We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Ranked #8 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We enjoyed two nights bed and breakfast at The Manse in Plockton. The accommodation was fantastic. The house itself is tastefully decorated and has lots of character with quirky little extras. The breakfast was great and truly Scottish and our host Miriam could not have been more welcoming and helpful. She even baked me gluten free bread in the morning. The Manse is individual and I would highly recommend it. Plockton itself is beautiful.
Janet

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet_birkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Plockton is a jewel in the highlands and this place was a jewel in Plockton. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The room was large and light and very comfortable, the location couldn't have been any better and the breakfat was one of the best we had on the whole 6 day scotland trip. Miriam (the host) making all her own bread's in the morning and a great fry up if you wanted it. Say no more, Go there and be equally pleased.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alovelovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I stayed at The Manse for a couple of nights with my husband as we needed a wee break from the city and I can honestly say this is a wonderful bed and breakfast. We were initially attracted to the arty atmosphere of The Manse after we visited the very informative website. I have been in a few hotels boasting a bohemian and arty atmosphere but been quite often met with not very clean rooms, weird decor and chaotic service. The Manse is completely different, Miriam the owner has created a truly classy, comfortable, vibrant space withing the beautiful village of Plockton. The rooms are very clean and spacious, particulary the one with the four poster bed, and Miriam's attention to detail is evident everywhere (cookie jar with a wee paper doily, real coffee and tea in the room, lovely soap in the bathroom and the most wonderful home cooked breakfast). Miriam is a great hostess, she told us lots about places to visit and things to do in Plockton, so we made the most of our short visit. She really made sure our stay at The Manse was a very pleasant one. We even had time to relax in the cosy sitting room, surrounded by paintings and works of art while reading a book and to use the studio area to enjoy a spot of drawing.
I really recommend this establishment, whether you are interested in art or not, as you will surely enjoy the relaxing, comfortable accomodation and the beautiful surroundings.

Ana Speedie

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaSpeedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

It’s an absolutely amazing and unique place! It was our last day in the Highlands and I can’t think of a better place to stay. Cosy, stylish, very clean, luxurious and very special. The eclectic interior and paintings give this place a magical feel. And the very friendly hostess, Miriam, made us feel very welcome. All six of us had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elena201053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Had a lovely time in lovely surroundings...house very welcoming ..home from home. .Miriam the owner has gone to such trouble to make everything so comfortable with great attention to detail e.g. fresh flowers, beautiful crockery and 1st class breakfast. She also had an easy manner with our 2 teenagers, making them feel free to enjoy their stay....incl use of the piano! a very relaxing stay in Plockton where you can re-charge your batteries! I 'd thoroughly recommend this break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

Spent 3 nights here and could easily have spent a week.
Large double room with 4 poster bed plus single. Coffee and tea making facilities (not sachets but the real thing) fresh milk, a jar of biscuits, tv and video player. Huge en suite with bath, fluffy towels and dressing gowns.
Breakfasts were great, fresh fruit, porridge, full cooked, fresh bread, orange juice and coffee, set in the centre of the gallery.
Perfect location in the centre of plockton, allowing you to sample the many restaurants for dinner. A hundred yards from the waters edge, with views of the castle and yachts, this area is very special.
Miriam is a great host and made the stay that bit extra special.
This B&B is in a wonderful location and a beautiful place to stay, I hope to go back in the very near future.
Make the effort and go to Plockton and make sure you stay here.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

The B&B is also run as an art gallery so all the rooms are full some great art. Our bedroom was very large and beautifully furnished. The service was perfect and the breakfast was great. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Liked — Great breakfast surrounded by art.
  • Disliked — a bit cold (though was in the middle of summer!)
  • Tips/Secrets — If every restaurant is booked go to the chip shop rather than the Haven!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikewynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.4 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Gallery - The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Gallery - The Manse

Property: Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Address: The Old Manse Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a big old house, a former manse, with views of the sea loch- Loch Carron- from all the rooms. Big rooms and bathrooms. Full of paintings, lots of which are for sale. Log fires in the winter. BBQ's in the summer. Opposite the Plockton Inn and round the corner from the Plockton Hotel and The Shores, excellent meals out are easy to arrange.As an article in the May 2013 Yachting Monthly says, " if anything, you've too many views around Plockton. Snuggled around a sheltered cove on the south side of Loch Carron, the place is absurdly picturesque."n.b. There is no B&B sign outside, we are opposite the Plockton Inn and there are a lot of sculptural pieces in the garden. Wrought iron gate and grey front door. There are working locks on all bedroom doors and for the front door, just ask me for the keys if you require them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Gallery - The Manse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing