We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Hill View Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
259 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with friends as part of a 17 day tour. Sybil the owner is very friendly and the breakfast was nice. The room was a little bit poky and decorated very brightly but the bed was comfy. The shower and toilet area had been converted from a corner of the room and the sink was in an alcove at the side of the room. On street parking proved no problem and there was no traffic noise. Sybil was very helpful at supplying local information about travelling on the Kyle-Inverness line and also local places to eat. Ok it's not the Ritz but very good value for money in a village that has higher than average prices because of its 'cuteness'.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siena
Level Contributor
256 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Yes we paid a little less than other B&B in Scotland but this B&B doesn’t worth 10£ a person. Our room was in front of the street (fortunately Plockton is so a dead village it will leave you sleeping quietly), it was very small, dark and seemed a little dirty, with strange colors in furniture. When booking, we asked for a private bathroom and we found part of our bedroom converted in a ridiculous toilette-cabin, the sink was apart in an uncomfortable cave in to the wall. Plockton is a very quiet village, why not choose a B&B near the shore, in front of the sea?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. It was very relaxed and clean with a comfy bed and a very good breakfast. Sybil, who runs the B&B was lovely and kind.
We felt that it was good value for our money. We also had a room looking onto the street, but just at the side of the house is a nice decked area over looking the sea and the mountains. The street was also very quiet, unlike the main street of Plockton which can be quite busy in the evening, if you're needing a quiet night in.
We are at a loss how it can be described as the worst place to stay in as we had such a relaxed and lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndap07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Friendly and helpful with a good breakfast. Clean and functional en suite room. The twin bedded room at the back had a wonderful view of loch and mountains. We (my adult son and myself, on a tour) did not pay attention to the decor. Down point: the towels may have been a little suspect.

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxed with good breakfast
  • Disliked — The towels
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunbeamland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I travel a lot, working away from home I get to see the extremes of accommodation.

Do not stay at the Hill View in Plockton. We only went there as all the 1st choice B&B's along the sea-front were full. There were good reasons why this B&B was available. I previously booked the room in person with the owner and was told my partner and I would have an upstairs room with a view across the sea to the Applecross Mountains. When we arrived, the owner gave some story about the room not being available so we were given a downstairs room looking inland onto the road.

It was too late to find alternative accomodation at this stage as we had a table booked for dinner. I asked if there would be a reduction in charge and was told no.

The decor was interesting - the owners clearly suffer from a form of colour blindness (see photos). The furniture was tatty and everything said "cheap". Not worth £25 pppn. Expect they only get business like mine where nothing else is available.

There are lots of lovely B&B's just out of Plockton and you will get a better view than the road and houses opposite.

Helpful?
8 Thank ripekumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.8 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
24.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Frithard Road, Plockton IV52 8TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hill View Bed And Breakfast Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing