We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Ranked #9 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“beautiful b&b”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Spent 3 nights here and could easily have spent a week.
Large double room with 4 poster bed plus single. Coffee and tea making facilities (not sachets but the real thing) fresh milk, a jar of biscuits, tv and video player. Huge en suite with bath, fluffy towels and dressing gowns.
Breakfasts were great, fresh fruit, porridge, full cooked, fresh bread, orange juice and coffee, set in the centre of the gallery.
Perfect location in the centre of plockton, allowing you to sample the many restaurants for dinner. A hundred yards from the waters edge, with views of the castle and yachts, this area is very special.
Miriam is a great host and made the stay that bit extra special.
This B&B is in a wonderful location and a beautiful place to stay, I hope to go back in the very near future.
Make the effort and go to Plockton and make sure you stay here.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

The B&B is also run as an art gallery so all the rooms are full some great art. Our bedroom was very large and beautifully furnished. The service was perfect and the breakfast was great. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Liked — Great breakfast surrounded by art.
  • Disliked — a bit cold (though was in the middle of summer!)
  • Tips/Secrets — If every restaurant is booked go to the chip shop rather than the Haven!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikewynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

The attention to detail which Miriam oozes in both her small (in my opinion, the best B&B I have ever stayed in) and art gallery is a credit! Not only will your grapefruit segments lift out, but the bread and preserves all home made. Breakfast made with fresh ingredients and nothing is too much trouble. Serenaded by classical music and offered sunday papers was the icing on the cake.

Fantastic chic rooms with awesome bathrooms. Intimate touches and a warm welcome. It truely was a pleasure staying, didnt feel like a B & B. It felt like home. Well done Miriam - you got it so right!!! Mags & Graham

  • Liked — The host, she was marvellous. The rooms are simply fantastic. Go see for yourself!
  • Disliked — Nothing, absolutely nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Chill out and enjoy the ambience - you will return again, and again and again.......
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sleepbabysleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Look, don't all rush at once or this place might be spoiled by over-popularity, but while you're all avoiding the dreadful Haven Hotel literally across the road, just knock on the nearly always open door at white house opposite. No, it's okay, you haven't walked into an art gallery by mistake - well, yes, you have because the very interesting landlady is a wonderful artist herself and constantly displays others' works as well: everywhere, even in the bathroom. You have walked into the cultural hub of Ross-shire where you will nearly always bump into fascinating people, none more so than Miriam herself and her coming-and-going-type family and her seemingly 'good close friends' of guests. Expect to feel interesting yourself and to share some of your life in this restful place where the 'best' bedroom for example features a four-poster bed, a two-foot deep bath and three-inch deep towels, and where the breakfasts are any way you want them as long as you want them hot, big and elegant. As I said, take it easy; I don't ever want to have to face full bookings.

  • Liked — Everything: total ambience, classy homeliness
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Tips/Secrets — Get there by train
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Checcucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
14.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
586 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
352 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Gallery - The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Gallery - The Manse

Property: Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Address: The Old Manse Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a big old house, a former manse, with views of the sea loch- Loch Carron- from all the rooms. Big rooms and bathrooms. Full of paintings, lots of which are for sale. Log fires in the winter. BBQ's in the summer. Opposite the Plockton Inn and round the corner from the Plockton Hotel and The Shores, excellent meals out are easy to arrange.As an article in the May 2013 Yachting Monthly says, " if anything, you've too many views around Plockton. Snuggled around a sheltered cove on the south side of Loch Carron, the place is absurdly picturesque."n.b. There is no B&B sign outside, we are opposite the Plockton Inn and there are a lot of sculptural pieces in the garden. Wrought iron gate and grey front door. There are working locks on all bedroom doors and for the front door, just ask me for the keys if you require them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Gallery - The Manse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing