We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaver Tail Trailing”
Review of Beaver Pond Trail

Beaver Pond Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stratford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beaver Tail Trailing”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This trail is located right along why.60 in Algonquin park.It is at leafs a 2-3 hour walk without any stops. It is not for the easy going as take you up and down steep areas with lots of tree roots and rocks to navigate.However well worth the effort as you will travel through the forests and see several beaver pond areas and it is one of the best places to spot moose depending on the time of day you travel it.Lots of great scenery and plants and animals to see and enjoy.
The busy beavers usually are out just before sunset and early in am.If you plan to see them at dust you better have a good flashlight with you as it is a long and windy path back.This trail is one of our favourites and we have walked it again and again for the pure enjoyment of it all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rockie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for kids too!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family includes 4 kids ages 4-10. Each of them walked the entire trek and only got tired at about marker 8 of 10. They fell a few times and got some scrapes, and a deer fly bite that drew some tears. But everyone had a great time and enjoyed some great views. Next time, we'll bring the bug spray! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eh_jay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Trail guides excellent, very informative and educational. Easy to follow the route around, well maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkyeGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the best short hikes”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A great hike and a great chance to see beaver. We saw two repairing their dam. Not overly difficult, but a great hike

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A good trail if you have the time”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I walked five of the trails in Algonquin Provincial Park, and this one was perhaps the most unique because of the beaver activity. While we didn't see any beaver (they are nocturnal), it was interesting to see their lodges, dams and ponds. It's a fairly easy 1.2 mile trail, with a number of viewpoints of the beaver activity. Definitely a trail I'd recommend if you have the time.

NOTES: There are free guide books for each trail that you can pick up when you start and drop off at the end of the trail. You will need a park permit to park in the trail parking lot. Finally, BE SURE TO TAKE BUG SPRAY! We had two kinds, a "natural" spray that didn't seem to even phase the mosquitoes, and wipes with 30% Deet that kept them off for the most part. Since we used wipes, we couldn't really do anything for our clothes and the little buggers would bite through your shirt. We were there in mid-June and they were pretty bad; I can't speak for the rest of the year. Just be prepared!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreWe?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Pond Trail also viewed

Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 

Been to Beaver Pond Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing