waterfall on the small river that runs through their land, so the overall footprint is greatly reduced. Check out their website for a demo video that adequately describes how it all works @ www.algonquinecolodge.com. There are no shortage of amenities though, indoor and outdoor lighting, hot water, showers, a nice bathroom with clean, new flush toilets, sauna, hot tub and a full service kitchen. You will truly lack for nothing!

We will definitely return again during the summer season to see how the experience differs but have no doubt that it will be just as much fun swimming, canoeing, hiking, mountain biking or nature watching. No matter what the season, or what the activities, the charm of this lodge is that it resides remotely within one of the most beautiful, magical forests and remains virtually untouched by all that you wish to escape. There is a special kind of energy here and once you experience it, you'll be hooked!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews