We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent hotel in a great village.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plockton Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,497 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“A decent hotel in a great village.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our second visit to the Plockton Inn and, once again,was most enjoyable. Normally if you have a room in an annex, you feel rather let down, but I would suggest that in the case of the Plockton Inn it can be a bit of a bonus. On our previous visit our annex room was spacious, modern and well furnished. On this visit, our room in the main hotel seemed cramped by comparison and not quite as smart. It was also directly above the kitchen, which made it a tad noisy and warm. Having said that however, I should stress that the room was perfectly acceptable.

The bar here is very pleasant in an "ordinary" way - and I mean that as a huge compliment when compared with the pretentious, cold version down at the Plockton Hotel, where the casual drinker is viewed as a nuisance rather than a customer. The Plockton Inn is clearly the "local" bar by choice, and it is easy to see why.

The food at the Plockton Inn is excellent and very good value (the "Hot Plockton Prawns", which are langoustines in reality, are absolutely fantastic), and the service is efficient and friendly.
There is a small car park, but there is actually plentiful and safe parking on the street anyway.

The hotel is only 50 yards from the sea front so you are never far away from the stunning views that are the trademark of this lovely village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    142
    57
    21
    4
See reviews for
83
216
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for dinner and it was the best meal I've had in ages. Ordered the fish cakes which were just delicious-so tasty. Staff were friendly and very professional, it was busy but there were plenty of staff. Really enjoyed my dinner here. Would recommend this Inn if you are anywhere near- go go go!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Inn is lovely with very welcoming staff. Rooms are fairly basic but offer everything needed from a B&B.....and some. Breakfast was really good and offered a good selection. You need to book a table if you want to eat here for evening meal but I would highly recommend this as the food was amazing.
If I was to be picky and give a reason for not rating it a 5, it would be down to the lack of soundproofing.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask fir an en suite if you want one as not all rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did not stay here but we did have an evening meal here on 2 occassions. The staff were friendly fitting us in the first night as we had not booked a table. There is good variety of pub type food on the menu and reasonably priced too. Although busy they had enough staff on to cope. Food was hot and tasty, overall a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Plockton is a wonderful town with a scenic harbour and a great base for discovering the local area. The Plockton Inn is on the main road leading to the harbour with plenty of parking and only a couple of minutes walk to the town centre.

The Inn is both a pub, a restaurant and hotel. Rooms are located in the main building and also in the house across the road. Our room (number 10) is large, no real view with a good bad and below average pillows. Cleanliness isn't top of the list as the shower cubicle has lots of black mould which wouldn't take much to remove........let's hope they get round to it soon. Just one other little niggle......sort out the wifi, it only works within a few feet of the bar which is usually crowded.

The restaurant is fantastic. Great local food, and a wide selection of both meat and fish as well as a great staff attitude. Excellent Scottish breakfast and I can thoroughly recommend the kippers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the annex for 3 nights. The rooms were reasonable, but they were never serviced. The food was good, but thé organisation in the restaurant was very poor indeed, so we waited over an hour for dinner to be served on night two, after which we gave up and ate elsewhere. The staff did their best, but no-one was in charge, nor was there anyone checking how our stay was going. The bar is fully used for meals and thé half dozen seats for those only wanting a drink were hogged by a few regulars intent on watching tv. All in all we were very disappointed. A lot more tlc and less greed could make this a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I took my parents, partner and a friend here for an evening meal which was of very good quality. We ordered the seafood platter, salmon fillet, sea bass and scampi and also the cheeseboard and chocolate cheesecake. All were very good. The cheeseboard comprised cheeses from the local Lochalsh area. At ths bar, on offer was also the local Plockton beer. The inn is in a beautiful village which was used as a setting for bbc tv series Hamish MacBeth

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
14.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Inn

Property: Plockton Inn
Address: Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:3 star — Plockton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Plockton
Plockton Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing