We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms, lovely secluded setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here from July 1st to July 3rd. Unfortunately the deer flies, horse flies and mosquitoes were so numerous it made hiking pretty much impossible, so we contented ourselves with using the peddle boat and canoe on Moffat pond. We were told that because of the wet spring the insects were exceptionally bad this year.

The lodge is rustic and cozy. Our room was quite small with just enough room for the double bed and a small dressing area. There was no lock on the door but it was not a problem - no one entered our room when we weren't around. Meals were ok but with it being a lodge there were no choices. The first night we had delicious homemade lasagne. For breakfast the next morning we had banana pancakes with real maple syrup. The second night dinner was a rice mixture with vegetables and chicken. Salad and dessert was included with both dinners. Breakfast the last day was scrambled eggs, sausage and hash browns. Included with breakfast is orange juice and coffee or tea. Lunches consisted of sandwiches, granola bars, fruit and apple juice or peach cocktail. Soon after breakfast the lunches are put out on a side table so people can take a lunch and head out for the day. Breakfast is served around 8:45am and dinners are at 7pm.

Though my wife did not sleep well, I found the double bed was very comfortable - I had the best sleep experience of any trip yet. At night the area is very quiet - there were very few night sounds. Evening during the day it was quiet except for the occasional bird call and the sound of the nearby waterfall.

Early one morning we took the paddle boat to the middle of the pond and just sat silently listening to the sounds of nature as it woke to the new day. It was catharctic and somewhat surreal as we heard distant bird calls all around us, as we sat there out on the still pond.

We used the hot tub one afternoon. It is built into the deck area down by the waters edge, so you have a nice view of the pond as you relax in the tub. At night they often have a bonfire, otherwise there is little else to do.

We enjoyed a very relaxing weekend at Algonquin Eco-Lodge and would recommend it to others but I suggest going later in the summer when there are fewer insects.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gdbear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had a very nice weekend. They took the trouble to arrange transportation from Toronto for us and got us all the way up to Algonquin Park. The Lodge is just a beautiful place near a frozen lake (we were there during winter) and with lots of hiking, snowshoeiing, cross-country ski and snowscooter trails all around. It was a great adventure to get out there and explore the wilderness. By the look of the fresh tracks everywhere, there was wildlife all around. I guess we scared them off because we were too loud to actually see them. We even tried a wolf howl and got a faint response on the second night!!
At night, there is no light pollution and I saw a clear sky full of stars for the first time in my life. Just sensational! We had lots of fun in the outdoor hottub, because outside it was -20 C and we were boiling in there. A great experience to do the Polar Bear Dip as well.
The staff was very personal and lots of fantastic stories of living in the park. I really enjoyed the warm treatment we got. On Sunday, they arranged for us to go dogsledding which was just absolute fun! Eventually, they brought us back to Toronto and I am sad to say our weekend was over..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WouterKouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I won't try to explain all of the great aspects and offerings of the Algonquin Eco-Lodge; That's what their website is for. I will mention that our weekend at the lodge was one that we will never forget. We loved being able to experience so many activities and adventures during the day and then coming back to the lodge and having all of the comforts of home, including warm company and delicious meals.
If you are looking for a true getaway(no phones or internet) without all of the stress and complexities of camping, then this place is a wonderful way to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We have been coming here for several years and always enjoy the rustic serenity of being in Algonquin Park. The walk in from the road adds to the solitude effect. The staff were great, catering to special diet requirements, and the food was very good. The hot tub and wood fired sauna at the edge of the lake were great, as was the polar bear dip throught he ice. Where else can you sit in a hot tub at the edge of a lake, with no light pollution and get an incredible star watching view at the same time. The rooms are small, and we enjoyed the TV/internet free zone to meet other similar minded guests and play board games, or just read by the wood stove which heats the lodge. The website accurately depicts the lodge, so if you want a 5 star hotel with private room and TV, this is not for you! But if you like snowshoeing/skiing in the beauty of Algonquin park, meeting nice folks, this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skiinbikinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband and I were looking for an adventure, something you can't find just anywhere and we sure did find it here! Upon reaching the gate, we offloaded our few bags into the shed for the staff to pick up by snowmobile and take the the lodge for us, strapped on our snow shoes and began the stunning 30 minute trek along a winding, deeply forested snow covered path to the lodge buried deep within the beauty of the Algonquin Forest.

When we arrived, our luggage was already waiting for us and so were the few staff, with warm smiles, a short tour and a hot pot of tea on the wood stove. The lodge was cozy and unassuming, there are no phones, tv or internet, just peace and quiet; a complete refuge and the opportunity to feel connected to nature and the incredible energy it provides.

We promptly took the opportunity to sit by the warm fire, relax and thoroughly enjoy the peace and quiet. Our entire stay was one adventure after the other, interrupted only by the delicious meals and excellent company of the laid back and knowledgeable lodge owner, Robin, his friendly staff and the other guests. There were three other couples there at the same time and a Mother with her teenage daughter. The lodge was decked out with all manner of games and books when we were looking for something to do inside after a long day of exploring and there was always the comfy couches and warm inviting fire that were the perfect scenario for curling up with a great book.

Out of doors in the winter, there are many km's of excellent groomed ski trails, several beautiful snow shoe trails, dog sledding (not to be missed) and a cleared skating rink on the huge private lake. We enjoyed a fun night hike each evening after dinner and a wolf howl to try and attract the resident pack. There is no shortage of wildlife, from moose and deer to wolves and beaver, many birds.... After all that fun, there is also the hot tub; it's always hot and the sauna is heavenly to follow. There is even a polar bear dip hole cut into the ice nearby for the brave at heart - my husband just had to try it and we will never forget that moment!

The most interesting part about this lodge? All the hydro on property is generated by an amazing technology called Micro-hydro. They generate their own power from a waterfall on the small river that runs through their land, so the overall footprint is greatly reduced. Check out their website for a demo video that adequately describes how it all works @ www.algonquinecolodge.com. There are no shortage of amenities though, indoor and outdoor lighting, hot water, showers, a nice bathroom with clean, new flush toilets, sauna, hot tub and a full service kitchen. You will truly lack for nothing!

We will definitely return again during the summer season to see how the experience differs but have no doubt that it will be just as much fun swimming, canoeing, hiking, mountain biking or nature watching. No matter what the season, or what the activities, the charm of this lodge is that it resides remotely within one of the most beautiful, magical forests and remains virtually untouched by all that you wish to escape. There is a special kind of energy here and once you experience it, you'll be hooked!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Well my wife gave this to me for a Christmas gift and since we both like camping and hiking she figured we would have fun. We have been talking about doing a winter camp and since we are both getting older she figured this would be a good start and with the dog sledding how could she go wrong. We are by no means new to camping and I have spent more then a few nights in the woods at night in much harsher northern areas.

She set it all up and all seemed good till one day we got a phone call. The dog sledding company Robin had set us up with was just not going to happen, I couldn't stand the way she talked to us. So, we call Robin, no problem he says. He changed things around and set us up with another sledding company. So ok we feel better that it is handled. Then we get a heat wave come through not even a week before we go. I thought our trip was over but just couldn't tell the wife. Thankfully it stayed cold enough to keep some snow at the lodge. This weather could not be blamed on the Lodge or Robin but the trail going in could have been worked a little better for the walk in. Still this was a very little thing and even with all that the walk, we wouldn't call it a hike, was very nice till the hill. The walk was easy even pulling my pulk with our 150lbs of gear, till the hill, then it turned into a hike. ;P I would say anyone that can walk to the corner store and back will be ok till the hill. Once you get to that hill just take your time and rest at the two flat areas till you get your breath. You can save all this work if you pay for the luggage transfer to the lodge.

Check-in was a little unorganized and since this is not a hotel we didn't know what to do or where to go. Check-in needs a little work and staff need to be around to help the customers when we get there. I was waiting for some kind of orientation with a break down of how the lodge works or what trails were what and how long they would take. We got a very brief break down on the way to our room about when breakfast and dinner were and that the trail map was on the bed, it wasn’t. We asked for the map after coming back down and the staff happily gave us one.

After everyone was set up things turned around and the rest of the weekend was great. The staff for the weekend was Robin, Edgar, Santa, Cameron and Tucker. Most of the time the wife and I were gone ether snowshoeing or out on the dog sled so we only talked over dinner or sitting around the stove at night. The staff was fun and easy to talk to and very willing to help out with your needs, not that we asked for much.

Trails were beat up but with the crappie weather there was really nothing Robin could have done. The wolf howl was basic and unfortunately we didn’t get any answer the first night. Robin pointed out some of the main constellations in the night sky and the pond was making ice with some small cracking and one loud bang that was kind of scary. The second afternoon, Sat, was the hot tub and polar bear dip and that night the wife and I with another couple did our own wolf howl. We got a small answer that was very far off and was hard to hear but, we got an answer. Nights are cool in the lodge so you will want a good warm sleeping bag and blanket. Some of the tracks we found were deer, wolf, rabbit, fox, skunk or porcupine, chipmunk or squirrel and grouse. Dinners were good and we had more then enough to eat. Breakfast was a little on the wanting side dew to the amount of physical activity we all did this weekend. Some things could have been done different but over all, all my complaints are very little and would not make me stay away from this lodge.

The Dog sled company, Tuuluuwak sled dogs, was one of the best things I have ever done and I truly hope Robin changes from the other Dog sled place to this one.

Over all this place will give you the experience of being in the back country with none of the work of getting there. Your experience will depend on what you make of it though, if you are looking for a 5 star lodge you won’t find it here. If you want a good experience you will more then likely get one out here. Part of our great experience was the other couples that were there on our weekend and I just hope we helped make their weekend good too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here the last weekend of Feb and have to say we had a great time.

We were a little tentative after looking at the website and even more unsure after reading the bad reviews. But we took the plunge and decided to book at the Eco-Lodge after realizing that the bad reviews were all old and it appears from people expecting the Hilton.

All I can say is that we were pleasantly surprised with every aspect of the trip. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Robin is very knowledgeable and fun to talk to. The rooms were clean and as pictured on the website. The food was tasty, fairly healthy and plenty as seconds were available. We even didn't touch the snacks we brought along.

We also really enjoyed hanging out with the other guests. The hot tub and polar bear dip was wild. Never thought I would jump in a lake in the winter! The scenery is beautiful and skiing was good even though there was a thaw beforehand.

This place is for you if you want to get away from the crowd, love nature and be with like minded people.

We hope to be back every year.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex_Toronto416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Address: 3594 Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range: $234 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Eco-Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing