We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family adventure to dream of!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I know there have been a few negative comments of late but frankly I don't know what these people expect in a wooden lodge in the middle of the wilderness. Mice? Oh dear - what a terrible thing! We were actually hoping for wolves and bear at close quarter! Our family have visited this Eco-lodge twice now in two years and we have never been disappointed. - in fact we are now planning another visit next year and thinking about maybe visiting during the winter season just for a change.

We love the outdoors, the wildlife, the peace and quiet, and the adventure - we have never been disappointed. We were taken by one of the lodge's guides for a day drip by canoe to High Falls - beautiful by anyone's standards and a wonderful trip.

I will never forget relaxing on the deck, watching the humming birds while the boys (we have two teenage boys and their friends) explored the trails and relaxed in the hammocks by the pond.

Our evenings were spent around thecamp fire, grilling marshmallows, relating stories about close calls with the resident wildlife and having a good old sing song. Wonderful!!

Maybe the rooms aren't 5* but the friendly and relaxed atmosphere is second to none. We wouldn't expect 5* accommodation in the middle of the wilderness - we came here for adventure and that's what we got.

The staff couldn't do enough for us and joined us in the evenings to tell stories and help complete our experience of Algonquin.

Complaints about lack of sauna etc are ridiculous. Come to the Eco-lodge in winter and you're sure to get a sauna and hot tub experience to remember - try joining the polar bear club!!!

We love the Eco-lodge and will surely be back - if they'll have us!

I am sure that anyone who truly loves the outdoor will love it too.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz_Engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Algonquin Eco-Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2007

Overall Impression: Highly overpriced for what you get. Someone in Toronto is making a heck of a lot of money. Should be categorized as a hostel, the only exception being that someone is doing the cooking for you/meals are provided.

General Observations: Lots of guests there were from overseas (Europe, more specifically Great Britain and Holland). Doesn't appear to be a lot of overhead to run the place. It also appears that absolutely no money is reinvested into the lodge -- a shame really because it could have amazing potential. In hind-sight we could have stayed at Killarney Lodge in the middle of Algonquin for roughly the same price which is luxurious by comparison (stayed there 2 years ago and it was lovely - great food, great accommodations, excellent location). I'm no princess when it comes to accommodations. I love the outdoors so rustic and a lack of facilities don't bother me however, I do expect to get my monies worth and this place fell very short.

Marketing: Smart -- just put the word 'eco' in front of the name and it changes everything making people willing to shell out more money to stay at the place. Be forewarned however that 'eco' in this case means economy.

Location: Easy to find, rather fun to hike to the lodge and helps give you that way out in the bush feeling, although you could have drove in much closer than what the lodge allows.

Area Immediately Surrounding Lodge: Very Algonquinish, definitely away from it all, very private, large granite rocks on high spots, lodge sits up overlooking a small pond which is fed by a small creek and drains into another creek, some trails easily accessible leading directly from the lodge area, rustic, small dock on pond, large fire pit area for evening campfires (staff don't prepare the campfire - guests have to do it, as well as chopping kindling - not that we minded doing this, we like it). There were only two canvas folding chairs on a spot overlooking the pond and one of them was duct taped to death to salvage the thing. This is a great example of how absolutely no money is reinvested into the place. The chair could have easily been replaced for $10 or less but instead it was duct taped!

Wildlife: We saw two active beaver lodges on the pond including two beavers, a resident heron, a mink, several kinds of birds, a large bull frog, butterflies, chipmunks and red squirrels. I was fortunate enough to spot a deer while on a horseback ride. Lots of mice in the lodge itself, secure any personal snacks you've brought along as they are very experienced in raiding your bags! No evidence of any wolves or bears although one of the staff said he saw a wolf on the road just before the dump on Elephant Road 3 days prior. We were promised a 'wolf howl' by the Manager but that never happened either of the nights we were there. We went to the dump during the day in the hopes of seeing some bear (Manager told us there are always bear there even during the day) but were told by the gatekeeper at the dump to return around 8pm and that we would be guaranteed of seeing bear. Unfortunately it was our last day so we didn't return that night.

Lodge: Old, used to have electricity (it still might) but none is used. Very dark inside, day or night. Only a few propane wall lights are used in the evening in the main area and they are turned off after 11pm. Washrooms remain lit throughout the night. One shower, limited to 3 minutes because water supply is limited. The shower leaks all over the place so we never showered in the 3 days we were there. Bedrooms are located upstairs in what may have once been an attic. It's very dark, bring your own flashlight as none are provided and you'll find yourself feeling around the dark for your room. Everyone turns in early (by 10-11pm) because there is absolutely nothing to do after dark other than have a campfire and the lodge doesn't have enough light inside to do other things like play a board or card game.

Bedrooms: Wow, this has to be my biggest beef of all. The beds were horrid!!! And I do mean horrid. I didn't sleep at all our first night. The bed was on an ancient wire suspended frame that squeaked and the springs were sticking up and into various body parts, mostly my ribs. Thrift store, thread bear sheets, pillow cases and comforters -- really rather icky. It was so uncomfortable that I got up, went downstairs to the main part of the lodge and tried to sleep on the couch. After tossing and turning on the sofa and lodgers passing by during the night to use the washrooms, I went back upstairs and found a vacant bedroom with a single bed. I flopped on that thing and tried to get some sleep only to hear mice running around the floor, squeaking to one another. I was happy to see the sunrise, although I hurt all over and felt a lot like Goldie Locks. We complained to the Manager in the morning and were moved to another room for our second night. Wow, a mattress on the floor in a room that was 1-1/2 times the size of the mattress. The ceiling sloped so you could only stand up straight in a small section of the room. There was no window, only a small skylight that could be opened. Thank goodness it wasn't too hot out during our stay or we would have cooked! The bed in this room was a bit better but it still sucked. Hard as a rock and you could feel many of the springs. Between horseback riding and rotten beds I hurt quite a lot. Mice in there too, one greeted us at bedtime. So much for the R&R I came for! No locks on any of the doors so you wouldn't want to leave anything valuable in your room. Walls are very very thin, for example I heard two of the staff having a good time the second night and I could hear EVERYTHING!

Food: I think the cook did a reasonable job being a one woman show cooking for all of those people but the food wasn't great. Cheap - not much money spent here. Food was served on plates which were brought to you at the table. There was no selection of anything - you got what was being served. No snacks available throughout the day. Glad we brought our own - watch those mice though! For example, dinner the first night consisted of one hamburger each, pasta salad and one corn on the cob with a small slice of store bought apply pie for dessert. Lunch was a make your own with a limited selection of the same thing every day -- bagels (no other choices), orange cheese slices, salami and ham slices, a granola bar, vac pac orange drink and an apple. Meals are served at very specific times with only one seating time per meal, i.e. breakfast at 8:45 am, dinner at 6:45 pm. Not sure what would happen if you were late, likely you'd have to wait until the next meal.

If you have ANY food allergies - DO NOT GO HERE! It's a contamination nightmare. With the nearest hospital 2 hours away why chance it.

Staff: Minimal staff. Manager and cook are probably the only 'paid' staff. Cook seems to work hard. Manager has his stash of 'Lucky' beer in a little brook outside of the lodge and doesn't appear to do much. A few either unpaid or minimally paid staff that are staying at the lodge in exchange for doing work. They like Lucky beer too. Very laid back attitudes.

Horseback Riding: Riding is offered by a stable located close to the lodge. We enjoyed a 4 hour ride at $120 per person to High Falls. Horses returned us right to the lodge which was a nice touch.

Conclusion: I would not return to this lodge nor would I recommend it to others. Bargain basement accommodations at a 4 star price ($280 + tax per person for 2 nights). There are probably other, better options out there for people who want to experience Algonquin and the great outdoors. Do your homework before booking and know what you'll be getting.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spayne.home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

What a terrible experience! We went to the lodge and were aware of its 'eco' status but we were not prepared for the utter horror and basic shed nature that this lodge has - no lights [not even eco friendly ones] anywhere, 3min showers, no prepared activities, abundance of mosquitos and mice, no wildlife or trail advice and rooms which are pokey with a strong kerosene smell! The shocking realisation that some guests were harrassed by mice whilst thet slept [one lady even woke to have them in her hair!] was mindblowing to say the least....it was also the only wildlife present at the lodge.The website promised the wolf howling [one of the MAIN reasons we booked] - unfortunately the manager was 'too shy' to howl and after being goaded to do so, he went behind a tree and gave a pathetic whimper which no self respecting wolf would dare to reply! We were so disappointed by this 'shed/youth hostel' which paraded as an 'eco lodge', that we cut our stay short and got out of there!

Stayed: August 2007
7  Thank Londoner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Agree with what's been said about Ecolodge near Harcourt. Website says there's a sauna and a hot tub. There isn't! "Sauna" is tumbled down shack at lakes edge which serves to store life jackets; hot tub was a broken down old thing from before the ark - looked very unsafe, tiny and gross. Like other reviewer, we thought the place had great potential, but won't be telling all our friends in Ottawa about it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moosemancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

This log cabin type lodge could be very good, but the "bedrooms" and the lack of lights made it less so. There is no electric light provided, probably to emphasise the "eco" in the name. There are a few gas mantle lights and candles in the lounge/dining room, but elsewhere you have to have a good flashlight; one very weak battery-powered camping lantern was provided per "bedroom".
We had been promised "two single rooms", but had to share one tiny (6' x 12') youth hostel -type cubicle crammed with thin bunk beds and a matress on a pallet on the floor. Two "singles" had to share these cubicles, male, female etc., which made for some embarassing moments from several groups. Nowhere to hang anything, no cupboards etc., everything had to go on the limited floorspace . There were ants crossing the floor (luckily it was so dim you could hardly see them) and at least one mouse scrabbling around during the night. Walls were literally paper-thin and the aparently volunteer/friends of the owner staff talked loudly late in to the night.
Washing and toilet facilities were rudimentary; one shower for the women, one for the men; two toilet cubicles for each, with ill-fitting plastic concertina-folding doors that left very little to the imagination; not "eco", just crude and tacky.. The policy of leaving one's shoes in the entry way meant that visiting the old linoleum-covered toilets pretty gross. Lighting totally inadequate in the washrooms. Lounge area nice, but also far too dark to read anything or play a card game in the evenings, and roof leaked such that one of the sofas was getting wet.
Whole operation seemed to be run on a shoestring. Great idea, great setting and could be good with proper investment eg why not solar panels on the roof to provide electricity (and stop the leaks!). Why pack in so many people per cubicle? Advertised activities did not take place - such as Wolf Howl and Star Gazing. The owner says he is trying to do up the place bit by bit, one job a year, but in the meantime is misrepresenting the standard of accommo and overcharging. Folk who go to a remote lodge expect to be able to read a book, sleep comfortably, get wet clothes dry etc.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackyskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingMan99, Owner at Algonquin Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2010

The Algonquin Eco-Lodge has undergone a major improvement/renovation at the end of 2009. We now generate our own electricity from our waterfall. We have invested over $80,000 to create electricity (we are too deep in the forest to be connected to "the grid"). And we have spent over $45,000 renovating the bathrooms, showers, lighting, and other improvements to the Lodge.

Several people have commented about "no lights" and "short showers". The Eco-Lodge used to be lit with propane lanterns and battery powered lamps in the bedrooms. I would like to take the opportunity to explain that guests are notified of this before they arrive, and told to bring flashlights. The Lodge had no electricity (but does now) and is on a well/sceptic system with limited water supply. This is an eco-lodge after all, and water conservation is a major global concern. People who truly want to experience a "low impact" holiday would generally enjoy the Lodge and it's amenities.

In regards to our pricing structure it must be pointed out that labour costs in Canada are rather high, and since everything must be done by hand, including carrying guests' luggage 2.3 km for them, these costs must be reflected in our room rates. So far 100% of the profits have been reinvested into the building, including a brand new roof, new bathrooms, new showers, plumbing, a deck, new windows, brand new custom built pine log beds, new mattresses, the micro-hydro generator, and extensive landscaping. Since our access is through Algonquin Park, and vehicles including delivery trucks are not allowed (or capable) of coming to us, all supplies must be transferred in by hand, and have required the purchase of expensive specially equipped small vehicles to aid in the transfer of materials over such distance through the forest.

This is a work of passion and vision. While staff must be paid the owner has yet to draw a salary. The Lodge is unique in this part of Ontario. No where else can you have such a complete wilderness immersion and still have basic cozy comforts. It is also a work in progress, and we do take suggestions and criticisms seriously, and make improvements where possible. While trying to keep the ecological theme, the concerns and expectations of guests must be considered. Questions relating to such things as repairing lawn chairs, or throwing them out and buying new ones because people expect new looking outdoor furniture are weighed in terms of safety, appearances, and ecological footprints.

Our remoteness is both a blessing and a curse. By being so deep in the forest and removed from all signs of civilization, we can provide an unrivalled wilderness experience. There is no other lodge in Algonquin Park where you are completely free of all cars, motor boats, TV's, cell phones, and even neighbours. We are on a private lake, and we have our own waterfall, and wolves, moose, deer, and bears that live in our area. The downside is that the remoteness makes it difficult and expensive to run the business. Groceries must be bought in the nearest town which is one hour away. Over one ton of propane for the cooking range must be brought in by hand several times a year. We also have to worry about the same animals that we delight in seeing. We must take precautions against bears coming in the middle of the night to get at the garbage, and porcupines chewing away at the wooden stairs have forced us to replace them twice. We have also had two cats eaten by wolves.

As is evident by the reviews, there are two types of people leaving comments. People who love the Eco-Lodge and what it offers, and those who hate it. Since the Lodge is so different from "mainstream" we will, unfortunately, receive guests who are expecting more of a "traditional" five star hotel. We go out of our way to have friendly and experienced staff who enjoy making your stay as comfortable as possible. However, no matter what we do certain people may be disappointed if they have "five star" expectations. People who are keen for new experiences, want to really see the wilderness, and who are easy-going really enjoy their visit.

We are constantly striving to improve the Lodge, and it is an ongoing project, which it will remain for years to come. The improvements are considerable and we know that you will appreciate them when you stay at our Lodge, which is one of the most unique places in this part of North America. For example, we are the first and only lodge in southern Ontario to generate their own electricity from a waterfall. We are in the process of putting reading lights in various locations (as well as the bedrooms). But we will never light the whole building up like a highway motel. That would defeat the purpose of coming to an eco-lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres sont très très petites ; donc une chambre de 2 ça va pour une personne, une chambre de...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alphalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
157 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
53 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
14 reviews
5.9 mi away
Silver Springs Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Address: 3594 Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range: $285 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Eco-Lodge Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing