We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a learning experience”

Algonquin Logging Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
148 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a learning experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I learned so much from the museum and respect the hardships that those individuals endured. I would recommend the museum to anyone interested in history and how things changed the world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank delaware33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    45
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is literally a glance into the past history of logging in Algonquin Park area. There are exhibits set up of equipment used (different saws,axes,methods of log removal-horse,log chutes etc.),as well as buildings where workers would stay on a small trail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“logging day”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

WE went on logging day near the end of the sessions. We got to see many of the displays with less crowds of children. The history was neat and it was interesting how the displays are set up to take you through the history of logging. Informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank miss_amanda_uwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Canadian lumber jack history”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While we stayed at the Couples Resort in Whitney we decided to take a day trip into Algonquin Park. We checked out the Logging Museum and enjoyed the excellent displays. Very interesting to see how logging started and is maintained to this day. Excellent life size replica of a Camboose. A Camboose was a shanty building set up as the main accommodations for the loggers while they worked in the camp through the winter. Great book store as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great museum, beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This museum is off Highway 60 running through Algonquin Provincial Park. If you are driving through the Park it is well worth the stop. There is a short film discussing the history of logging in the park followed by a self guided waling tour around the area to see how the earlier loggers lived. Great history! Great for Scout Troops.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonquin Logging Museum also viewed

Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 

Been to Algonquin Logging Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing