We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good trail if you have the time”
Review of Beaver Pond Trail

Beaver Pond Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A good trail if you have the time”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I walked five of the trails in Algonquin Provincial Park, and this one was perhaps the most unique because of the beaver activity. While we didn't see any beaver (they are nocturnal), it was interesting to see their lodges, dams and ponds. It's a fairly easy 1.2 mile trail, with a number of viewpoints of the beaver activity. Definitely a trail I'd recommend if you have the time.

NOTES: There are free guide books for each trail that you can pick up when you start and drop off at the end of the trail. You will need a park permit to park in the trail parking lot. Finally, BE SURE TO TAKE BUG SPRAY! We had two kinds, a "natural" spray that didn't seem to even phase the mosquitoes, and wipes with 30% Deet that kept them off for the most part. Since we used wipes, we couldn't really do anything for our clothes and the little buggers would bite through your shirt. We were there in mid-June and they were pretty bad; I can't speak for the rest of the year. Just be prepared!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreWe?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little walk.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great info on the trail and this trail is relatively flat. Great for older folks and small children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Rewarding hike with a great finale to top it all off”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This 2 km trail takes you on a loop along either side of a small lake with a good mix of up and down hill trekking through the surrounding forests. I got a good work out walking the path and enjoyed the rich variety of scenery. Lots of glacial boulders dotting the trail, sparkling reflections on the lake, and an amazing panoramic view near the climax. Was also lucky enough to see lots of dragonflies, birds, and even a water-snake along the way. Beavers seemed to be on their day off, though definitely nearby judging from several freshly felled trees.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeusthecockapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Things I never knew”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We picked up the pamplet before entering and learned a lot about beavers. While we didn't see any beavers it was a nice walk that took use over the beaver ponds and gave us plenty of information about how beavers help the environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OshawaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Pond Trail also viewed

Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 

Been to Beaver Pond Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing