We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small clean B&B”
Review of Tigh nan Saor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh nan Saor
Ranked #7 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed one night here after driving around the Isle of Skye. We had picked up a Plockton brochure along the way and I must say the village was somewhat disappointing. We had expected a little larger village with some quaint shops and dining. NOT SO. Only 2 narrow streets, the main one along the harbor which is scenic. We had called ahead and were lucky to find an open room at this B&B. Cost was 64# for the 2 of us. We drove by it 3 times before spotting the small sign on the wall. It is right next door to the Plockton Hotel. We were met by Martin who showed us our room #3 which was at the top of the first stairs. It was a rather small spartan room with twin beds looking out on a back yard. One plus was they provide face cloths (Americans love) however the towels were a bit thin but new and fresh. We ate dinner at the Hotel and the food and drink was good. As said previously, breakfast is served at 8:30 AM with all guests at a communal table in a room filled with books. Martin said he had read many of them. There were also books available in the bedroom. We enjoyed the communal breakfast as we were able to talk about various places to visit and share travel experiences. It seems many folks from the UK come here to hike and back pack around and also take seal cruises ( of no interest to us). We left after breakfast for Applecrossing. Parking was on the street or at the public parking down the street. There is a castle visible across the harbor and we stopped for a visit on the drive out along a single lane road. It was quite interesting and turns out it is also a B&B. It was used by the military in WWII and was also a former College. It might be worth a stay--Duncraig Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark2Tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

went for one night with friends and we had 2 rooms overlooking the harbour - stunning scenery. the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was enough to get you going on your travels the next day. very good value and would certainly go back and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita55Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stayed in the Tigh Nan Saur for one night and was completely satisfied. The breakfast (pretty standard but spot on) is at a set time which seemed a little strange but we wanted to be on the go early anyway. The table in the dining room is for all of the guests but it didn't bother me at all and I enjoyed a blether with the other folk. The room was spotless and had tea making facilities with chocolate biscuits as well. I thought it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamaha1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We have just returned from a 4 day trip to Plockton staying at the Tigh Nan Saor and we enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in room 3, which is at the back facing onto the garden, and although we didn't have a view of the sea it was a lovely room, which had been newly decorated and was spotlessly clean. Only complaint was about the shower which was one of those attached to the taps and it was either too hot or too cold, we could never get it to run consistently.

We found Louise to be very friendly and chatty, however, Martin was a bit of a grump and not at all welcoming when we arrived. Breakfast is at 8.30am at a communal table and although we weren't sure of it at first it turned out great as we got chatting to french and catallonian couples who we wouldn't have spoken to if we were at separate tables.

Although the weather wasn't great, (rained every day) we didn't let it spoil out break. Plockton is well placed to explore the Isle of Skye, which you can do on a day trip. Portree is very nice town with plenty of eating places and souvenir shops.

Plockton Hotel is just next door and very handy to nip in for a wee dram, or two. Our meal in the Plockton Hotel was mediocre but Plockton Shores, just along the road about 100yards, is superb. Best meal by far. In fact we liked it so much we went back the following night. I would recommend the haggis tatties and neeps and the strawberry pavlova was so good I couldn't resist it the following night also.

Calum's seal trip is a nice wee boat excursion for £7, (which is refundable if you don't see any seals). Good photo opportunities of the village while out to sea. It was a lovely boat trip and Calum is very entertaining and informative.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weealpha60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Ok, so the communal table for breakfast seems off-putting at first, but we met over 5 days some very intresting & entertaining people who we may not otherwise have met.
Louise & Martin were good hosts, serving an excellent breakfast ( I recommend the kippers), their recommendations of where to eat were spot-on, (we particularly liked the Inn) the room (no 2, the twin) had everything we needed, the beds were comfortable, the shower good & hot, the view incomparable. We even had Fantastic weather! Some very intresting paintings on the walls, well worth a look.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Have to agree with the previous reviewer. No choice as to time of breakfast, shower in room constantly changed from boiling hot to freezing cold. Host was not at all welcoming. Breakfast was ok and room was clean. No idea how they are rated number 1 B&B in Plockton.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tottiescone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed for one night and chose Tigh nan Saor because of it's good reviews on here. Sadly we were disappointed, our welcome was less than warm, we were rushed up to our room and told to order our breakfast that night and it would be served at 8.30.
Our room was OK, clean and with a big comfortable bed, it lacked attention to detail though, for example no drinking glasses were provided and there was only one hair dryer left on the landing for all three rooms to share.The shower was a tap attachment over the bath and it was impossible to get the water temperature right.
Breakfast the next day was good, served at a communal table which normally is not ideal although luckily our fellow guests were good company. This was more than could be said of our hosts who were not friendly at breakfast and could be heard having words in the kitchen.
When we left there was no friendly good bye or thank you, just a hand held out for the money, we felt that we had been intruding !
Plockton is a beautiful village, I would return but would not stay here again, the Plockton Hotel is just next door, I would stay there next time, the welcome there was delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
394 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tigh nan Saor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh nan Saor

Address: 39 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range: $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh nan Saor is a traditional stone house on the waterfront with spectacular views over Plockton Bay and Loch Carron. All our rooms are en-suite, with spacious shower-rooms or bathroom, LCD TVs, wireless internet access and hospitality trays. Our house is tastefully decorated throughout, with books and paintings everywhere, but still retains its character as a family home. Many stay with us as a base for walking nearby or exploring beyond Plockton, and we can provide full information on all these and more. View up-to-date booking availability and book on-line at our web site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Nan Saor Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing