We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culture and courtesy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Ranked #8 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Culture and courtesy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Manse on number of occasions and different times of the year. It is always a pleasure but I think my favourite time is when the exhibition is happening because the place is festooned with fine works of art. But you need to go with the flow. It is much more interesting and stimulating than b and b can normally provide. A great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks dear Neil M. for those kind words. I'm so glad you enjoy going with the flow.
Could it be that your less than perfect sleep quality was due to the fun during Regatta Fortnight? Maybe specifically to the fun right outside one of your windows?
The pub across the road does have advantages 50 weeks of the year, but maybe doesn't enable five star sleeping quality on those 2 special weeks mid-summer! It can be a bit noisy up until midnight. My apologies.
I hope you'll still come back to Plockton.
I look forward to welcoming you- and your family- again, Regatta time or anytime. mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

On arrival at the Plockton Gallery and Guesthouse my cousin and I were greeted warmly by Miriam and shown to our spacious room which contained a large 4 poster bed and a single bed. The ensuite bathroom had a free standing bath etc and an armchair and table with dormer window overlooking the bay. The room itself was well furnished with armchairs, book shelves, table and TV with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a good selection of hot drinks, a kettle and jug of fresh milk! We also had access to a power shower in the adjoining bathroom which we preferred to the bath.The views over the garden, street and sea are lovely.
Miriam made us feel very much at home with a pot of tea and freshly-made home baked cake whilst telling us about the local area, where to eat and drink, and the trips we could make to surrounding areas.
Because the summer exhibition is in full swing the Manse had been transformed into an art gallery with paintings, sculptures, ceramics etc on every inch of wall and every nook and cranny including the garden.Our room obviously was excluded from this, though there was plenty of art on the walls anyway!!! This made for a very interesting and culturally enriching stay.
The rooms are brightly decorated with an arty, quirky touch - very clean and comfy.
As for the breakfast, well! Colourfully patterened tablecloth and mismatched china set the tone and we were offered grapefruit, museli, porridge, smoked haddock and/or full Scottish which includes haggis and black pudding - all ingredients locally sourced. And home-made bread. What a spread! Nothing was too much trouble. That meal set us up for the day!
Plockton itself is a small town/village so it is easy to walk around and there are pubs and restaurants serving up delicious meals including freshly caught seafood and local ales. We also enjoyed the music in the pubs, very talented local musicians gather in the corner of the bar with a variety of guitars, fiddles, banjos etc and treat us to toe-tapping Scottish tunes. We were also lucky enough to witness a visiting trio of pipers who played briefly one evening at the Plockton Inn.
Whilst in Plockton it is worth taking a cruise with Calum's Seal and Dolphin Trips round the bay which which is so much fun.
If there was a downside it would be lack if internet access in most of the area, though the Shores Restaurant did have it. Some would say this is a good thing to have peace whilst on holiday!
I would love to return here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muriel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review! So pleased you enjoyed your days here. Thanx, Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Once we found this B&B things improved, but there were no signs outside whatsoever and we did not have a street number. So after walking up and down for a while we asked a local. They were not sure exactly where to go, but on the third walk past I noticed the trip advisor decal in the window, and proceeded to walk in calling for the proprietor - it was the right place. Also, there was no working lock on our door, so we had no security within the B&B. It was interesting to stay in an art gallery, and the room facilities were good. The bathroom did not have a shower, but I was able to use the separate shower off the hallway just outside our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi,Thank you for your prompt review.
I am so sorry you had difficulty finding us. I usually tell visitors when booking that we are opposite the Plockton Inn, and have a lot of sculpture in the garden, but maybe I forgot to tell you. If so, my apologies. There are no numbers in Innes Street, and I do not accept walk-in bookings; there is no sign outside the front door.
As we were setting up for the big annual summer art exhibition when you arrived, things were unusual...furniture, paintings and sculpture being moved around etc.. To be honest, I probably should not have taken any B&B guests over those few days... it was a bit chaotic behind the scenes. The exhibition opened the day after you left. It has been a sucsessful show, with visitors and locals enjoying the artworks.
I did not realise you were unhappy with the en-suite facilities. I wish you had said at the time! We could have offered you another en-suite room easily. Or found more suitable accommodation nearby.
As you feel you did not have value for money, please contact me and tell me how much you would like reimbursed by. Email and phone number below.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Scotland.
Kind regards, Miriam
miriam@plocktongallery.com
07747777601
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Myself and two fellow bikers, enjoyed our stay at the Manse, safe offroad parking for our bikes, a great welcome, nice clean rooms, and a fantastic full breakfast with two types of lovely freshly home made bread! Set us up well for the day!
Lovely meal across the road at the Plockton Inn, washed down by a few beers!
Some lovely art on display for the next evenings exhibition.
We will definately be back, thank you to Miriam, and her lovely Spanish assistant!

Paul, Martin and Jon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild-Rover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks guys, for a nice review. Do come back, anytime. Cheers, Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Read all previous reviews and you will soon gain a sense of just how charming a B and B this is. From the moment we met Miriam we knew that we had inadvertently hit upon a truly unique experience, where we would become immersed into a world of art and culture. The accommodation is bright and comfortable with careful attention to detail. Miriam ensures that you feel at home in her home; offering the possiblity of making hot drinks in the kitchen or in your room ( and with fresh milk, no UHT here!); or just enjoying music or reading in the sitting room. Her breakfasts were sumptious and set us up for the rest of the day. We discussed the virtues of adding seaweed to Foccacia and were able to sample it, freshly made- delicious! There is no doubt that Miriam is a generous host, She embraced my husband's interest in art and we accompanied her on a visit to some exhibitions. A surreal moment occurred when Luana, Miriam's Swiss summer helper, broke into tradtional Gallic songs as we were travelling in Miriam's car on Skye. I have returned with a borrowed book ( I promise it will get back to you Miriam) about seaweed and I hope to experiment using seaweed in homemade soap. That's the Miriam/Plockton effect; you feel inspired to do something to sustain memories of a fabulous holiday. I could say much more, but it's all been said in previous reviews. My only advice would be to go to The Plockton Gallery and see for yourself

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath rather than a shower, then opt for the Red Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2manyhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review!
My Gaelic singing Swiss girl has left now and a karate expert from the Basque country arrives tomorrow for 2 months as helper.
It's elderflower picking time this week, to make cordial and into bread. Fresh Elderflower fritters are delicious. I haven't offered those for breakfast. Yet.
Thanks again. All the best, Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

So glad to have found a home for my small groups when we are staying in Plockton. This year, I was lucky to get all rooms for my visitors touring Scottish gardens and there is not one more likely place than Plockton Art Gallery with Miriam's intuitive sense of hospitality: home made cake to help yourself, tea in a garden full of contemporary sculptures, comfy beds in light, airy rooms, walls heavy with paintings, delicious breakfasts in her happy colourful kitchen and interesting conversations about artists, seaweed foods, life in Plockton and local recommendations.

Problem is staying somewhere else after simply won't match.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
OMG....Now I'll have bake everyone a cake! LOL. Its usually only the walkers and climbers I do that for! You had me fooled, by bringing a party of cultured garden enthusiasts, instead of your usual ladies walking group. See you in September. Maybe we'll have cakes AND wine then. Thanks, Miriamx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirdford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

A great stay at a charming bed and breakfast in the beautiful village of Plockton. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast fantastic and the hostess Miriam very helpful. You have a pub over the road, restaurants round the corner and views wherever you look, we'll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ralphmilne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Bob from New York! Thank you. Lovely to know you enjoyed your stay. I've so enjoyed reading your books, Bob. Thanks from a new fan, Miriamx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.4 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Gallery - The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Gallery - The Manse

Property: Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Address: The Old Manse Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a big old house, a former manse, with views of the sea loch- Loch Carron- from all the rooms. Big rooms and bathrooms. Full of paintings, lots of which are for sale. Log fires in the winter. BBQ's in the summer. Opposite the Plockton Inn and round the corner from the Plockton Hotel and The Shores, excellent meals out are easy to arrange.As an article in the May 2013 Yachting Monthly says, " if anything, you've too many views around Plockton. Snuggled around a sheltered cove on the south side of Loch Carron, the place is absurdly picturesque."n.b. There is no B&B sign outside, we are opposite the Plockton Inn and there are a lot of sculptural pieces in the garden. Wrought iron gate and grey front door. There are working locks on all bedroom doors and for the front door, just ask me for the keys if you require them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Gallery - The Manse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing